We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Finally here” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Temple of Artemis (Artemision)

The Temple of Artemis (Artemision)
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Ephesus and Artemis Private Tour from Kusadasi
Ranked #23 of 55 things to do in Selcuk
Attraction details
California
Level Contributor
568 reviews
326 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Finally here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

For some reasons our guide did not bring us here the last time we were in Ephesus. Coming here the second time and had a 10-minute stop was good enough for me to check off one more item on my list. We were warned by our guide of the gypsies trying to sell postcards and books in the area. They were very pushy and when the deal failed their language can be pretty harsh. Just ignore them and walk away.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ROCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    131
    247
    108
    35
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
111 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Eh. But if you have time...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Good place to reflect upon how all of our major architectural achievements may well some day be just a reconstructed pillar in the middle of a depression half-filled with water with a burgeoning frog population. The poem "Ozymandias" comes to mind - all glory is fleeting. If you're in Selcuk and have 30 minutes to fill, stop by - especially if ticking off the ancient Wonders of the World. We knew, having seen a video piece on it, that the place was a shadow of a shadow of its former self. Doesn't stop the guys in the parking lot from trying to sell you postcards and guidebooks, though.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth a quick stop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

There is only one column still standing from this great structure, but it is worth the stop along you way to another location. Cool to stand in the area and imagine what was once there. Takes no more than 5-10 minutes to visit the site.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kerry f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
458 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Not much to see”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

The Temple of Artemis sight, though once it may have been a wonder of the ancient world, today stands as nothing more than a few scattered rocks with a solo column in the middle. Nothing special or noteworthy to see whatsoever. It is however only a 15 minute walk from Ephesus so either before or after Ephesus you can simply walk across the street from Ephesus in the direction of Selçuk and visit it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hassan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sadly decayed but magnificent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Very little remains of this site, actually one of the 7 Wonders of the Ancient World. It's only when you get onto the hill nearby that you realise that before the silting of the Ephesus Harbour, this would have been a breathtaking site, by a sacred spring with a view of the bay. The entrance has been placed on the main road but you can see that the main entrance was probably in the town on the opposite side (a much shorter walk but more difficult for coaches). The ruins are in a sad state of decay and I could only wish that effort and time had been spent here as for the Crusader Castle on the hill. However, I have every sympathy with the Turkish Government as there are so many ancient sites that preserving even a small number of them must be almost impossible. I am full of admiration for what has been done at other locations. The work continues.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Temple of Artemis (Artemision) also viewed

Selcuk, Izmir Province
 
Selcuk, Izmir Province
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 

Been to The Temple of Artemis (Artemision)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing