We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bella
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Convenient Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Bella Hotel is located opposite the ancient Church of Saint John in Selcuk and is convenient to the main town, and its excellent Saturday markets, without being too noisy.

We were allocated a small double room with view. The room and bathroom were quite cramped and could only just accommodated our two bags without blocking access to the door. However the appointments in the room including genuine Turkish tribal wall hangings and ceramics were a nice feature, as were the quite large display of other handicraft items in the hallways and stairwell.

The best feature of this hotel was the rooftop restaurant and breakfast area. It was appointed with kilims and rugs and was very comfortable for a meal or drink while overlooking the township and surrounds.

The breakfast food was simple with a focus upon lots of fruit, a little sesame bread and cheese plus the usual Turkish or Nescafe coffee (usually too weak). You could also order eggs as an omelet, boiled etc. The meals available at night had a wide selection of vegetarian and meat dishes, including fish, and could be purchased either a-la-carte or for a fixed 25 TL 3 course meal

The staff were very efficient and friendly, and the cleaning lady's hilarious towel animals (swans, elephants, snakes, butterflies etc) indicated a talent wishing to break out.

A very well run, clean hotel somewhat compromised by the very small rooms.

Room Tip: Request the double rooms with bedside tables on either side of the bed. This will ensure you get on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    254
    56
    21
    10
See reviews for
124
415
40
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Here are the things I liked:
Super friendly owners who drove us almost everywhere
Amazing views from the rooftop terrace
Very nice and reasonable dinner
Delicious breakfast
Mixed- location. It is very handy to everything but as right across from Basilica suffers from noise and exhaust from tour busses visiting.
Not as great - hard bed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulandsarahthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contoocook, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Easy to get to and on a quiet street in a nice neighborhood. The owner is very pleasant and shuttled us to and from Ephesus, loaned us a guide book to the site, and recommended a good lunch place as well. The room was clean, large, and had a very small balcony with superb views of the stork in it's nest across the street. The rooftop has a lovely couch and atmosphere for lounging. The food was just ok. Breakfast was better than the poorly cooked dinner we ate there. I'd recommend staying here and eating dinner across the main street in the center of town. Easy walk to the outstanding Sat. market behind the bus station and St. John's Basilica is right across the street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TookieGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Cannot praise this hotel highly enough. Fantastic English speaking staff who assisted us with private guide to Ephesus, hire car for day trip to Parmakkale. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Wonderful rooftop restaurant with wonderful breakfast and fabulous Turkish dinner. Hotel is 2 minutes walk to the centre of the town with restaurants, shops etc. Waling distance to the bus station. Rooms are full of Turkish decorations and lots of character. Our room had a great balcony. There is a stork nest, complete with stork, outside the rooftop restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueandPeterMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attard, Malta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Hotel is in a very nice quiet area, not far from the centre, St. John's basilica is just across the road. The hotel also offered free shuttle service to Ephesus, and pick up, it was very nice of them. The hotel terrace ( where breakfast is eaten) is very nice, and has a lovely view, especially seeing the storks nesting just in front of hotel. room was clean and nicely decorated, but the window of the room opened onto the hotel shaft, and therefore there was no access to fresh air in the room. otherwise service was good. location is the hotel's + points.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ninique300612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
140 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed for one night and had a good experience.perfect location, max. 5 mins walk to otogar (bus station). The hotel is right opposite to the town centre and next to St John church. Got free shuttle to/from Efes (3 times a day). Staff are helpful. Food is ok but the view from the terrace restaurant is superd, esp at night. The room is quite small but it was clean and tidy, and air-condition worrks well. They have a nice shop inside/next to the hotel, fortunately the owner was there when we visited and he explained the artwork to us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChuiYi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at this little hotel to see Ephesus and saw so much more. Selcuk is a delightful little town (so much nicer than the huge beachside sprawl of nearby Kusadasi) with heaps of history. We were there in nesting season and not only were we greeted by storks nesting on the Byzantine pillars of the old aquaduct as soon as we left the train but there were two stork nests in close view from the charming hotel. Wonderful birds with their great wings and joyful bill clacking whenever they arrived back at the nest. Could have watched them for hours as we relaxed on the terrace, which like the rest of the hotel has attractive traditional Turkish decoration.
The Byzantine castle and the handsome remains of the basilica where St John the Evangelist is buried also form part of the breathtaking view from the terrace while a stroll down the hill takes you to the magnificent ancient mosque of Isa Bey and the scant remains of the famous Temple of Artemis.
Our host and the hotel staff could not have been more helpful - providing free transport to and from Ephesus and finding us a wonderful place for lunch where we ate delicious sweet and savoury borek. Ephesus itself is well worth the trip, the Mediterranean coast is in easy reach with an uncrowded beach and we also caught a dolmus into the hills to visit the pretty (but rather touristy) old Greek village of Syrince.

Room Tip: Turkish traditional rooms are smaller than westerners might expect but very atmospheric!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nazar
Hotel Nazar
#3 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ayasoluk Boutique Hotel&Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#7 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nilya
Hotel Nilya
#6 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nur Pension
Nur Pension
#16 of 32 in Selcuk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cella Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bella

Property: Hotel Bella
Address: Ataturk Mah. | St. John Street No:7, Selcuk, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Selcuk
#4 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#5 Family Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bella 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bella with 11 rooms, offers quality accommodation and services. Decorated in traditional Ottoman style, but with all the modern conveniences including Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Located opposite St Johns Basilica and Selcuk Castle. Some rooms with small private balcony. The rooftop terrace restaurant is the perfect place to enjoy beautiful summer evenings dinning under the stars, while enjoying traditional Turkish cuisine, admiring the beautiful views to St. Johns Basilica, Selcuk Castle and nesting storks (in season). Free shuttle service to Ephesus with loan of guide book. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Hotel Selcuk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing