We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly, fun, cool place to stay on the Aegean coast”
Review of Urkmez Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Urkmez Hotel
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
california, usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“friendly, fun, cool place to stay on the Aegean coast”
Reviewed November 22, 2009

We loved this charming hotel with its rooftop restaurant offering views of the castle and Roman aqueduct. What made this hotel exceptional was the family who runs it. In particular, brothers Juju and Jimmy are extremely nice, friendly and knowledgeable about Turkey. They really went out of their way time and again to give us information, transportation, and share their company, which made us feel very cared for. They planned several activities, including special dinners, movie nights, and celebrations on their rooftop terrace which made our stay special.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smkadin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    204
    43
    14
    2
See reviews for
77
249
44
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2009

Only stayed a couple of nights.
Great location in Selcuk, with great food and drink on the doorstep. Nice spot for breakfast on the roof terrace.
Certainly very friendly team- good English and German.
Rooms are average, pretty clean, a bit tired and the bathroom a bit worn and less than spacious but perfectly functional. Noise travelled down from the roof a bit too easily via the bathroom riser.
However, the prices were good value and I would stay here again visiting Selcuk as a good base.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IJB_Cavendish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2009

We book this hotel mainly based on the good reviews but we were very dissappointed with our room. The standard room we stayed was not as what shown on their website. The room comes with 3 single bed with very old (repainted) furnitures and was without balcony as most rooms have. The worst is the bathroom, there are water stains all over the ceilling and wall. The toilet bowl and basin looks like those from the 70's with dirty flooring.the only posive sign is the service and hospitality of the owners and the 2 star rating is for this purpose.
I always select my accommadations carefully based on reviews from tripadvisor and this hotel turned out to be the worst during my 2 weeks trip in turkeys despite all the good reviews.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BTLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cune8, Manager at Urkmez Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2009
Dear Guests,,

Mr BT Lim from Malaysia, had a reservation in our Hotel for 12th of October and I reserved a standart double bed room as promised. He asked for a special discount as well. Just a few days before arriving he requested to change the to 13th (wrote; "whatever available"). Due to very busy week I just had this budget triple room(ensuite,A/C) available and I guess he was not happy with the triple room (beds pushed together) Id like to inform that we also worked on bathroom and did the necessary changing.
I and my team are very sensitive about the reviews and we always try to give the best for our Guests.
Kind Regards
Cüneyt Ozkan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Mountain, GA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2009

The rooms are comfortable, clean, and charming. The staff was gracious and very helpful when it came to helping us plan our short visit to Ephesus. It is located right in the heart of the (little) city. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megaluz20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2009

Urkmez boasts that you come as a guest and leave as a friend. Actually, that's an understatement, you come as a guest and leave as a member of the family. This is the friendliest place I stayed in Turkey (and that in itself is saying a great deal) and Jimmy and Juju (the brothers who run it) spare no effort in trying to make you feel as welcome as possible. The room was clean and comfortable but the best part of the pension is the roof terrace which is cool (a big plus in Selcuk which is brutally hot) where the eclectic array of people who stay here often congregate and the brothers usually have something going on in the evening (if it's a barbeque don't miss it!). They also offer free rides to the top of the ruins in Ephesus and book tours but don't push them (the way many places in Turkey do). Location-wise it's in the heart of town and not by the bus station, which is itself a plus. I couldn't recommend this place more highly.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mreogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2009

Despite being a small, Selcuk is a great town to visit in Turkey, especially as a home base for visiting surrounding museums, ruins, etc. Hotel Urkmez has to be the most fun, delightful place to stay in Selcuk. Rooms are spacious with great views, some with balconies. The breakfasts are delicious and served on the roof top terrace, complete with great views. Best of all are brothers and owners Jimmy and JuJu. They are available and acessable to answer questions, make suggestions about sightseeing, and also plan fun events at the hotel like BBQ night, karaoke, etc. Have them direct you to the shop that sell the yogurt they make in town - amazing!! MUST DO: visit the hamam (turkish bath) in town. For 35TL you will have the most amazing experience ever. It was wonderful, and very respectful. Felt very comfortable going there as a female. Note: at the hotel, there are many flights of stairs, and no elevator. It's best to take this into account if you have physical challenges. Otherwise, a fabulous and fun place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBSCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Urkmez for two nights, and I booked this hotel after reading all of the wonderful reviews on this site. I had never stayed at such a cheap hotel before (it's 32 euros a night) and was wondering what we were in for! Urkmez is a no frills budget place, but with the service and hospitality of a much more expensive hotel. Juju, one of the owners, is extremely friendly and went out of his way to make sure that we were happy and comfortable.

Our room was on the first floor (and I think that's a plus because there is no elevator and there are a lot of steep stairs to climb) and was perfectly nice. In fact, we noticed that almost all of the furniture was purchased from Ikea. :) We had a great little balcony with two chairs that overlooked the small town. Our bed was quite comfortable, even more so than at other hotels where we stayed. We did not have any problems with the shower, as some others did. The water was hot and the pressure was fine. The bathroom is very small, but I think that is the case with many Turkish hotels.

Breakfast on the terrace was excellent, with a wonderful view of Selcuk and a variety of yummy options. There is also a laptop on the terrace with wireless access and free wireless internet throughout the hotel.

The location of the hotel cannot be beat. It's about a 5 minute walk from the train station and is very close to many wonderful restaurants.

Our only snafu was that we checked out very early in the morning (around 7 am), and a young boy who did not speak much English helped us out because Juju was not available. It took us a bit of time to check out because he was not aware of the procedures and he had to be on the phone with Juju for several minutes to figure it out. However, that is a minor complaint. Our overall stay was wonderful, and I would highly recommend Urkmez to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeautifulCapeMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selcuk
0.2 mi away
Nur Pension
Nur Pension
#15 of 33 in Selcuk
114 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kirkinca Hotel
Kirkinca Hotel
#1 of 4 in Sirince
247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nazar
Hotel Nazar
#5 of 33 in Selcuk
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Aqua Fantasy Aquapark Hotel & SPA
5.8 mi away
Labranda Ephesus Princess
5.2 mi away
Richmond Ephesus Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urkmez Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urkmez Hotel

Property: Urkmez Hotel
Address: Ataturk Mahallesi, Namik Kemal Cad. No: 20, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Selcuk
#5 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#6 Family Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Urkmez Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freshly decorated rooms. We have a great central location; within metres from the bus and train station, banks, restaurants, shopping centres and just a few minutes drive from Ephesus and the biggest Aquapark in Europe. All rooms have ensuite, TV and A/C. Full Breakfast Buffet (incl. musli, seasonal fruits, omlette, cake, orange juice, filter coffee...) is served on our roof top terrace, included in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Urkmez Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urkmez Hotel Selcuk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing