We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Ephesus”

Ancient City of Ephesus
Book In Advance
More Info
$80.00*
and up
Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir
Ranked #1 of 55 things to do in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Stockbridge, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Ephesus”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Ephesus is a must see if you are in the region. It was one of the largest of the Roman Empire and amazingly advanced.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank bsalvatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,825 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,587
    1,084
    127
    21
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
603 reviews
190 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
“One of the best ancient ruins in the world”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This Greek/Roman city goes back 3000 years and the ruins are definitely worth a visit. The city was partially destroyed by an earthquake in 614 AD and when the harbor silted up be the local river it declined as a commercial center. The ruins are preserved enough that one can get a very good idea on now the city looked in ancient times. There is a lot to see, a lot of walking and all well worth a visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
285 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Amazing place!”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Ephesus is such an amazing place with an interesting history! We weren't sure what to expect when we got there, I was sad that there were no guides out front wanting to be hired since it was off season. We decided to rent the headsets and we are glad we did! We walked from area to area listening to the history & imagining how it must have been. The Theatre, Temple of Hadrian, The Terrace Houses, the Library, the colosseum was all lovely. There were plenty of places to sit and just gaze if you became tired. I would say it took us about 3 hours to go through the whole place and it was well worth the time and money!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank bakerswoodfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
135 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Magnificient”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This was everything I had expected from the best preserved classical city in the eastern Mediterrain and more. The site is well laid out with its boulevards, remains, buildings and theatre. The library is definitely the centre of this amazing complex. Hoards of bus trips arrive in the morning and get dropped off at the top gate. If catching a dolmus from Selcuk you will be dropped off at the lower gate which certainly has merits as you can arrive before the buses as well going against the grain of the bus travellers.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank WCOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ancient City of Ephesus”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I loved the way the city was laid out and how huge the buildings are. The details are impressive, I especially like the mosaic tile floors in some of the buildings and the road map in the street that tells you how to find the brothel.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ancient City of Ephesus also viewed

 
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 

Been to Ancient City of Ephesus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing