We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Artemis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Artemis Hotel
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Terrible Experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2009

Firstly I will start by saying a travel agent in Istanbul booked this hotel, part of our tour in this region, so I do not recommend that you book any tour with this agent Ahsly Travel located next to the Side Hotel in Istanbul.
As we had paid "heaps" for our tour, we expected at least a 4 star hotel.
This is a hostel (suitable for backpackers) and our room was disgusting!
The bedding was clean though.
The shower was full of mould, the door frame was hanging off, the
electric wiring ( bare wiring) located next to the shower was dangerous
and the view from our window looked onto a pile of rubbish ( see photos)
We were booked for 2 nights unfortunately, had breakfast one morning
but as we had to leave early the last morning, we asked if it we could
have breakfast at 7am ( think he was a backpacker working there ) said no problem.
However when we went for breakfast ( he was still asleep on the lounge bed) so by the time things were arranged for breakfast, we didn't have time to have it and just got a coffee! As we have to leave at 7.30am.

So that was our experience at Artemis, really awful!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OzMonti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    98
    39
    15
    8
See reviews for
23
71
103
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2009

Artemis hotel is nice place to stay,good location,good owners,nice staff.
thanks.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

A gerat place to stay if you prefer local village style hospitalyty.
The staff were good.
I also enjoyed the food and the rooms were claen.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindaoneiil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2009

Artemis hotel is in very good location,near all main areas.
hotel owners Ivana & Suleyman were very informed, thay also help me to organise my trip around Turkey since i didnt have enough time.
Wifi worked,thay also have free transfer to Ephesus and i have to mention that breakfast was really good

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misy_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2009

Artemis Hotel is very clean and the location is exceptional.Very nice welcome that we received from owner and the staff.
We enjoyrd our stay. Thanks!

Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank karenbelfast12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2009

This cozy spot in Selcuk was wonderful. The hotel staff went out of their way to make sure we felt comfortable during our stay. They provided great information on local restaurants, best times/places to explore the ruins, and gave us some helpful information for the rest of our trip through Turkey.

The room rate was a great bargain. Rooms were clean and comfortable. My room did not have a TV, but since I don't speak Turkish I don't think I would've watched anyway. Great breakfast every morning made fresh by the staff.

Overall I would not hesitate to stay here again and would enthusiastically recommend to anyone I know traveling to the area.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TX_Traveler93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2009

Being a history lover I have been to Selçuk a few tımes in the past but this was my first tıme at Artimis, and like the title says I will not stay anywhere else the next time I come. The proprietors Suleyman and his wife Ivana were warm and welcoming. The rooms had all the things I look for, they are clean (room, sheets, toilet, shower, all of it), cheap, with 24hr hot water, good views, and are suprisingly large considering the price. They ever have good art on the walls with Picasso and Dali all around.
It is right ın the middle of the cıty, near the bus statıon, the museum, Bacillica, the Artemis temple (one of the seven wonders, how cool is that), cafes, shops, you name it.
There is a restaurant with seating inside or in the garden wıth its fountain, cilmibing roses and orange tree. They serve an excellent free breakfast.
In the big common room there ıs satillite TV if you need a news fıx, a PC wıth high speed Internet and wonder of wonders there is high speed wi-fi available in all the rooms. Being a solo traveler I always found another traveler or staff member to talk to or play backgammon with.
In short if you want to go to a place in turkey with a laid back feelıng, away from the huge cities, with hıstory and culture coming out of its ears, with nice people, good weather and reasonable prices then come to Selçuk. And if you come to Selçuk stay ın the Artemis hotel, you will not regret. Tell them Peter from Texas sent you. Enjoy

Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank pshipman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selcuk
0.1 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#7 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nur Pension
Nur Pension
#16 of 32 in Selcuk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ayasoluk Boutique Hotel&Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Kirkinca Hotel
Kirkinca Hotel
#1 of 4 in Sirince
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nazar
Hotel Nazar
#3 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#8 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artemis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemis Hotel

Property: Artemis Hotel
Address: Ataturk Mah, 1012 Sok No 2 | City Center, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Selcuk
Hotel Class:2 star — Artemis Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Artemis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artemis Hotel Selcuk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing