We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel with Great and Helpful Staff”
Review of Hotel Bella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bella
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Ross, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel with Great and Helpful Staff”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed the Hotel Bella. It was in a great location opposite St. Johns's and an easy walk to some good restaurants. The staff could not be better. They even drove us to Sirince the afternoon we arrived. Plus, drove us to the bus station when we were leaving. All gratis. They answered all of our questions and helped put us together with another couple wishing a private tour of Ephesus.

Room Tip: We liked our room with a balcony facing St. John's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank wuffwuff9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    255
    56
    21
    10
See reviews for
125
416
40
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Me and my friend stayed in Hotel Bella for 1 night, and it was our first hotel in Turkey. The design of this hotel is very cultural, and very much into detail. Just a note for those who travel with big suitcases, this hotel is half way on a deep slope, be careful when walking, it can be difficult.

Our room is very tiny comparing to the price. I don't know if all the rooms are like this, but as we both have international traveling suitcases, we can only open one at a time, otherwise we couldn't walk in the room.

The bathroom is very tiny as well. We are two ladies and about 168~174 tall, we need to be super careful in the shower room to avoid hitting our elbows to the wall.

The breakfast is simple comparing to other hotels we stayed in Turkey, but the person in charge of the terrace restaurant is very nice, so does the view from the restaurant. Tea and coffee are complimentary so we have enjoyed a whole afternoon with the view of selcuk.

The owner is very kind and speak good English, the staff from this hotel are very helpful as well. They provide free shuttle to Efes which saved us some money.

Room Tip: Check the room before check in to see if the size is OK for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Violet0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Nazmi gave us a very warm welcome with many helpful suggestions for the surrounding area. Ephesus was well worth the visit and the guide Nazmi suggested was excellent. We also quite enjoyed our morning in Sirince. Loved the roof top terrace, watching the storks. The hotel is perfect for seeing the sights around Selchuk but this is not a luxury hotel. The rooms are tiny but clean and the staff are wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dale1350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

As other reviews point out, the rooms at Hotel Bella are on the small side ... BUT, the warmth and helpfulness of the owners, the great location, the lovely roof restaurant, and the convenience more than make up for that. We stayed three nights, and Erdal could not do enough to make our visit to Selcuk and Ephesus successful. When we arrived, after settling in, Erdal met us up on the roof to provide an orientation (and the ubiquitous tea of course) and make suggestions for our visit. As we arrived on a Saturday, he immediately sent us to the local farmer's market (a must-do if you are in town on Wed or Saturdays), and we had a nice dinner at the hotel that night. The hotel helped recommend a guide for us for our visit to Ephesus, and Erdal even gave us a ride up to Sirince Village for a nice morning of browsing the shops (go to the felt store, it is extraordinary). Breakfast in the morning was simple but did the job, the hotel staff was truly accommodating, it is an easy and short walk from the hotel to the center of town (which is a few streets lined with restaurants and shops), and we think we made a great choice picking Hotel Bella. Although we didn't buy anything, we enjoyed browsing the attached shop as well as looking at the art decorating the hotel. If you are visiting Selcuk you are not looking for a resort experience, but rather a good base for exploring the fantastic ruins -- you will not go wrong with the Hotel Bella. (Our visit coincided with the stork migration, and as there were a few nests just outside the hotel easily seen from the roof and our balcony that was an added bonus!).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stugru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We were treated so well from the moment we arrived. Nothing was a problem for them from serving us breakfast early to helping with planning our days. Providing the nesting cranes for entertainment was pure magic. Loved the rooftop terrace.

Room Tip: We were on the street side and there was little noise at night and we enjoyed the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Suquamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We recently stayed there and would highly recommend it.

What makes this hotel is the quality of the staff. The host, Erdal, is superb. He gave us a really good briefing at the start and was very helpful. My husband was sick while we were staying there and Erdal drove me to the pharmacy to get some medication.

We love the rooftop bar and restaurant and had a very nice dinner. The breakfasts area leo excellent.

Our room was very small however this was more than compensated by the positive aspects of the hotel. All in all, a great hotel and we would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The staff and owner were very friendly and helpful, the hotel very nice, room was a bit small, but the location was perfect. Across from the ruins of the church of St. John, a block from the center of town, 3 km from Ephesus, Hotel Bella is perfectly situated. Breakfast was filling and fresh, and the rooftop terrace has wonderful views across the village. A very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Be careful, Hotels.com will book you a room that they say has a balcony, but it doesn't....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotshap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.1 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#7 of 33 in Selcuk
520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ayasoluk Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nazar
Hotel Nazar
#5 of 33 in Selcuk
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ephesus Hillside
Ephesus Hillside
#17 of 33 in Selcuk
7 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nur Pension
Nur Pension
#15 of 33 in Selcuk
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Akay
Hotel Akay
#19 of 33 in Selcuk
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bella

Property: Hotel Bella
Address: Ataturk Mah. | St. John Street No:7, Selcuk, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Selcuk
#5 Family Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bella 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bella with 11 rooms, offers quality accommodation and services. Decorated in traditional Ottoman style, but with all the modern conveniences including Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Located opposite St Johns Basilica and Selcuk Castle. Some rooms with small private balcony. The rooftop terrace restaurant is the perfect place to enjoy beautiful summer evenings dinning under the stars, while enjoying traditional Turkish cuisine, admiring the beautiful views to St. Johns Basilica, Selcuk Castle and nesting storks (in season). Free shuttle service to Ephesus with loan of guide book. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Bella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Hotel Selcuk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing