We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentically Marvellous!”
Review of Hotel Bella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bella
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Authentically Marvellous!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Remarks first:

*Mattresses are not exactly comfy

*No phone in the room to cobtct reception

*it can get a bit noisy at dawn because of the cars passing in front of the hotel.

However: the Reception and the Service are Exceptional!!! Lovely lovely people.
The hotel is an eye candy, inside out!!!
The roof terrace is marvelous, the view is breathtaking
The rooms are so beautifully decorated, we had a quadruple one.

But the most amazing of all is the Hotel souvenirs boutique, no exaggeration, I went there like 9 times, so many pieces, so well done, with a good taste!!!!! A mini museum really!!

The Hotel offers a ride to the House of the Virgin Mary ( An Oasis of Peace) and to Ephesus.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azzigeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    255
    56
    21
    10
See reviews for
126
416
40
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I had a night to spare after visiting Ephesus and before flying out of Izmir. I did not want to stay in a resort city so I found Hotel Bella. It was a quiet oasis in the middle of Selcuk very near to Ephesus. When we arrived we were a hot and stressing over getting to Ephesus and finding a guide. We were taken to the roof top for tea while this was all arranged for us - shuttle, guide and stop at a Gozeme restaurant near the Tombs of the Seven Sleeps on the way back. That afternoon we explored the Basilica of St John, opposite the hotel. The hotel is perfectly situated near the older side of town and great for a walk to the station, buses or shops. It is a great basis for sightseeing Ephesus and a great retreat at the end of a hot day. Dinner on the balcony at sunset is divine. The service is excellent and staff go out of the way to be friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewelsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We are a family of 4 from USA and we stayed for 3 nights at this excellent hotel in July, 2013. It is a very charming boutique hotel with excellent service and the owners take very good care of their guests. The food is excellent both at breakfast and dinner. Mr. Nazmi and his partner recommended us a guide to visit Ephesus and we loved visiting and purchasing rugs from his wonderful carpet store - Divan Carpet & Kilim.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celle, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Such a a convenient location, clean rooms and a real gem of a roof terrace where you can sit and read a book or eat a tasty meal. Decorated in a charming way and the staff are really helpful. Check out the ruins of the Basilica opposite as well as Ephesus (which they arrange transport to and from).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmrdanby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This small hotel is very well located in the center of Selcuk, which serves as a great base for a sightseeing tour to Ephesus. The service is excellent, including a free transfer to and from Ephesus. There is a lovely rooftop terrace, where breakfast is served. Although the breakfast was delicious, we were disappointed with our lunch experience. Based on that experience, I would not recommend dining at the restaurant, but highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvtravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The Hotel Bella is a nice place to stay in Selcuk. The room that we had was quite small and the bathroom was tiny but we still got a good night's sleep both nights that we were there, because it was very quiet and the air conditioning worked well.

The restaurant on the roof-top terrace is lovely and the food is very good.

The best part, though, is the owner, who is wonderfully helpful when it comes to planning your stay there. He drove us to Ephesus, stopping en route for lunch at a local restaurant for gozleme, which was fun, and not someplace we would ever have found on our own. He even loaned us a book to help us understand what we were seeing at Ephesus! We also did a day trip to Pamukkale and he set that up for us as well.

We really enjoyed the sites that we saw on this part of our trip, and would stay at Hotel Bella again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDGal66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a small hotel in central Selcuk. Lovely rooftop terrace looking across to the ruined basilica and the impressive castle. Room was small and the bathroom very small but it was clean and comfortable.

What stands out here is the service. Free shuttles to and from Ephesus, to the bus station, bus tickets organised for you. in fact I doubt there is a travel problem they cannot help resolve. And if you want to learn about carpets or tiles without pressure, this is the place.

Keep an eye for the storks roosting across the road!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank easytraveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selcuk
0.1 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#7 of 33 in Selcuk
520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ayasoluk Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Ephesus Hillside
Ephesus Hillside
#17 of 33 in Selcuk
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nur Pension
Nur Pension
#15 of 33 in Selcuk
114 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kirkinca Hotel
Kirkinca Hotel
#1 of 4 in Sirince
250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Akay
Hotel Akay
#19 of 33 in Selcuk
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bella

Property: Hotel Bella
Address: Ataturk Mah. | St. John Street No:7, Selcuk, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#5 Family Hotel in Selcuk
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bella 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bella with 11 rooms, offers quality accommodation and services. Decorated in traditional Ottoman style, but with all the modern conveniences including Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Located opposite St Johns Basilica and Selcuk Castle. Some rooms with small private balcony. The rooftop terrace restaurant is the perfect place to enjoy beautiful summer evenings dinning under the stars, while enjoying traditional Turkish cuisine, admiring the beautiful views to St. Johns Basilica, Selcuk Castle and nesting storks (in season). Free shuttle service to Ephesus with loan of guide book. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Bella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Hotel Selcuk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing