We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hostel in Turkey”
Review of Atilla's Getaway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Atilla's Getaway
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Selcuk
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Atilla's Getaway is perfect for everyone. If you need a break from hectic Istanbul and don't want to go to the super touristy Bodrum or Fethiye just yet Atilla's is perfect. The pool and the view are amazing, the home cooked food is delicious and the atmosphere is relaxed. Its easy to get to Ephesus and the Virgin Mary. Atilla's Getaway is definitely the only reason to stay in Selcuk after seeing Ephesus

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annabelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 258 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

My first time to turkey and it will definitely not be my last! The environment of this hotel is perfect. You could sit around the pool and lounges all day and not want to leave. My favourite thing about this place is the staff who are all so helpful and kind! And also the food! Traditional turkish food at its best. To anyone who is travelling to this side of turkey should look no further!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergio O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The garden and commonareas are fantastic. Bungalows are great too, and the price is so low!
Staff is helpful, and the 3 euro dinner, is a bargain. We were served bbq chicken with salad, vegetables and potatopure - so d a m n tasty! Atillas is also a great place to meet other travellers!
Highly recommended!
There is a walking path directly from Atillas to the Efes entrance. Takes about 45 min to walk!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrederikBertelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

If you are planning on visiting Ephesus, Pamukkale or basically anywhere within a 5 hour drive from Selcuk, then you really should consider making Atilla's your home base for your journeys.

And that's exactly what it feels like when you stay at Atilla's, home.

The quaint resort-like hostel is about a 5 minute drive outside of Selcuk's busier town center. They offer complimentary shuttles to the Selcuk Otogar (bus station) from which you can catch buses to Istanbul, Izmir Otogar or Izmir Airport. But that's just the beginning. What makes Atilla's truly amazing is the service from their friendly, welcoming and English speaking staff. Everyone there wears a smile and is very willing to help/ answer any questions you have.

The value is beyond great. For 17 Euros per person, the 6 of us split into two bungalows with shared showers and toilets, and this rate included breakfast and dinner. Breakfast saw a selection of 6 dishes that came with tea and coffee, the french toast was delicious. Dinner changes daily and is tasty home cooked meals. There were plenty of options to lounge about, which created a very relaxing environment. The showers, toilets, swimming pool, rooms, sheets...etc are all very clean and well maintained.

Having stayed at various beach resorts, I can honestly say this is more than just a hostel, it IS a resort. The manager, Dilek, is not only a manager but pretty much your go-to travel agent for all of Turkey. She helped us arrange a 100TL day tour of Pamukkale and even helped us book a hostel and hot air balloon ride for Cappadocia at discounted rates for the following weekend. In fact, we pretty much just asked her a whole bunch of questions about our next destinations in Turkey, and in response to most of them she said she knew a person or two who owned a good hostel or ran good tours. She also knows a local carpet shop owner named Lilly who sells high quality rugs for very very reasonable and affordable prices. The owner, Atilla, a Aussie Turk is quite chill and will join guests for some pool, conversations and Nargile (Hookah).

All the guests that stay here are also all very friendly, outgoing and willingly exchange travel stories. Its not just for backpackers, there were families as well, and why not? The staff go out of their way to treat everyone like family!

I do have one suggestion, and that is it would be great if the water pressure from some of the shower-heads in the shared showers were much stronger, there seemed to be only one shower that offered enough water pressure to really get everything off.

So honestly, if you are heading to Ephesus and/ or staying at Selcuk for a longer period of time, dont think twice, email Dilek and book yourself a room/ bungalow/ or dorm at Atilla's Getaway, trust me you will feel relaxed and at home after hours of touring, and you may end up planning the rest of your journey through Turkey/ receive special rates for certain hostels/ activities/ tours!

Also note that within the resort they do not use cash, but rather a token system which you'd need for drinks, unused tokens can be cashed in at the end of your stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here with our family. I was initially concerned about being away from town, but with their regular shuttle service this was not an issue and it was pleasant to be away from a lot of activity. It was really a nice stay. From here we hiked to Ephesus. It's about an hour walk through a hiking path and then a road. The scenery around the hotel is great and the surroundings are very comfortable. The pool is certainly a huge plus. Most days it was very hot, so coming back to the hotel and having a pool was very enjoyable. They have lots of other activities to keep guests occupied. They have a pool table, ping pong table, volleyball court and some very nice hammocks and other seating areas. This is certainly a very social place. Lots of tourists end up meeting and talking. They offer preset breakfast options. I personally prefer a buffet style, but the breakfasts they offered were good as well. As other guests mentioned, they do offer dinner because they are out of town. The food was OK, not great. This is a place where they can improve on. No place is perfect, but we did find that we overall had a very positive experience here. I would certainly recommend this to most travelers.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank developer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Atilla was stunning in a valley surrounding the mountains! So much to do can play volley ball, play pool,table tennis, swim and the staff were absolutely gorgeous so welcoming, worth more than what we paid and the food! Home cooked by mummy Atilla ! Delishh highly recommended

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tess F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Atilla's getaway is a beautiful oasis to relax in after spending the morning in the stinking heat of ephesus. The setting of Atilla's sets it apart from any other hostel I've stayed at, with its beautiful swimming pool, volleyball court, shady trees, free pool table and chilled out poolside bar.

I especially loved the home-cooked family style dinner time where everyone sits and eats together making it the perfect time to meet the other guests. For 5 euros you can get a breakfast/dinner combo making it so much cheaper than eating in town. Added tip, get the menemen for breakfast (like scrambled eggs with tomato and peppers) you'll thank me!

It amazes me that this hostel could ever get such a negative review as the one below.Ok so it's not the Ritz, so don't don't expect a 5 star resort, but do expect a warm welcome, amazing atmosphere, and feeling like you never want to leave. I stayed four nights and never had a problem getting to sleep (probably around 11pm) the bar was open and there were people drinking but it was very relaxed with people playing pool and sitting outside chatting, even a few families with young kids playing pool too. There was music playing but it was bob marley and jack johnson style not blaring party music. I didnt drink at all while I was there and I definitely didn't feel like the staff were encouraging drunkeness or loud "obnoxious" behaviour as mentioned below. The review below also mentioned the distance from town, yes it's a 20 min walk to town but atillas runs 5 free shuttles a day back and forth and if you miss one you can always flag a passing dolmus (public minibus) to get to town for about 2 lira I think, so I definitely didn't feel trapped there. Plus, there isn't much in the actual town of selcuk anyway, with Ephesus being a minibus ride away and most people use selcuk as a base for daytrips to the beach, pamukale and ruins in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shineon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
2.2 mi away
Ephesus Palace
Ephesus Palace
#14 of 34 in Selcuk
36 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ephesus Hillside
Ephesus Hillside
#15 of 34 in Selcuk
10 reviews
2.6 mi away
Saint John Hotel
Saint John Hotel
#3 of 32 in Selcuk
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Aqua Fantasy Aquapark Hotel & SPA
4.7 mi away
Richmond Ephesus Resort
2.3 mi away
Anz Guesthouse
Anz Guesthouse
#1 of 18 in Selcuk
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atilla's Getaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atilla's Getaway

Address: Acarlar Mah. Ataturk Cad. No: 298 | No:39/2, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Selcuk
Price Range: $16 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you need to get away from it all? Then Atilla‘s Getaway is the place for you. We‘re nestled in the mountains of Ephesus – the second largest ancient city of the world – and just below the mountain of the Virgin Mary. Atilla has the perfect place for you to chill out. Take a splash in our spring water swimming pool, relax with a panaromic view of the spectacularly lit Selçuk Castle, see the sights and have a great time. Enjoy our little slice of paradise!We pride ourselves on providing excellent hospitality and friendship. When you stay at our hidden oasis, we want you to have fun and relax. You are at a home away from home. Atilla’s Getaway is not a place for you to visit, it’s a place for you to stay.FREE BUS SHUTTLES TO AND FROM SELÇUK ALL DAY LONG! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Atilla's Getaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing