We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another welcoming Hotel stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Nazar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Nazar
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Belair
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another welcoming Hotel stay”
Reviewed October 19, 2010

I'm not in agreement with the Canadian review. Our stay in Nazar was great! I think it was the friendliness of Osman, the owner, that gave it such a welcoming attraction. Osman's mum was ill (and originally was the cook) and the way he cared for her and gave back to her a little she had given to him was a real example to us in the west. We felt under no compulsion from Lilly, the Turkish rug salesperson to buy her carpers, nor, difficulty saying we were eating out that evening. The cost of the accommodation was the lowest - even Formula 1!!
I think we were overwhelmed with the hospitality of Turkey and the genuine way of wanting to help visitors.
I think one of the highlights of Nazar was having breakfast, and the evening meal, so close to historic ruins.
Great place! Great people!

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LesBelair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    159
    35
    9
    5
See reviews for
141
286
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2010

I must counter the raves about the Nazar. It isn't terrible but it was our least favourite hotel of seven modestly priced places we stayed in Turkey over 3 weeks. Perhaps it was the end of summer and the family was sick of tourists or perhaps we somehow offended them (maybe b/c we didn't eat dinner at the hotel or go to their 'friend's' rug shop) but we did not find the family especially cordial. I felt closely monitored but not in a friendly, welcoming way. They keep the front door locked all the time so even in broad daylight you must ring to enter. I felt like I was intruding through someone's private living room. In the evening, the family's older teenager monopolized the lobby computer and the younger kids monopolized the furniture to watch a blaring TV in the only place where the Wifi worked. The kids were also a bit mean to my 10 year old eg permitting all others to use a pool toy but pointedly taking it away from her. The elderly granny was very ill, someone said, so was laid out right in the lobby area. It all felt ... awkward. The rest was average; the linens were thin and worn, the carpet was dingy; the TV had poor reception; the parking was on a narrow, decrepit alley; the breakfast service was maddeningly slow and inept. The man who runs the place seems very nice and was helpful but overall I would not rank it the best, as some have said. For the sake of the pool, I'd recommend it for one night before a summer visit to Ephesus. But we found many better inexpensive places in Turkey.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flyingfinnToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2010

We had reserved in advanced for the suite for 4 (2 couples) and we made the mistake of arriving a day early, after touring Ephesus. We were greeted so graciously and were lucky that the room was available for us.
We had dinner in the evening on the lovely balcony and we must say, it was a delicious meal.
We highly recommend Nazar Hotel for those who visit Ephesus and the area. Selcuk is also a lovely town and there is lots to see.
The room was comfortable - the water was hot - the food was great - and the people warm. it IS GOOD VALUE.
They even have a lovely pool which was great after a long day of touring.
This is a family run business and it is run very well. We enjoyed it and only wished we could have stayed longer.

Nicole, Nick -Paul & Brenda
CANADA

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thenics_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

My husband and I spent 4 days at this Hotel and can't recommend it highly enough. There was nothing that could be improved on, the room we had was a good size and spotlessly clean. Breakfast every morning was delicious and served in the most delightful roof top patio. We also enjoyed dinner there. The sunset and the ambience were wonderful and the meals delicious.
This is a family owned a managed hotel and the service provide by Osman, Asam and Murat was of the highest standard.
We discussed the hotel with other guests staying there who are regular visitors to the area and they believe that Hotel Nazar was better than other places they had stayed at previously.
This is our second stay at this hotel and we will definitely stay here again if we come to Selcuk.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maltesegypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

We ended up staying at this hotel after we found that Hotel Bella was full. Our room was clean and while the bed quite hard we slept just fine. We wouldn't bother spending the money on the balcony room again as the view wasn't all that great. Our room was also facing the street and there was loud sounds of children playing late into the evening. We were tired enough that earplugs worked just fine to drown the noise.

The owner of the hotel was quite detached but his son was friendly and kind while serving us breakfast on the rooftop terrace. We received a free ride to Ephesus, which was nice! What we really enjoyed about our stay was the secluded garden and pool area. We spent quite a bit of our downtime relaxing in the lounge chairs by the pool and welcomed the break from the crowds.

Overall, we would probably try to stay somewhere else if we find ourselves in Selcuk again to experience a bit more hospitality but this hotel was a fine place to stay for a clean bed and a filling breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elisif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

We stayed at Nazar hotel for one day during our visit to Turkey. Although we thought the rooms were a bit small but the hospitality of the owners more than made up for it. Initially we planned to stay there for 2 nights but changed our plans as Selcuk does not have much to offer other than fabulous Ephesus. We informed the owners in the night that we would want to check out next morning and they were more than happy to change the reservation and even guided us in getting the train tickets for our onward journey. The hotel has a smallish pool, good breakfast, decent location and absolutely great service. Good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank himanshu08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2010

We stayed for three days, mostly to sleep but it was just fine. They offer cheap laundry service, which was nice. The breakfast is good, although the same everyday - not a problem since there's no reason to stay long in the city. Bedroom was fine, and got arranged everyday. There's a pool we didn't have time to get in and they offer dinner with a different menu everyday

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlaviaMotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selcuk
0.2 mi away
Ayasoluk Hotel
Ayasoluk Hotel
#2 of 32 in Selcuk
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#7 of 32 in Selcuk
505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#8 of 32 in Selcuk
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Kirkinca Hotel
Kirkinca Hotel
#1 of 4 in Sirince
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nilya
Hotel Nilya
#6 of 32 in Selcuk
421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Livia Hotel Ephesus
Livia Hotel Ephesus
#13 of 32 in Selcuk
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nazar

Property: Hotel Nazar
Address: Isabey Mah. Sehit Polis Metin Tavaslioglu Cad. No:34 | Selcuk - Izmir, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Selcuk
#1 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Nazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nazar Hotel Selcuk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing