We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 5:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Church of the Nativity
from $55.00
More Info
from $440.00
More Info
from $89.00
More Info
from $1,115.10
More Info
Reviews (1,904)
Filter reviews
1,098 results
Traveler rating
594
288
145
48
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
594
288
145
48
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews under renovation silver star greek orthodox roman catholic long wait jesus christ small door holy place main altar long line damascus gate be patient manger square check point exact spot tour guide west bank
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,098 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Could be described as the most unsatisfactory and unfulfilled expectation in the Holy Land as we wandered through interminable crowds and were told at the last minute that our visit was being curtailed and can we all please turn around and go back to the bus! Realistically there is no way ten of thousands of pilgrims are going to be able to get their 30 seconds glimpse of the holy place with so many determined visitors from around the world. Their one chance of a lifetime crushed within a few dozen feet of the final destination place was too much for some who had saved and scrimped for this one opportunity! Lots of crying and wailings of disappointment! Read the small print!

Thank northernneckinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Lovely scenery and enjoyable visit. I recommend people to come and see very busy so be extremely careful and patient.

Thank johnnA7157FP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

Tour included the site. Had to pick up a local Arab Christian guide. She was very informative and worked to lower expectations due to the crowds. Well, the crowds were epic! Having said that, we enjoyed the site and it was worth the wait.

Thank dkkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Monastery, churches, multiple religions, the cellar with the expected remains of where Mary gave birth to Jesus.
Remember to come here very early unless you want to spend the whole day waiting in line

Thank Laila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Being an atheist, I still strongly relate to religious places, since they hold so much from people's hopes and dreams. As a person interested in history, I was particularly fascinated by this church. It is indeed very crowded. However, staff was incredibly nice and spotted me among the crowds holding my baby and let me skip the queue, offering me a chair to wait for a good moment to enter via the exit. The church itself is beautiful and very interesting, but was the kindness and generosity of the people working there that made my day.

Thank Gabriela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

I was flabbergasted that I was actually right on the spot where Jesus was born. Am I 100% sure it is the spot? I am not! But guess what, if you are a believer, you go there and you will be touched. We were lucky to be in a shorter queue when we started queuing and we were even luckier that when it was out turn to get in, there was a short mass/ceremony with priests and incenses and singing of hymns. That made our visit even more memorable.

Thank Jenstockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful, captivating, worth to see even for non-christians. Only problem - everyone wants to see it! Amount of people is devastating. In hot summer days its disaster. Don't go in mid-day, overcrowded. You can't feel the spirit of the place in 2 hours long queue. Many people talk so loud, that its like in a market. But other than that - a place where you should be.

Thank przemyslawrycko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were taken by our Arab Christian guide to the Church, passing near Star Street which she mentioned was probably the original route undertaken by Joseph and Mary on the way to the cave (not really manger as wood was scarce at the time) where Jesus was born.

Three different groups have authority over the Church, the Orthodox faith with its swinging candles and icons, the Armenian monastic order and the Catholic Franciscans, so different sections are decorated according to their own denominations.

A long queue waited to go into the grotto where a 14-point star marks the spot of Christ's birth, 14 representing the 14 stations of the Cross and 14 generations cited in the Book of Matthew. October might not be the best time to go as crowds were evident everywhere, the hotter season in June might see fewer visitors. After one and a half hours, most members of our group managed to get in.
The rest of us waited at St Catherine's Church nearby.

To some, it was worth it, others felt detachment from the actual birth of Christ as so many changes had taken place with the rise and fall of each power that seized the territory.

Thank Bluesphynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Church of the Holy Nativity is one of the ‘must visit’ sites in the Holy Land. The place of the birth of Jesus makes it very special for all pilgrims. The best time to visit is early in the morning and the restored wall paintings are wonderfully spectacular.

Thank JMartin1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Here was one of the holiest sites for us Christians.It is here where our Lord was born.Not in a house,castle or good room.He was born in a stable,placed in a manger and wrapped in swaddling clothes.
We were also grateful to be able to have our Christmas mass celebrated here.
Long line to get down to the actual manger site.

Thank ronstagehand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews