We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!”
Review of Visit to Ephesus

Visit to Ephesus
Book In Advance
More Info
$80.00*
and up
Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #8 of 29 Tours in Selcuk
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Explore the ancient city Ephesus and surroundings with our professional travel team. Kasko Travel Agent is a local expert offering private and group Ephesus tours from Izmir and Kusadasi cruise ship ports. We have a selection of Ephesus tours available which includes visiting The Ephesus ruins, temple of Artemis,Virgin Mary House,St.John Bassilica Church, Sirince village, Isabey Mosque, Terrace houses. Our Ephesus tours run from port of Kusadasi and Izmir. We provide brand new vans and professional licenced tour guides for you. All entrance fees of sites,transportation and guiding included to our prices.make your trip memorable with us.
Darwen
Level Contributor
215 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We finally made it to Ephesus after many visits to Turkey. April certainly avoided the summer heat, as we had been advised, but it was still quiet busy.
The plus points are the extensive site itself, with many different areas to enjoy, walk, sit, photograph, read the info boards or just drink in the experience.
The down sides are the tacky stalls at either end by the entrances, avoid at all costs, usual wares, top prices.
The toilet and cafe facilities are at the two entrance gates, with none in the site itself. In summer I would advise you take plenty of fluids.
Very good day out at 25 YTL pp for the standard entrance. There are guides available as well as audio tours but we just enjoyed the experience at our own pace.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ancient yellow brick road!”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Ephesus was a destination found on an inflight magazine on our way to Turkey for a holiday in October 2011. Before that, my husband and me has never heard of it! One travel article on it and we had worked out a day trip from Pamukkale to the ancient ruins in stone. Our first glimpse of Ephesus was the towering ruins of the entrance gate, and soon we were on an ancient cobbled road towards the Greek bazaar. The strongest textures in stone, the fragmented remnants of mosaic, the headless statues of a warrior race, all of these put together a din-filled picture of days of glory from the past. From the shopping centre to the community urinals with the musicians stage intact!, to the colossal library to the beautifully maintained generic complexes, and a mini Colossem to brag about, Ephesus helped us indulge in a little time travel. It was the quickest way to travel from Turkey into Greece!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank NBD06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
192 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Better than Pompeii”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

An amazing place. Best to go as part of a small group tour as the ruins are very extensive and you will need someone knowledgeable to explain all the fascinating details. One of the best views is looking down the road leading down to the library - magnificent. Could almost imagine yourself back in the era when it must have looked amazing. I believe it was better than Pompeii! Don't miss it. Stock up on water and snacks as there are no shops once you go through the gate. Tourist shops at the bottom exit and decent cafés too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
164 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“You Cannot Miss this Attraction”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Well, you just have to go and visit it because it is just so good - we have visited many, many years ago. This time, the trouble was that for us, the visit was during a Turkish Festival and not only were the foreign tourists there (there were 9 cruise ships in Kusadasi that day) but also the Turkish people themselves. This meant that the main street through Ephesus was chock-a-block with humanity. This made our (excellent) guide’s task that much more difficult. (Our guide was provided as part of the organised coach tour of the Lycian Coast that we were on.) It was also difficult to photograph anything because there were just so many people around trying to do the same thing. Pleased that I had excellent photographs from years back when fewer people visited.
That said, the site is well looked after with extra protection from too many feet by the installation of a railway sleeper boardwalk where appropriate.
There was a large selection of shops etc outside the exit so at least there was plenty of choice for snacks, drinks, guidebooks and souvenirs.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Des H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ephesus”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Arrived in Izmir and took a guided tour to Ephesus and House of Mary about an hour drive away. It is well worth the trip and the mile trek through the ruins. Although the ruins themselves speak for themselves as some are quite well preserved, I recommend a guided tour that provides you with interesting details, insight into the lives of the people that lived ancient Ephesus and funny anecdotes of their lifestyle. The library of Celsus alone is worth the visit, as its imposing façade stands awe inspiring. The theatre is quite well preserved and also worth the trip inside. Ephesus provides a unique peek into the lives of ancient romans with shops, houses, public areas, library, brothel and even public toilets where men used to spend a lot of time socializing and talking politics.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MelbaLajara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Visit to Ephesus also viewed

 

Been to Visit to Ephesus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing