We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value budget hotel”
Review of Urkmez Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Urkmez Hotel
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value budget hotel”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The hotel is very well run. The staff (mostly family, I think) is incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms were kept very clean. If you don't care about fancy fixtures and amenities, but want cleanliness, a good breakfast, friendly staff, and a central location, this is a great value. The rooftop breakfast area has a great view.

I had a lot of trouble finding the place. I drove through Selcuk three times, before I found it. The street is hard to find, but parking is under the aqueduct, so just make your way there. I was also slightly disappointed because this hotel advertised parking, but that just meant you could use the improvised lot underneath the aqueduct.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skibrendan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    204
    42
    14
    2
See reviews for
76
249
44
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
438 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Urkmez has a great location right in the middle of the restaurant and tourist retail area of Selcuk. A few steps walk and you have a choice of many good restaurants, lots of shops and several attractions such as the old aqueduct ruins, St Jean church, ancient mosques and more.

The staff (owner and family) are extremely friendly and helpful. They are happy to do whatever they can to ensure you have an enjoyable stay. Its hard not to like the hotel based on the staff alone.

However there some issues that you need to be aware of - they will be of more concern to some than others:
Stairs. Reception is one flight up from ground level and the first floor one flight up from there. We were on level 2, which meant three flights of quite steep (and a little narrow) steps.
Room size. Our first room was very small. After an issue with a leaking toilet, we were shifted to a larger room, but still quite small by any standard.
Beds. Too hard for us and with very basic linen (a bottom sheet and a cotton blanket that served as the top sheet). They gave us a donna cover to use as a top sheet, but obviously it could not be tucked in the way a sheet normally is.
Bathrooms. Cramped and not in great condition. Clean, but really needing a proper refurbishment.
Noise. Being close to the restaurant area means night-time noise. We closed the window and turned on the A/C and had no problems sleeping.

We felt the breakfast was quite basic with little food that was to our (western) tastes. Breads, cheese, cold meat, coffee, fig jams, fruit, etc were the mainstays. They kindly cooked us a fresh omelette one morning.

Overall, the attitude of the staff, and the advantages of the location, partially overcame shortcomings of the room, but if we were to return to Selcuk, we would look for a hotel in better overall condition, with better room facilities and more comfortable beds. My backpacking daughter and her partner, would probably have no problems staying at the Urkmez.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front get less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisandJudy1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Very centrally situated with restaurants and bars on our doorstep. The comfortable room had a private balcony with a view of the Selcuk Castle which is within walking distance. The breakfast was fantastic and the staff helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetalCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Ohio
Level Contributor
131 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Urkmez hotel is run by two brothers who are both extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and clean, though on the basic side. The bathroom was very small, but clean and functional. The location is excellent, in an area with many shops and good restaurants. Can easily walk to the Otogar, and they are happy to call a taxi anytime you need one. Parking can be a bit difficult - especially when we were there, since one of the nearby lots was closed due to construction. The breakfast was good, with a nice view to enjoy while eating. Price was very good, and I would deem this a very good value choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ofamof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The staff were friendly. The room was clean and nice. Most important was, the food was very delicious!

The price is quite good for what you get. The location is excellent, really close to the city centre (where the restaurants, bars, commerce and everything else are), to the train and bus stations.


我們在這裡待了兩晚,cp值超高!早餐超好吃,員工很主動幫忙,超推薦!離公車站、火車站都蠻近的,附近也有超市。房間雖然很小但是該有的都有,睡起來也很舒服。

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TingyWu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband and I and my sister and her husband stayed 2 nights at Jimmy and Juju's hotel. The brothers work well together, they were both so helpful, warm and friendly. Their father who I met briefly must be very proud of his sons. The rooms were spotless and comfortable. The bathroom albeit small was fine

Room Tip: Room with small balcony overlooking the aquaduct and castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I would recommend this hotel for any budget traveller. The price is quite good for what you get. The location is excellent, really close to the city centre (where the restaurants, bars, commerce and everything else are), to the train and bus stations. The room is comfortable. The bathroom is indeed small, but it is clean (for me, that is what matters). The staff is really friendly and they've got a very pleasant terrace, where the breakfast is served.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia_sayuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selcuk
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nazar
Hotel Nazar
#5 of 33 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nur Pension
Nur Pension
#15 of 33 in Selcuk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#8 of 33 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ayasoluk Hotel
Ayasoluk Hotel
#2 of 33 in Selcuk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kirkinca Hotel
Kirkinca Hotel
#1 of 4 in Sirince
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
5.2 mi away
Richmond Ephesus Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urkmez Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urkmez Hotel

Property: Urkmez Hotel
Address: Ataturk Mahallesi, Namik Kemal Cad. No: 20, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Selcuk
#5 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#6 Family Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Urkmez Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freshly decorated rooms. We have a great central location; within metres from the bus and train station, banks, restaurants, shopping centres and just a few minutes drive from Ephesus and the biggest Aquapark in Europe. All rooms have ensuite, TV and A/C. Full Breakfast Buffet (incl. musli, seasonal fruits, omlette, cake, orange juice, filter coffee...) is served on our roof top terrace, included in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Urkmez Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urkmez Hotel Selcuk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing