We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel/Pension in Selcuk” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Nazar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Nazar
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel/Pension in Selcuk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great value for money hotel in Selcuk. Its not a 4 star hotel but rooms are bright, clean and comfortable, and there is good relaxed atmosphere in the hotel. Good location a short distance from the town centre, its an easy walk to the ruins of Basilica of St. John, İsa Bey Mosque and good location for visiting Ephesus. We had dinner one evening and it was delicious - I would recommend having dinner at least one night if you stay. It was too cold for the rooftop terrace when we stayed but seems like it'd be really nice location for breakfast and dinner.
The owner is very helpful and speaks great English.
Selcuk is a good spot for a night or two, enough to see in town for a day and loads to see in the area - especially Ephesus. It gets plenty of tourists but hasn't been taken over by tourism and has a nice laid back feel, well in April at least!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulyg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    159
    35
    8
    5
See reviews for
140
286
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Ilker Sen purchased this hotel in early 2013 so he "inherited" a very good Tripadvisor rating ... but it is clear that he is determined to keep it. Ilker speaks excellent English and is very friendly and helpful to travelers. The hotel is not fancy, but is very clean and comfortable and very good value. The hotel has a policy of keeping the front door locked, which some reviewers have found to be a nuisance, but we appreciated the concern for security and someone from the staff was always close by to let you in (there was never a long wait).. In addition to providing breakfast, the hotel offers the option of a fixed menu dinner which we had on one of the 2 nights we were there and it was delicious. Selcuk is a delightful small town with lots to see and do (in addition to Ephesus) very close by. This place is definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the terrace/pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianRetirees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

ThumbsUp: good value for money; clean rooms, and clean common areas; good location as it is only 10 minutes away from the otogar (bus & dolmus station) and the city centre, easy walkable distance from Saint Jonh's, you can even see some of the ruins from the terrace on the rooftop - speaking of rooftop great view of the fortress, don't miss it at night; standard turkish breakfast with boiled egg, cheese, honey, jam and butter, fresh vegetables, olives, the choice between coffee or tea, and a small bowl of yoghurt; the innkeeper was as friendly as one should expect.
ThumbsDown: no lift and the rooms are in the two upper floors, the room (205) was very simple and small, a little difficult to manage with two suitcases; no shower amenities; no TV; no heater in the room only an A/C that doubles as heater; the innkeeper tried to sell us the tour to Ephesus for 45€, way too expensive in our opinion, insisting that you can't go to Selçuk and not visit Mary's house - that is up to the guests to decide which sights to visit; staff uses the reception lobby as their own living/dining room; the front door was always closed and there's a "curfew" policy, so it's not an hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anabela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
176 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Simple rooms with minimal amenities (beds are hard and only one towel), but excellent internet access. The new owner and his wife are very helpful and made our stay enjoyable. If they offer you a meal from their restaurant, be sure to accept..the dinner we had was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SadieMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at Nazar for 2 nights and were very fortunate to have spent time chit-chatting with Ilker and his beautiful wife, Selma. They had been in the tourism industry for a long time and gave us a good insight to Turkey, not just the touristy spots but also the culture, social norms, carpet buying tips etc. Selma even drew us a map of all recommended restaurants/sweet/cheese shops at our next stop, Istanbul. We also had dinner with their parents, our only home-cooked meal in Turkey. We love their sweet little doggy!

The location of the hotel was convenient. It took us about 5-10 minutes' to walk to St John's Basilica, Aquadects and Isa Bey Mosque. Ilker also dropped us off at the Ephesus gate (private cars are not allowed to drop people off in a bid to encourage people taking taxis).

We love the decor of the place and it was kept very clean. The garden (with a beautiful orange tree) and pool look lovely but as it was winter, we did not hang out there. Nonetheless, the dining room has a beautiful view of the Selcuk castle.

Unlike other places we stayed in though, there was no radiator. The air-con doubled up as the heater. Maybe it was because Selcuk is warmer than the rest of the places we went. But as we came from burning Singapore, we found it a little chilly at night.

Other than that, we would highly recommend this place to anyone who goes Selcuk!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ying W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faber, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed only one night in Hotel Nazar but wish we could have stayed longer. It was by far the most personable place we have been to. The owners were very kind and helpful, spoke English, Turkish, and French, and were more than accommodating. Their rooms were clean and welcoming. The building was decorated nicely and made us feel at home and safe. I can not say enough good things about this place and the wonderful people who own it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I stayed at Nazar for a night. Since it was winter, we didn't get to swim or enjoy sunshine in the garden, which I reckon would be nice to sit in when it's warmer. Clean room aside, I was most impressed with the friendliness of Nazar's staff and the excellent service offered. The breakfast was simple but very tasty and we were given very useful advice on traveling in the area. The innkeeper even offered to drive us to Ephesus free of charge! It's fantastic experience all in all.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eduardelacroix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selcuk
0.2 mi away
Ayasoluk Hotel
Ayasoluk Hotel
#2 of 32 in Selcuk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#7 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kirkinca Hotel
Kirkinca Hotel
#1 of 4 in Sirince
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#8 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nilya
Hotel Nilya
#6 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cenka Hotel
Cenka Hotel
#14 of 32 in Selcuk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nazar

Property: Hotel Nazar
Address: Isabey Mah. Sehit Polis Metin Tavaslioglu Cad. No:34 | Selcuk - Izmir, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Selcuk
#1 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Nazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nazar Hotel Selcuk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing