We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely come back”
Review of Urkmez Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Urkmez Hotel
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Poland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Would definitely come back”
Reviewed August 25, 2009

This hotel was the best one we found during our trip around Turkey as far as the atmosphere and service is concerned. It is a family run bussiness and one can feel as at home, especially thanks to the wonderful evening events organized every night on the roof terrace (movies, grill, karaoke & all that stuff together with animation). We met there very nice people from all around the world. And they taught us how to play backgammon :-)

The room we got was simple but very romantic, with A/C, balkony, TV. The breakfasts were very tasty and plentiful with a great view on the castle.

From the hotel one can book different trips, we took one to Pammukkale, but were a bit dissapointed by the crowd and lack of atmosphere. Ephesus, on the other hand, is beautiful and a must to see. You can get there by foot (about 40 mins walk) or ask Juju (the owner) and go there by car visiting the St Mary's house on your way. Don't miss the visit in the ruins of St John's cathedral in Selcuk, which is great for taking pictures and much less crowded than Ephesus. Opposite to the hotel is a hammam (Turkish bath) - another must to do for only 25 YTL. My husband loved the shaving done by Selcuk's barber (very cheap!).

If you are looking for some nice place to stay close to Ephesus - go to Urkmez Hotel, you definitely won't regret.

Thank you Juju - we really enjoyed our stay with you!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kowalska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    204
    42
    14
    2
See reviews for
76
249
44
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2009

My husband and I booked this hotel on our own after reading the great reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. We had a delux room with balcony overlooking the stork nests. The storks arrived a couple of weeks earlier and were nested on top of the ruins of an ancient acquaduct. Awesome! Ju Ju and his family were very pleasant and helpful. His dad picked us up and drove us back to the airport in Izmir. Food was great.
Ju Ju co ordinated tours for us to Pammakale, Ephesus and Pergamon. Tours were reasonable and easily accessible from the hotel. You could walk to the Bascilica of St. John, where St. John was buried and to the Temple of Artemis which is one of the 7 ancient wonders of the world.
Could not have asked for a nicer stay while in the Selcuk area. Kudos to you !!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texas3timer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
210 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2009

We recently stayed at Urkmez during our visit to Selcuk in a triple room which was fantastic - the room was nicely decorated, clean, had A/C and an en suite bathroom - and the hotel itself has a great rooftop terrace where you can hang out at night or enjoy their yummy breakfast in the morning.

The hotel itself is in a great location within walking distance to nice restaurants and shops in the town centre which is also a plus.

While everything at the guesthouse was great, the thing that truly distinguished it from other places was the kind and caring family who owns/runs it - they are so hospitable, always smiling and happy to help, they made truly made us feel like guests!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keshira haLev F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Met by owners' charming father at Izmir airport, greeted at Urkmez with great friendliness. Accommodation was spotless and completely adequate. Brothers Juju and Jimmy were always around to offer advice, suggestions and lifts to Ephesus. Their kindness was genuine and uplifting. We had a view of the Citadel, St John's Basilica and the storks nesting on the Aquaduct from our little balcony.!! We would certainly return to the Urkmez Hotel.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank rathfarnham16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2009

We only booked one night at the Urkmez Hotel so that we could visit Ephesus at the end of our holiday but what a pleasure it was to stay there. Jimy and Juju were such welcoming and friendly hosts. They were very generous with their time, answering all our queries, lending us guide books and recommending a great local restaurant. The roof terrace had a wonderful view of the area and the of 2 nearby storks' nests. The rooms were lovely, comfortable and spotlessly clean. We just wish we could have stayed longer.
This is a turkish hotel full of character and characters!

Helpful?
1 Thank Phizzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2009

Juju and Jimi are the most hospitable hosts imaginable. They will make you feel part of their family. The hotel is charming, comfortable, perfectly situated in Selcuk (a beautiful town with amazing archeological sites). Easy walking distance to sites, great restaurants, shopping. A perfect place to visit Priene, Didyma,Miletus and the coast. I wish I could have stayed longer--two nights was not enough. As a woman traveling alone, I always felt completely safe. Thank you for a wonderful time; I hope I can come back some day. Don't miss this hotel; it will be a hghlight of your travel, without a doubt.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paakhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saskatchewan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

We stayed at the urkmez hotel for 4 nites and it was the best place in are month long visit to turkey. The rooms were great very clean. The bbq on the roof top was awesome and meet so many nice people. No words can describe Jimmy and JuJu they were always interested in what you were doing for the day and to offer advise on what to do. A great family to spend are holiday with. The location of the Hotel in Selcuk was the best. We be back if we go to Turkey again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m0j0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selcuk
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nazar
Hotel Nazar
#5 of 33 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nur Pension
Nur Pension
#15 of 33 in Selcuk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#8 of 33 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ayasoluk Hotel
Ayasoluk Hotel
#2 of 33 in Selcuk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kirkinca Hotel
Kirkinca Hotel
#1 of 4 in Sirince
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
5.2 mi away
Richmond Ephesus Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urkmez Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urkmez Hotel

Property: Urkmez Hotel
Address: Ataturk Mahallesi, Namik Kemal Cad. No: 20, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Selcuk
#5 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#6 Family Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Urkmez Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freshly decorated rooms. We have a great central location; within metres from the bus and train station, banks, restaurants, shopping centres and just a few minutes drive from Ephesus and the biggest Aquapark in Europe. All rooms have ensuite, TV and A/C. Full Breakfast Buffet (incl. musli, seasonal fruits, omlette, cake, orange juice, filter coffee...) is served on our roof top terrace, included in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Urkmez Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urkmez Hotel Selcuk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing