We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, but very noisy”
Review of Hotel Bella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bella
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but very noisy”
Reviewed September 23, 2009

This place was great-- great room, awesome rooftop terrace with a view, comfy beds, pretty room, and amazing location. The 1 problem was the noise level. My room was on the street, and it was incredibly loud. I couldn't sleep at night because there was so much street noise-- motorbikes, cars, talking people, etc. If you book here, request a quiet room that is not a street level.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeilaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    255
    56
    21
    10
See reviews for
126
416
40
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2009

Erdal and his staff did a fantastic job of not only making my and my friends experience at the hotel great, but our entire Selcuk experience unforgettable. He was quick to offer great suggestions for lunch at a place near Efes and even ordered for us(when we gave him the ok of course). The FREE shuttle service to and from efes worked out great and for a very minimal fee he even shuttled us to Sirince and Mary's house. We ate dinner on the terrace right there at the hotel and it was one of our most memorable meals during our vacation through Greece and Turkey. The views alone were enough, but the food was just as good. Our server couldn't have been friendlier. All in all, Hotel Bella far exceeded my expectations(which were pretty high considering I chose it due to the reviews on Tripadvisor).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myst27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2009

We spent 2 nights here and very much enjoyed ourselves.
True, the rooms are pretty much the smallest we've ever been in, but they were charmingly decorated an spotlessly clean.

The bathroom was also perfectly clean and comfortable.
The shower stall was larger and more comfortable than I had expected on seeing the room!

The roof top terrace is delightful with the view of the Citadel in one direction and the city in the other. We had a full moon rising over the mountains one night and it was charming.

Dinner was available and we ate here both nights. Once with a full meal, the other night with just mezzes. The terrace manager was a friendly tornado of energy who kept us in stitches, and added greatly to the comfort and pleasure of being there.

Our host was wonderful about picking us up at the bus station, driving us to Ephesus, picking us up and driving us up to Sirince, bringing us back, taking us to a pharmacy, and organizing our ride to the Izmir airport.
The shop below had a lot of interesting things, and we we felt welcome to look, ask questions, but we did not feel pressured to buy.

The tour buses parking lot is near by but wasn't really an issue as we were out before they arrived and they were gone pretty much before we got back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casinitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Havre, France
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2009

We flew from Istanbul to Izmir and took the train to Selçuk (although the station seemed deserted and the ticket office is not yet operational, we found the platform, had a coffee and paid on the train - no problem). Walking to Hotel Bella is a short walk from the station.
I had heard a lot about the friendliness of the owners and indeed shared very friendly e-mails with Erdal before arriving but most of our contact was with Lian (spelling?) the friendly staff member from New Zealand...
The terrace is lovely and we ate dinner at the hotel restaurant each night (we stayed two nights). Lian gave us restaurant locations in town (family and friends) where we went for lunch and we were not disappointed.
It's true the rooms are not large but we had one suitcase and were not inconvenienced; however I didn't sleep well the first night because of street noise - closing the window may have helped but I hate air-conditioning... the second night either there were fewer tractors (without any suspension!) or I was so tired I slept anyway!
We felt very relaxed in Selçuk, the long walks around the ruins and Ephesus and evenings on the terrace... fond memories for sure.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bonvoyage17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

All the reviews were true...great place, wonderful food---have dinner at least one night, just delicous. Rooms nice and clean and owner (and staff) delightful. Resonably priced. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CiaoBella32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

At Hotel Bella, you will not only find lovely accommodations, you will find unparalleled warmth and hospitality. Erdal, the owner, arranged for us to meet him on the Hotel's beautiful rooftop and greeted us with tea and complimentary cold mezzes while he told us about the area, gave us tips as to what to do, and then proceeded to personally drive us to and from Ephesus. We were having trouble figuring out how to get to Fethiye from Selcuk, and he made several calls for us (without us even asking him to) and spent time arranging our transportation and even contacted a local travel agency on our behalf so we could book some activities once we arrived. What he did for us was completely unnecessary, and we are so grateful to him for all his help and for the wonderful stay he provided us. The rest of the staff at Hotel Bella was also excellent, especially our waiter at dinner (definitely eat dinner on the roof) who waited on us hand and foot. Overall, we cannot recommend staying at Hotel Bella enough.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank smarleyb02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, FL
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2009

This hotel was fabulous in every way. It was situated opposite the ruins of the Church of St. John. Our window overlooked a roman arch, stork nests and the city of Selcuk. The hotel was very well managed. Staff was extremely welcoming and helpful. We were taken to Ephasus complete with a guidebook and lots of information for no charge. The managers went out of their way to help us plan our stay and gave excellent personalized service. The rooftop restaurant/terrace was excellent. The veiws from the terrace were exceptional. This restaurant atop the hotel was so romantic, food was so delicious and sesrvice was so good that it was difficult to ever consider eating elsewhere. Of all the places we stayed during our 3 weeks in Turkey, we most loved the interior design, Turkish artifacts, ceramic plates and furniture of this hotel. It was like staying in a museum. We highly recommend Hotel Bella and found it to be an excellent value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anamcara1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selcuk
0.1 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#7 of 33 in Selcuk
521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ayasoluk Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Ephesus Hillside
Ephesus Hillside
#16 of 33 in Selcuk
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nur Pension
Nur Pension
#15 of 33 in Selcuk
114 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kirkinca Hotel
Kirkinca Hotel
#1 of 4 in Sirince
250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Akay
Hotel Akay
#19 of 33 in Selcuk
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bella

Property: Hotel Bella
Address: Ataturk Mah. | St. John Street No:7, Selcuk, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Selcuk
#5 Family Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bella 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bella with 11 rooms, offers quality accommodation and services. Decorated in traditional Ottoman style, but with all the modern conveniences including Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Located opposite St Johns Basilica and Selcuk Castle. Some rooms with small private balcony. The rooftop terrace restaurant is the perfect place to enjoy beautiful summer evenings dinning under the stars, while enjoying traditional Turkish cuisine, admiring the beautiful views to St. Johns Basilica, Selcuk Castle and nesting storks (in season). Free shuttle service to Ephesus with loan of guide book. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Bella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Hotel Selcuk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing