We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”
Review of Canberra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Canberra Hotel
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Selcuk
Reviewed June 3, 2010

I chose the Hotel Canberra for our 2 night Selcuk stay based on price, the room photos and the views from the upper rooms and rooftop terrace. Also, the hotel provided a reasonably priced transfer service from Izmir airport. All of these factors met or exceeded expectations. The location proved to be ideal for us – a short walk to all the Selcuk highlights as well as the bus station. We appreciated the standalone computers available for guest use. The hotel is a bit tired although the rooms are fine. Housekeeping forgot our room. The breakfasts were average. The staff was helpful. Our “Ephesus service” included transportation and - unexpectedly - someone to accompany us throughout our entire tour of the site. All in all the Canberra provided excellent value.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestEndBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 186 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2010

I only spent a couple of nights at Cranberra, but I would definitely give it 2 thumbs up. The staff and owners are very kind, generous, and amazingly hospitable. The accomodations were clean and comfortable, and it is only a few minutes walk from the bus station, Saturday market, and not much farther to walk to St. John's Basilica. They were in the process of re-doing the lobby/downstairs area when I was there, but I'm sure it is finished and lovely by now. The complementary Turkish continental breakfast was better than quite a few other places I had been and prices for rooms may vary during the off-season.
The staff were extremely helpful and kind: I was given a ride both to and from Ephesus, had the opportunity to lose to the backgammon champion (Mehmet - one of the owners) - best of luck should you happen to venture that way and challenge him to a game :) Everyone was very good about anwering questions, giving me suggestions about things I might like doing in the area as well as advice on other areas of Turkey I was thinking of traveling to, accompanying me to get a bus ticket back to Istanbul for a good price, even taking time to go with me to Saint John Basilica and several places to eat.
If I knew anyone headed that way, I would not hesitate in suggesting Cranberra.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crystal_hammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2010

Hotel Canberra ıs ın an ıdeal central stay, just mınutes from the bus statıon for the weary arrıvee (wıll send someone to meet you, too) and a short stroll down Sevgı Yolu ("Love Street") ınto Centrum. The Hotel has a beautıful vıew from the roof terrace. Make sure you come ın summer to breakfast (or supper at sunset) under the Selçuk skıes! A lovely lıttle place ın a lovely lıttle town.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ainlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

My friends and I stayed here on a mini-break. The staff were what really made this place shine for us - they were there to help us with anything, and nothing was too much trouble for them. They dropped us off and picked us up from Ephesus. The rooms were fine. And the views from the terrace were sensational - it was sometimes hard for us to motivate ourselves to leave the hotel because it was so pleasant to be there.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daltoonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2009

This hotel is just wonderful. I stayed here with a large group and the hotel accommodated us in every way. The rooms were very clean and very nice, and the breakfasts were great. Beyond this, the staff was just unbelievable. They were courteous and helpful, assisting us throughout our stay. This is just a great hotel and we will always stay here now when we travel to Selcuk. If you go there, be sure to visit TAT'S Restaurant in Selcuk. It's another gem.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laperche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

We stayed there for one night to visit Ephesus. The staff was really nice and helpful. They taught us how to take trains back to Izmir and helped us with Turkish. We also got rides to and from the hotel/Ephesus.

The location of the hotel was good, though it did take us a little while to find it. Make sure to ask the hotel for detailed instructions of how to get there. Once we got there, the staff showed us two rooms and let us choose the room we liked more. We chose one with a bigger washroom and a balcony that had a direct view of the old city walls.

The room had some new fixtures/furniture. The washroom was older. However, given the price and the location/area, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The breakfast was nice as it included watermelon, cheese, bread, tomatoes and tea. Also, we got to use their Internet at their office and was able to use it for about 1 hour at night. That was very nice of them to let us do so.

Would recommend Canberra to friends and family who want to stay there in Selcuk to visit Ephesus.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ms30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

We planned to stay in Canberra hotel for one night, but eventually we stayed there two nights more. It is close to many historical places (Ephesus, Milet, Didim and Prien). The wiev from the roof cafe - a place where we had brekfasts was marvellous!!! We spent there also late evenings singing and playing with other people living in the hotel. Very nice place to stay. Really worth to be reccomended.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alakrakow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.2 mi away
Ayasoluk Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Hotel Akay
Hotel Akay
#19 of 34 in Selcuk
240 reviews
5.1 mi away
Aqua Fantasy Aquapark Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cella Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Anz Guesthouse
Anz Guesthouse
#1 of 18 in Selcuk
233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#6 of 34 in Selcuk
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canberra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canberra Hotel

Address: Ataturk Bulvari, 1067 Sokak no.15, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Selcuk
Price Range: $30 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Canberra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are elegantly designed, each floor in a different color. Direct telephone, shower and WC, balcony, television, air conditioning, hair dryer. Rooms with view on Isa Bey Mosque. The Castle Restaurant seats 60 persons indoors and the Terrace Restaurant seats 100 persons capacity. We offer delicious Turkish cuisine. We also have two bars, in the lobby and on the terrace. Staff will assist you in all your needs, answer all your questions and make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Canberra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canberra Hotel Selcuk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing