We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Urkmez Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Urkmez Hotel
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2009

The Urkmez is in a great spot right in the middle of town which makes it easy to access sites, places to eat, and the bus station. The rooms were comfortable, the staff were friendly and the breakfast was good. The only downside is the shower is just a curtained off portion of the bathroom so the whole floor gets and stays wet which is a little nasty.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

414 - 420 of 537 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2009

What can I say about Urkmez Hotel other than the hosts - the two brother's Cem (Jimi) & Cuneyt (Juju) that run this place whose hospitality, warmth and accommodating personas are second to none!

Whilst Urkmez Hotel may not have the trimmings or plushness that you may find at better 'star' rating hotels - in terms of value for money, locality to the centre of town and closeness to that all important 'hamam' and a place with warmth, a friendly vibe and just the most gorgeous hosts ever in Jimi and Juju and their father, then this family run hotel is well worth a visit.

I really had such a relaxing and amazing time in Selcuk/Ephesus and this was unequivocally down to the kindness, generosity, helpfulness and positive attitude of both Jimi and Juju and their father. Thanks so much guys. You were all just tremendous!!! :))

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stargirl_in_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2009

This hotel is good for all ages. The rooms are basic, it’s centrally located and the price is reasonable. Breakfast was good; make sure you order a fresh squeezed orange juice. JuJu and Jimmy went out of their way to make our stay memorable. There is a terrace with a view of the castle and at night they play games, watch TV or do whatever the majority of the visitors request. With enough people in the hotel they organized a BBQ on the roof and it was fabulous for a very reasonable price. They gave good advise on the local area and were willing to make arrangements for us if we needed a guide or ride.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2009

Although it was June, 2008 when we stayed in Urkmez Hotel, our very happy memories of our time there (and the wonderful emailed Christmas greetings from Jimi and Juju) are inspiring me to tell other travelers that this is a very special place. Our American friend who lives in Turkey knew we were going to Selcuk and immediately said we must stay at the Urkmez. My husband and I are are now "middle aged" and have traveled through many countries. We continue to be budget travelers and it's rare to find a budget hotel with staff that make you feel so immediately at home. We certainly didn't expect that, but brothers Jimy and Juju have mastered the art of hospitality in an exceptionally engaging and genuine way (and often with a very funny sense of humor!). The simple accommodations were spotless and our room had a great view off the balcony. Internet access, games of darts on the terrace, and a very good breakfast added to the enjoyment. They also made day trips available and had good advice for other places to travel in Turkey. We were truly sorry to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jefsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2009

The Urkmez Hotel has many things going for it but what really set it apart for us was the incredible hospitality of the Ozkan brothers Jimi and Juju, who bent over backwards to make us feel welcome and appreciated and like part of the family, from the time they picked us up at the ferry in Kusadasi to the last reluctant goodbye. The hotel was the best value for money of any we stayed at in Greece and Turkey. It is very central to all the amenities, and within walking distance of St. John’s Basilica, the Temple of Artemis, the wonderful Museum of Ephesus and even of Ephesus itself if you’re feeling energetic (2.5 km), otherwise Jimi and Juju will arrange free transportation there for you. Although modest, the rooms are very clean, with ensuite bathrooms and balconies, and there is a wonderful view from the rooftop terrace. The buffet breakfasts (free with your room) are served on the rooftop and were generous and delicious, different every morning, and included a great variety of Turkish delights, many fresh from the bakery nearby. Jimi and Juju are very knowledgeable and were ready and willing to answer any questions and accommodate any requests we had. They made us very glad that we decided to add Ephesus and the Urkmez Hotel to our tour of the Greek Islands. This little side trip to Turkey was one of the highlights of our trip, thanks in great part to the warm hospitality of Jimi and Juju and their family.

Hazel and Betty
Vancouver, Canada

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank northvancouvercanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

After five days in Selcuk, I must admit I was a little sad to leave. A big reason for that was the incredible hospitality of brothers Jimy (Cem) and Juju at the Urkmez Hotel. The hotel has a fantastic location on a quiet street, and is an easy walk to the Otogar (bus stop), many shops and restaurants, and most of the city's tourist sites. The price of my stay included a clean and comfortable room, breakfast (very good), free Internet (donations accepted, but not required), very reliable travel advice, and patient answers to my many questions (thanks again, Juju).

So, if you're looking for a great place to stay in Selcuk, at a reasonable price, you really can't go wrong with the Urkmez Hotel. I sincerely hope to return to Selcuk some day, and hope that Jimy and Juju are still there.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank FinalDescent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2008

Stayed for a wk at the urkmez. It was the best part of my trip to turkey. Jimmy and juju took me and if they couldn't showed me the best place to visit in and around selcuk. Very friendly and helping. looking forawrd to my next stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rossaneri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selcuk
0.4 mi away
Ephesus Palace
Ephesus Palace
#13 of 34 in Selcuk
40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ayasoluk Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Ephesus Hillside
Ephesus Hillside
#15 of 34 in Selcuk
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Livia Hotel Ephesus
Livia Hotel Ephesus
#8 of 34 in Selcuk
58 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hitit Hotel
Hitit Hotel
#29 of 34 in Selcuk
180 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kirkinca Hotel
Kirkinca Hotel
#1 of 4 in Sirince
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urkmez Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urkmez Hotel

Address: Ataturk Mahallesi, Namik Kemal Cad. No: 20, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Selcuk
#5 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#6 Family Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range: $32 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Urkmez Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freshly decorated rooms. We have a great central location; within metres from the bus and train station, banks, restaurants, shopping centres and just a few minutes drive from Ephesus and the biggest Aquapark in Europe. All rooms have ensuite, TV and A/C. Comfort Rooms have a balcony, tea coffee tray and safe box..Full Breakfast Buffet (incl. musli, seasonal fruits, omlette, cake, orange juice, filter coffee...) is served on our roof top terrace, included in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Urkmez Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urkmez Hotel Selcuk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing