We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Local Food With A View”
Review of Canberra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Canberra Hotel
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Selcuk
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We walked around Selcuk for a restaurant & ended up going to the Canberra Hotel rooftop restaurant. Local chef with traditional recipes. We had two very nice dips, carrot with yoghurt & spinach with yoghurt. Also had lamb shish kebab & chicken shish kebab. Very nice taste.
Great views of the grand fortress & sunset. Went down well with a few Efes beers & local wine.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 186 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

We dined at the rooftop restaurant as the sun set: lovely. Food was really nice in a robust sort of way and staff were attentive.
Our room was quirky in the extreme - it had not one but two balconies and one of the most horrible lamp shades I've ever seen! The bed was firm so I slept well and the nearby mosque meant I was gently awoken by the dawn call to prayer. I could happily have stayed longer (we were only there 1 night).
The only negative was the breakfast coffee... The hotel's proximity to Ephesus meant we were the first tour group to arrive at the Virgin Mary's house in the morning.

Room Tip: I guess if you don't like the call to prayer, you could see if there are any rooms on the side o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HuddersfieldNell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We spent two night at this hotel and overall had a pleasant stay. The hotel staff was attentive and helpful. Whenever we came back to the hotel, the manager would open the door for me even if he is talking to a friend nearby. Once I asked for an extra blanket and the manager immediately fetched one for me. The breakfast wasn't as good as some other hotels, but was okay.

However, the hotel facilities can definitely use some upkeep and maintenance as the bathroom faucets were rusty and the towels worn. The water pressure was unfortunately the worst we experienced anywhere in Turkey. Otherwise the room was clean and the location very conveniently close to the bus station and all the Selcuk tourist sights.

The hotel itself is probably just three stars, but the friendly staff earned it an extra star.

Room Tip: Higher floors seem to have less water pressure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alittlerice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

One point I like this hotel is its quite central located. Very close to bus terminal, two minutes to Atlasjet free shuttle bus stop, and, good enought to consider about it's price. Selcuk is a small town so you may walk anywhere if you like, even the famous Efes(Efesus). Room is not big but ok for stay, bath room may need improved it's old equipment but still working properly. Nice days to stay there.

Room Tip: I prefer a quiet not face to the main road, but almost all rooms are ok for this point coz Selcuk is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bingy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

I was on a G Adventure tour and this was one of our stops. Great location, we pretty much walked to all the places we wanted to see. Staff were helpful and our room was clean. Cool hotel, kinda dated but that's all part of the charm. Family run hotel with a lot of pride in their business. I would stay there again.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Resq28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I have stayed in Canberra several times. I have also read other people´s rewievs. I agree totally that the staff are absolutely great! The manager Savas is the most service minded and friendly person you can expect to meet in a small hotel! The hotel is conveniently placed within walking distance to Efes - over the cemetary through the olive grove is marvellous, anyone with normal condition can walk it. If you stay in the top floor you might get problems with water but the place and staff should make up for that and the wiev will be wonderful. There are many small hotels in Selcuk but I wouldn't hesitate to say that Canberra is the most priceworth. The rooof terrace restaurant is simply great, you can watch sunset over Efes time after time!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the St John´s. in high season you might get a room on the back side, surely ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BabsT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night after we visited Ephesus for a whole day. Coming from Ephesus the hotel is located just on arrival to Selcuk in a small road runnign parallel to the main road.
As we did not had any reservation we just opped in and the staff at the reception was very friendly and helpfull. Room was as you can expect in 2 star hotel, but everything was working and clean. The best of this hotel for sure is the terrace roof with a magnifican view towards the old custle of Selcuk or towards Ephesus direction. Breakfast was Ok and was served on the terrace as well. For sure this Hotel is not a holiday hotel, but to stay for 1 or 2 nights, when visiting Ephesus and Selcuk the Canberra Hotel is a good choice, if you do not require a pool and othr 3 or 4 star hotels amicabilities.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itsme57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Akay
Hotel Akay
#19 of 34 in Selcuk
240 reviews
5.1 mi away
Aqua Fantasy Aquapark Hotel & SPA
4.9 mi away
Richmond Ephesus Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anz Guesthouse
Anz Guesthouse
#1 of 18 in Selcuk
239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#6 of 34 in Selcuk
530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cella Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canberra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canberra Hotel

Address: Ataturk Bulvari, 1067 Sokak no.15, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Selcuk
Price Range: $29 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Canberra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are elegantly designed, each floor in a different color. Direct telephone, shower and WC, balcony, television, air conditioning, hair dryer. Rooms with view on Isa Bey Mosque. The Castle Restaurant seats 60 persons indoors and the Terrace Restaurant seats 100 persons capacity. We offer delicious Turkish cuisine. We also have two bars, in the lobby and on the terrace. Staff will assist you in all your needs, answer all your questions and make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Canberra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canberra Hotel Selcuk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing