We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class an Personal Care”
Review of Hotel Nazar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Nazar
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2009

The Nazar is a bit up-market, but it justifies the price (about $50 in June). It's definitely a family-run operation, with Dad in charge and a couple of grown sons doing the work. You need to get buzzed in from the street, so you never need worry about security.
Rooms are large, with new, comfortable beds and very modern bathtrooms. There's digital heat/AC, and satellite TV. There are great views of the kale (fortress) from rooms and the lovely terrace, where a really nice breakfast is served (included in the room price). Internet is available in the lobby, and they will arrange tours if you like. Mom's home cooking is available as a set-menu dinner, although due to the great dining options in Selcuk, we never tried it. There's a small pool in the little courtyard garden, all very well maintained.
The Nazar is an elegant little operation, and if you're looking for a comfortable base, it's hard to beat for the price (you can bargain a little, too).

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bima77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

498 - 504 of 628 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2009

This family run hotel provides a very warm welcome and Osman and his brother were perfect hosts. Their mother made a lovely breakfast each day which set us up for all the nearby excursions. In the summer she cooks meals which are served in the garden and on the roof terrace (which is said by all to be great). There is a swimming pool and we were pleased with the internet facilities. The rooms were spotless and serviced everyday. Osman was always happy to answer and questions and give information.
We were very pleased with our stay and are sure to visit again next time in Selcuk.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank evaandmalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2008

We stayed at Nazar in early September for a couple of nights. We had 2 rooms - a single room, with a double bed, and a twin room, which in fact was a triple room with a balcony.

PROS:

1. I think the hotel was recently renovated because everything in the rooms looked clean and fresh. I really liked how clean it was - I am a bit fussy about this. My room had pink walls, comfortable double bed, and there was a ceiling fan in addition to the aircon.

2. Modern clean bathrooms of a decent size.

3. Hotel's pool and garden area were small but pretty and cosy and the pool was clean. Also we liked many traditional Turkish things placed tastefully around the hotel.

4. We stayed for dinner at the hotel both nights (when we booked the dinner earlier those days, we were requested to arrive for dinner between 7 and 8pm). It was cooked by their family's grandmother and was very tasty. I always prefer home-made food and it was very much to my taste. We also thought the price was very reasonable - 14 lira per person for a set menu (which is about 7GBP). Breakfast was also nice and freshly made.

5. Both, breakfast and dinner, were served on a covered roof terrace with a nice view of St John's Basilica and the fortress. They can make fresh orange juice or Turkish coffee, for additional 3 liras.

6. Good location in the town, about 10 minutes walk to St John's Basilica and about the same distance to the bus station (which we used to go to see Sirince village - it's about 8km away and mini buses go there every half an hour).

7. Free one-way transfer to Ephesus (I think it is provided by many hotels in Selchuk), which we used one day after our breakfast, and they also have a free pick-up from the bus station.

8. Good communication by email. I read about the hotel on Tripadvisor, then found the hotel's website and email address via Google. They always replied to me on the same or the next day.

9. When we checked-out about 10am, they stored our suitcases until later and offered us to use all public areas of the hotel for the rest of the day.

10. Friendly and pleasant family running the hotel. We did feel they were looking after us!

CONS:

1. No wireless Internet in the hotel. They had 2 computers in the lobby and the Internet on these computers worked fine. It was 1 lira for a half and hour. But I still think they should have free wireless Internet and also at least one computer in the lobby should be free for the guests.

2. I think the owner should offer some things to the guests during the check-in, not to wait until asked about it (like a free one-way transfer to Ephesus).

On the whole, we had a very comfortable stay and were happy with what we got for the money we paid. We knew that they had more spacious rooms with TV and a bath (our rooms had good size shower cubicles), but they were 20 liras more expensive than ours, and we decided not to pay it. We had really good time at the hotel and would definitely recommend it the other Tripadvisor readers.

Stayed: September 2008
4  Thank holidaymaker_39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2007

We were likewise approached at the bus station at Izmir by the owner so thought we'd have a look. We did feel a bit annoyed that the owner was all smiles and friendliness (an uncommon thing in Turkey, despite what others say) and then all that friendliness died the minute we took the room. The joys of travelling !

GOOD STUFF
* very spacious & clean room (we took the deluxe with satellite TV, air con, fridge and large bathroom, overlooked the pool)
* it took two days but the manager eventually started to smile at us - and what a nice smile it was too. Please smile more often.
* Great bathroom with separate shower (oh bliss, no shower water tumbling over the toilet and floor with nothing to wipe it up with)
* internet available ($)
* central location but quiet
* fab swimming pool & garden (very hot while we were there)
* little library for guests
* breakfast was quite nice (standard fare but the manager made really good omelettes)
* helpful with booking the ferry to Samos (watch out for the port tax scam - the Turkish side will absolutely get you - you'll pay almost the same price in Turkish port tax as it costs to get to Samos. Were we annoyed about this? You betcha - big time annoyed - it's a blatant rip-off - but Samos was worth it just to get away from Turkey for a while)

NOT SO GOOD STUFF
* bathroom not that well lit
* nowhere to hang washing or towels (important when travelling)
* same unfriendly or disinterested welcome you get everywhere in Turkey (and they're always males)

This place was one of the better places we stayed in seven weeks in Turkey. For most other places I have a mile long list of "not so good stuff" but this list is incredibly small.

We also looked at Hotel Bella, which was really nice as well but didn't have a pool or air con. In the heat, those were the facilities we were after. Make sure you have dinner at Hotel Bella - in a sea of mediocrity that's the cuisine of Turkey, this was by far the best meal. Just beautiful.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Ducktalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2007

We were disappointed to have to leave the Zazar Hotel after only staying one night. The rooms are very nicely decorated, comfortable, and spotless. There's a nice view from the terrace, and there's a very pleasant garden and pool area. The staff were very helpful. Here you can experience genuine Turkish family hospitality. The location is also great, on a residential street with a village feel.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr_Cee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2007

We spent 2 nights here in September 2007. Overall, this is a great hotel owned by a very friendly family. The owners are very helpful. Their grandmother makes fantastic dinners. The included breakfast is good. The location is great, just two blocks from St. John's basilica.

The only complaint I have, and the reason this is not a 5 star review, is that at all times throughout our stay there was no hot water whatsoever and we had to take ice-cold showers. This would maybe be ok in a dorm-style hostel, but in a hotel of this price-range it is unacceptable. Nevertheless, the great location and service probably outweight this inconvinience and still make this a recommended accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank verymodest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2007

Stayed: June 2007
1  Thank RatinerianMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.2 mi away
Ayasoluk Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#6 of 34 in Selcuk
537 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ephesus Palace
Ephesus Palace
#13 of 34 in Selcuk
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Livia Hotel Ephesus
Livia Hotel Ephesus
#8 of 34 in Selcuk
57 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ephesus Hillside
Ephesus Hillside
#16 of 34 in Selcuk
10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kalehan
Hotel Kalehan
#12 of 34 in Selcuk
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nazar

Address: Isabey Mah. Sehit Polis Metin Tavaslioglu Cad. No:34 | Selcuk - Izmir, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#1 Family Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range: $48 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Nazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nazar Hotel Selcuk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing