We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Managers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Urkmez Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Urkmez Hotel
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
brisbane, australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Managers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

After many hours flying from Madrid, it was a pleasure to check in to such friendly and comfortable hotel as managed by Cem & Cuneyt. The room had a balcony which was great. The a.c. worked well. Hair dryer was good. Towels need replacing but overall a good experience. Only concern is the lack of a fire stair or any other way apart from the very steep stairway to get out of the building in a hurry. Would not recommend for older travellers as the stairs are tight. We believe the owner wants to sell, so hope the current managers stay on as without them, it wouldn't rate nearly this well. Cuneyt drove us to the otogar in his own car when we left and they certainly made Aussie feel at home - maybe because he has an Aussie wife and is so familiar with Melbourne and Australia and can give you plenty of on-ward tips.

Room Tip: older folk should perhaps ask for a lower floor room, but you still have to climb up to the roof ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jusjuly07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    201
    42
    14
    2
See reviews for
73
247
43
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, NE
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Such a great place to stay! we were met at our car in the auto park as they saw us arrive, and helped us with our one small bag.. actually joked and asked if we had been robbed since we had so little luggage! Our room was very nice, clean, faced the street with a balcony. The staff was incredible.. always asking how they could help or if we needed anything. The breakfast the next day was very good. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank midwestrlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

This is a small hotel very close to the ancient aqueducts in Selcuk (the free parking is right around the aqueducts). The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are basic, but well lit, airy, and clean. The TV didn't work while we were there. Wifi worked well. The staff arranged to have our laundry done (same day service, 15 TL per load). Breakfast was on the rooftop terrace - basic Turkish buffet with eggs, salad, olives, cheese, and fruit. There are no elevators, just a spiral staircase. The location is good - right in the middle of the town - but if you are driving, it can be tricky to get to, because of all of the one way streets. Just get yourself to the aqueducts, park in that lot or on the side of the street, and then walk to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trippinfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Overall a very good hotel - extremely helpful and friendly staff; breakfast (Turkish) was good. We had a nice view of Selcuk from our room and we enjoyed every moment of our stay there. The water in the shower was a little weak at times and the hotel had long stairs which could be a problem for older travellers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamish K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed at the Urkmez in 2008 and returned for this vacation stop. Our room (201) was adequate sized for two adults. 201 is on the front overlooking the ancient aqueduct where storks have nest--the young were just learning to fly (early July).

Rooms clean, bathrooms small but clean. Some TA reviews were critical of the breakfast last year--Cem and Juju obviously read them, and the breakfast was very good. Turkish, of course (no pancakes and sausage!) but the fruit was fresh and cold, the bread/rolls warm and fresh, cheeses chilled and multiple types, plus the ever-present olives--two types and scrumptious. Coffee was American "brewed", not instant, and served fresh and hot. Eating on the top terrace was quite nice and we could see the stork nests as well as the superb view across the town to the castle on the hill.

Are there fancier hotels in Selcuk? Yes, but we found that the personal attention of Cem and Juju, the location and the price made the Urkmez a good choice for us.

Room Tip: The hotel has a street on both the front and back.. The front street has some cars and the ubiquitou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hautevue61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

My wife and I had a pleasant 3 day stay. We were well looked after and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. We were given a comfortable room, with a small balcony and the breakfasts up on the terrace were more than adequate. Ideal positition, being close to shops, restaurants and transport

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ohopejoe70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed one night in July with my family. All staff really welcoming and helpful. Double room with balcony was clean and perfect for the price. Breakfast on roof terrace was good despite our rush to Ephesus. Useful central location, about 100m to station and taxi's came within 2 minutes of request. Staff excellent at helping arrange anything and good email correspondance. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fish2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nazar
Hotel Nazar
#3 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ayasoluk Hotel
Ayasoluk Hotel
#2 of 32 in Selcuk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#8 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nur Pension
Nur Pension
#16 of 32 in Selcuk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Livia Hotel Ephesus
Livia Hotel Ephesus
#13 of 32 in Selcuk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nilya
Hotel Nilya
#6 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urkmez Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urkmez Hotel

Property: Urkmez Hotel
Address: Ataturk Mahallesi, Namik Kemal Cad. No: 20, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Selcuk
#5 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#6 Family Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Urkmez Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freshly renovated in 2012! We have a great central location; within metres from the bus and train stations, banks, restaurants, shopping centres and just a few minutes drive from the biggest Aquapark in Europe. All rooms has ensuite and A/C. Full Breakfast Buffet (incl. musli, seasonal fruits, egg, cake, orange juice, filter coffee...) is served on the terrace, included in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Urkmez Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urkmez Hotel Selcuk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing