We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swimming pool oasis”
Review of Hotel Nazar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Nazar
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2010

This place is tucked away in town amidst local homes. It was pleasant to watch the neighbors go about their daily lives which gave me the sense of typical Turkish life.

It ended up that we were within walking distance of the Church of St. John - a definate do-not miss. The views of the town and surrounding valleys were amazing from up there - especially at sunset!

We were also within 5 minutes walking distance to the bus terminal, main town square, and the Ephesus Musuem (which I found interesting, but not the "best" of Turkey has I had read about from certain publications).

Miscellaneous comments:
The swimming pool was quite refreshing, and created a nice relaxing atmosphere.

The breakfast consisted of coffee & tea, all the bread w/ butter and jam you could want - but left me with wanting something more substantial.

The owner either didn't speak English - or choose not to. He didn't seem over friendly - again despite what others have said here on these reviews. Perhaps he was just having an "off" day? I bought a ferry ticket to Samos from him - but he failed to tell me that I needed to get the official ticket (no addt'l cost) from a travel agency right across from the ferry docks & pay my port charges (roundtrip) before passing security at the harbor. If this happens - don't worry - the port police will direct you to the travel agent in charge.

The driver that picks you up from the bus terminal is super nice - but quite insistent on visiting her carpet store. We went and enjoyed the presentation; however upon not buying more than 100TL were given quite the guilt trip.

The rooms were comfortable and clean, and some come with a balcony. There is hot water - hip hip hooray!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (627)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

482 - 488 of 627 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2010

If you are interested in meeting a Turkish family (grandma, kids, dogs, and all) and feeling completely welcome into their hotel, stay at Hotel Nazar.

Breakfast was very good on the rooftop terrace. Hotel location was great for getting to Ephesus and exploring Selcuk, Sirince, etc. Very lovely city, and this hotel makes the whole experience very great.

In addition, they have a brand new pool which helps to relax at night, after eating (not included) some family cooked dinner.... dinner has a rotating menu each night.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cphillips35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

I understand both the good and the bad reviews here. On one hand this is more of a pension than a hotel and that would explain one reviewer couldn't get an evening meal on demand and why some other normal hotel services are missing. However we had a good stay and also got a much better room than 2 more expensive hotels that we stayed at in our weeks holiday.
PROS:
"sold" a room at Ismir bus station by owner - avoided touts in Selcuk
Free ride to Efes
Pool to cool off in nice patio - also roof cafe
Transfer to airport cheaper than taxi

CONS:
None for us

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

We planned to stay at Nazar pensıon for only one nıght but fell ın love wıth the place. Travellıng wıth two young chıldren 6 and 9 they greeted us lıke famılly. We where offered a large famılly room wıth two seperat lıvıng spaces. The kıds enjoyed the pool, and my daughter befrıended the younger gırl who lıved there. I would recomend thıs pensıon to anybody who ıs lookıng for a quıet respectable envıronment wıth an ınvredıble terasse and fantastıc servıce.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christophe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

Nazar pension is a great place to stay. It is runned by a turkish family who is very hospitable. The rooms are spacious and clean, every day it is cleaned and clean towels.
The turkish breakfast is served on the roofterrace. It is also possible to have dinner on the roofterrace. All the food is fresh homemade and prepared by a member of the family.
Nazar pension is 5 min. walk from the center of Selcuk, and close to the sightseeing places. Efes is just a 10 minutes drive from the hotel. The pension is very childfriendly with a lovely, clean swimmingpool. We recommend this pension to everyone who wants to meet the turkish hospitality and likes to stay in a small, friendly place.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerda75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2010

i had a very pleasant experience with Hotel Nazar- they picked me up from the bus station, gave me a free lift to Efes, and also saved part of their dinner so i could have a homecooked meal despite the late hour. the family there are very friendly and i would stay there again if i were to travel to selcuk in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ds2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

Staff will help with any of your requests, good food served. Nice environs. Good value for the money, authentic neighborhood. Definitely recommend, people who complain about it should probably should not stay in hostels / pensions at all.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smpalermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.2 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#6 of 34 in Selcuk
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ayasoluk Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#9 of 34 in Selcuk
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ephesus Palace
Ephesus Palace
#10 of 34 in Selcuk
29 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Akay
Hotel Akay
#19 of 34 in Selcuk
240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kalehan
Hotel Kalehan
#13 of 34 in Selcuk
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nazar

Address: Isabey Mah. Sehit Polis Metin Tavaslioglu Cad. No:34 | Selcuk - Izmir, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#1 Family Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range: $46 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Nazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nazar Hotel Selcuk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing