We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but cold in winter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Urkmez Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Urkmez Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good hotel, but cold in winter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Excellent location, we arrived by train and it's not more than 10 minutes easy walk in a quiet town. Hotel is up a flight of stairs and there is no lift, this may present a problem if you have a heavy suitcase or a lot of luggage. The staff will help though without complaint.
Room was nice a clean, the shower was a bit temperamental and tended to be difficult to get to the right temperature. The furniture/decoration in the room was a bit mis-matched, they seemed to have raided Ikea for most pieces but it was in good condition overall.
Breakfast was on the terrace, it was too cold when we were there to enjoy but nevertheless was very pleasant. If I would stay in Selcuk again I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbo_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    197
    41
    13
    2
See reviews for
72
241
41
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed two nights at this delightful hotel. Jimmy and staff went out of their way to help us with bus timetables and an extra side table and light for our room. The rooftop area has a great view and good breakfast, can also watch a film up there if you want (they have a few DVDs). Their lounge is welcoming with books on the local area and even magazines in English. We asked for a room with a balcony which was nice to sit on in the sunshine. Have to run the shower for quite sometime for hot water - pretty basic bathroom. Beds comfortable, new pillows. Location great and their restaurant next door was delightful with music on the night we were there (Fridays and Saturdays). Location was perfect, near the bus station, very central and quiet.

Room Tip: No elevator so first floor with balcony worked for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane10000000000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpls
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is a lovely place to end up after a day of touring the ruins. The staff was so very friendly and helpful . Jimmy and his brother were god sends to us after my husband got sick while we were there. They brought him special teas and foods to help him get over his stomach ailments. The room was clean with a great view of ancient ruins right outside our window. Breakfast was amazing served on the rooftop of the hotel. I would highly recommend this place and will return again. Thank you for the wonderful time. Barbara and Bob

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Jimmy and his staff could not have been more obliging and helpful.Granted, rooms are not large and elaborately furnished but are comfortable and bathrooms are really small and we did have a bit of a jiggle to get the shower temperature right, but all were in keeping with price paid. This establishment is very central and breakfast is really tasty and sufficient to keep you going for the day. They have a sister restaurant, Cabare, where the Turkish homemade meals are a MUST.
This hotel is not for those who are physically impaired, the elderly or those with young children as the marble staircase is a steep spiral.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virignia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Our first night at Urkmez was unfortunately bad; first off the shower was either very hot or cold; warm water was hard to maintain so we had to resort to military style shower. The shower had no curtain or shower door so the entire bathroom was wet after every shower. Then we found out there was only one blanket in our twin room, it was around 2am and there was nobody at the front desk even after we rang the bell, one of us had to wear her winter jacket to bed. We found out later that the hotel owners were aware of the shower issue and already have plan to address them.
The breakfast on the terrace was nice and sufficient.
Our biggest gripes were actually with the bus ticket to Fethiye that the hotel helped arranged through travel agency, we were charged 30 TL per person for the slowest bus instead of an express bus from Pemukkale to Fethiye, the tortorous journey took 4.5 hours with the bus picking up and dropping off passengers into villages via dirt roads, the bus even delivered five big bags of meat along the way. When I asked for more details regarding the bus, the hotel assured us not to worry as they do this everyday. :(
I would also advise against booking tours through the hotel if shopping stops are not your cup of tea, our Ephesus tour guide was rushing through the afternoon itinerary to make time for a leather shop and a carpet shop visits. There are tours available online with the same price without shopping stops.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KaiWap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cune8, Manager at Urkmez Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
We apologise for your experience. Not much buses to Fethiye available in the off season.
We have total 2 travel agency in Selcuk. They arrange one by one daily tour to Pamukkale.
I arranged Pamukkale Tour and Bus ticket from same agency so they should drop you to Denizli Bus Station after the tour. I didnt hear any bad experience before so I will take care for our future Guests. We are starting to make our winter renovation next week.
Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Urkmez is a great place for couples or visitors traveling alone, i wouldn't recommend the hotel for families so much, reasons are its a very quite place and a lot of stairs which would not be so safe for young children. there is no entertainment in the room apart from a TV ( all in Turkish of course). the breakfast in the morning is great, a range of food, some European, some Turkish all fresh and tastes great. the staff are always willing to help and provide transport. the rooms are lovely, clean and furnished well. the location of the hotel is great, its right in the center, at night the streets are mostly quite at night so although it hotel is in the center i wasn't disturbed by noise at all. with the hotels being in the center its safe and easy to find at night.

all round a great place to stay when visiting selcuk

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 18kate1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Urkmez was an excellent choice for our stay in Selçuk. The location was central and only a couple of minutes walk from the station and about 5 minutes from the bus station. The helpful and friendly nature of the staff could not be faulted. O.K. the rooms are a little on the small side and the same for the bathroom but this did not detract from the overall experience. This is a great choice for a base in which to explore the area, and is great value for money. If you want to pay a little more, the family that own the Urkmez also have the Ephesus Suites which are roomier.

Room Tip: The comfort rooms facing the Basilica are the better bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HenryWorthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#8 of 28 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 stars 747 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ayasoluk Hotel
Ayasoluk Hotel
#2 of 28 in Selcuk
5.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nazar
Hotel Nazar
#3 of 28 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 stars 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nilya
Hotel Nilya
#5 of 28 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Artemis Hotel
Artemis Hotel
#9 of 28 in Selcuk
4.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nur Pension
Nur Pension
#13 of 28 in Selcuk
4.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urkmez Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urkmez Hotel

Property: Urkmez Hotel
Address: Namik Kemal Cad. No 20, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#6 Family Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Urkmez Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freshly renovated in 2012! We have a great central location; within metres from the bus and train stations, banks, restaurants, shopping centres and just a few minutes drive from the biggest Aquapark in Europe. All rooms has ensuite and A/C. Full Breakfast Buffet (incl. musli, seasonal fruits, egg, cake, orange juice, filter coffee...) is served on the terrace, included in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Urkmez Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urkmez Hotel Selcuk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing