We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Run Hotel”
Review of Hotel Nazar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Nazar
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Family Run Hotel”
Reviewed July 14, 2010

Very nice hotel in Selcuk with clean rooms and REAL bathrooms with REAL showers, which is difficult to find in Turkey (that is not a problem if you like to shower on the toilet). Roof and garden are very nice and the service is very personal, which is one of the wonderful things about Turkey everyone we met was so generous. I am back in the states now and miss that the most. GREAT PLACE TO STAY! Make sure you meet Alice.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyBestFriendAndI0802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    160
    35
    9
    5
See reviews for
141
287
37
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

This is a great family hotel - the room was good with a comfortable bed and a modern bathroom. In general, the staff could not have been more helpful, even getting up early to cook me breakfast before an early departure. One problem was that someone phoned me and left a message (in Turkish) that I never got. I missed out on a guide to Ephesus as a result. Only the owner seems to speak good English. Others on the staff do not.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilgrim51_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgetown, ontario,canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2010

I wish all hotels were a lot more like this one.
Extra's include a roof top patio with traditional food dining and a pretty pool in a private setting for cooling off after the heat of the day in Ephisus. We also hired Osman to drive us down to Fethiye, stopping along the way for a picnic and tea in old villages. He is friendly, knowledgable and speaks good English.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2010

I can't say enough good things about Hotel Nazar - it was one of the best experiences I've had in any country with a family run hotel!! The family who runs the hotel is very friendly and welcoming (but definitely not intrusive). There is a lovely rooftop dining area. Ask to borrow the backgammon set and hang out on the roof overlooking the castle - great way to spend an evening. The food was great! We ended up eating dinner here both nights that we stayed in the hotel. Rooms are clean and functional. Location is within walking distance of everything, including Ephesus.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FOXtraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN USA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

This place is tucked away in town amidst local homes. It was pleasant to watch the neighbors go about their daily lives which gave me the sense of typical Turkish life.

It ended up that we were within walking distance of the Church of St. John - a definate do-not miss. The views of the town and surrounding valleys were amazing from up there - especially at sunset!

We were also within 5 minutes walking distance to the bus terminal, main town square, and the Ephesus Musuem (which I found interesting, but not the "best" of Turkey has I had read about from certain publications).

Miscellaneous comments:
The swimming pool was quite refreshing, and created a nice relaxing atmosphere.

The breakfast consisted of coffee & tea, all the bread w/ butter and jam you could want - but left me with wanting something more substantial.

The owner either didn't speak English - or choose not to. He didn't seem over friendly - again despite what others have said here on these reviews. Perhaps he was just having an "off" day? I bought a ferry ticket to Samos from him - but he failed to tell me that I needed to get the official ticket (no addt'l cost) from a travel agency right across from the ferry docks & pay my port charges (roundtrip) before passing security at the harbor. If this happens - don't worry - the port police will direct you to the travel agent in charge.

The driver that picks you up from the bus terminal is super nice - but quite insistent on visiting her carpet store. We went and enjoyed the presentation; however upon not buying more than 100TL were given quite the guilt trip.

The rooms were comfortable and clean, and some come with a balcony. There is hot water - hip hip hooray!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

If you are interested in meeting a Turkish family (grandma, kids, dogs, and all) and feeling completely welcome into their hotel, stay at Hotel Nazar.

Breakfast was very good on the rooftop terrace. Hotel location was great for getting to Ephesus and exploring Selcuk, Sirince, etc. Very lovely city, and this hotel makes the whole experience very great.

In addition, they have a brand new pool which helps to relax at night, after eating (not included) some family cooked dinner.... dinner has a rotating menu each night.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cphillips35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

I understand both the good and the bad reviews here. On one hand this is more of a pension than a hotel and that would explain one reviewer couldn't get an evening meal on demand and why some other normal hotel services are missing. However we had a good stay and also got a much better room than 2 more expensive hotels that we stayed at in our weeks holiday.
PROS:
"sold" a room at Ismir bus station by owner - avoided touts in Selcuk
Free ride to Efes
Pool to cool off in nice patio - also roof cafe
Transfer to airport cheaper than taxi

CONS:
None for us

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selcuk
0.2 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#6 of 33 in Selcuk
520 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ayasoluk Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#9 of 33 in Selcuk
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ephesus Hillside
Ephesus Hillside
#17 of 33 in Selcuk
7 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kirkinca Hotel
Kirkinca Hotel
#1 of 4 in Sirince
249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Akay
Hotel Akay
#19 of 33 in Selcuk
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nazar

Property: Hotel Nazar
Address: Isabey Mah. Sehit Polis Metin Tavaslioglu Cad. No:34 | Selcuk - Izmir, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#1 Family Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Nazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nazar Hotel Selcuk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing