We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i would have moved in with them!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
House of Peace Hostel
Reviewed November 8, 2012

hi everyone,
i had the honour of being a guest at the house of peace last summer, 2012.
i find the hostel through this web site and i choose to stay there after reading the reviews.
i loved everything about it, location, the big private room i got, the hospitality, the breakfast, and the massive balcony.
i felt at home, the couple who ran the hostel are the kind of people you wont forget cos they are genuinely happy to have you around , always smiling and polite and they treat you as a member of their family. couldnt ask for more. erika

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kayekuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 53 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed two nights at this lovely place - in a top floor room with private bathroom an acces to the big rooftop terrace with a pretty view. I highly recommend this place - it is run by a warm, helpful and friendly elderly couple, it is pretty close to the church of nativity and main street, and yet quiet, very clean and charming.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fruaanaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We loved this place, it's very basic but incredibly friendly, and very safe. The roof terrace was a great place to enjoy the company of other guests, and the family were a lot of help. There were a couple of communication issues with getting laundry done and paying at the end, but any issues were quickly resolved. I will be staying there again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joystacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

This is a great place to stay, a friend and I stopped over in between travels in the West Bank and it was perfect- the rooms were clean and spacious and it's a short walk into the centre of town and the Church of the Nativity. The hosts were so nice and welcoming, they couldn't do enough for us. We wanted to make a day's excursion to the Shepherds' Field and Herodion and they sorted us out with a driver who gave us a very good rate for the day. And good value too for a twin room. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jas683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Very helpful staff. Very clean. Close to the Old City. It is a very new place. We stayed in a huge appartment with 3 seperate double rooms. Don't hesistate to stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrittR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

House of Peace is wonderful place to stay. Immediately feels like home! The Aqleh family that owns the place make you feel so welcomed! We were greeted with tea, a comfortable room, clean and new sheets! The hosts are all so knowledgeable and so willing to provide all that you need- maps, transportation arrangements, extra blankets, breakfast at your preferred time. They are so accommodating for all your needs and preferences.

The location is great too, within walking distance to the Church of Nativity and Bethlehem square. We will definitely stay at the House of Peace again and recommend others to stay there!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

This hostel is essentially a large family home, The Ground floor is inhabited by the family who own it and the upper floor is the hostel. The owners are very friendly and hospitable people. The accommodation is clean and basic. Although not easy to find the first time, the location is actually quite good, only a few minutes walk from central Bethlehem. There is free wi-fi and an internet terminal guests can use for free. There's also a really nice large roof terrace.
The negatives are that it isn't all that cheap … 20 EUR for a dorm bed in the West Bank. This is more than it would cost in neighbouring Jerusalem which is usually the more expensive area. Another issue is that they advertise four person dorms on booking sites and all their dorms are much bigger. I pointed this out to the owner and his explanation was that “It means we only make four beds available to that reservation website, not that it's a four bed room”, which I didn't find convincing. All that said you should visit Bethlehem and consider staying here … the people here need your business.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank gingerpimpernel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
0.0 mi away
Habibi Hostel
Habibi Hostel
#3 of 18 in Bethlehem
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shepherd Plaza Hotel
Shepherd Plaza Hotel
#3 of 25 in Bethlehem
151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Talitha Kumi Guest House
Talitha Kumi Guest House
#1 of 25 in Bethlehem
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jacir Palace Hotel Bethlehem
0.0 mi away
Bethlehem Hotel
Bethlehem Hotel
#5 of 25 in Bethlehem
99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holy Family Hotel
Holy Family Hotel
#18 of 25 in Bethlehem
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Peace Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Peace Hostel

Address: | Wad Ma'ali, PO Box 497, Bethlehem, Palestinian Territories
Location: Palestinian Territories > West Bank > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Bethlehem
Price Range: $15 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
House of Peace is a unique place in Bethlehem, located in the heart of the city in calm, friendly neighborhood. The Guest House is only a short walk from the Church of the Nativity – the birthplace of Jesus – as well as the market streets with local shops and restaurants. Dorm rooms, Private rooms, Lounge, Guest Kitchen, Great Balcony, and Awesome Roof Top.At House of Peace you will find clean, quality rooms at very reasonable prices in a warm family atmosphere. The guest house currently offers accommodations for groups of up to 24 people, and is ideal for all types of travelers: groups, couples, and families with children. Church groups and long-term visitors are also welcome, and for such travelers we offer special rates. The guest house includes both private rooms and multiple occupancy rooms, which are suitable for larger groups and for those traveling on a limited budget. Free wireless internet access, international telephone and laundry services are available for our guests. The guest house features fully equipped kitchens for guest use, and each floor of the guest house features a broad balcony, perfect for resting and conversing, and taking in beautiful rooftop views of Bethlehem! For guests seeking breakfast as well, we are pleased to offer a delicious Palestinian breakfast!House of Peace is able to accommodate groups seeking space for private worship or conference room capabilities with seating for approximately 40 people. We also invite you to join us for either our Arabic or English worship services, offered each weekend.Bethlehem is located just 7-miles from Jerusalem, and we can easily be reached by bus, taxi, or private car. We are approximately 45 minutes from the Ben Gurion International Airport in Tel Aviv.House of Peace is a wonderful place to stay while touring the Holy Land on holiday, short-term out-reach, or spiritual pilgrimage!We look forward to meeting you soon!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your House of Peace Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Peace Hostel Bethlehem, Palestinian Territories

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing