We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tragic beauty”

The Temple of Artemis (Artemision)
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Ephesus and Artemis Private Tour from Kusadasi
Ranked #23 of 55 things to do in Selcuk
Attraction details
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tragic beauty”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

When you go see the temple (and if you are in Selcuk, you will) make sure you take the time to wander around the whole site and don't just take photos from the car park like the coach tourists! Settle down and watch the local stray cats play in what was a wonder of the ancient world.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank VelvetPresley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    136
    252
    112
    35
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

nothing much remained on the site other than one single standing pillar. all you have to do is imagination, not at all maintained well.. :(

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aniruddha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
95 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Not much left of it, but should see”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Not much left but go see it anyways to say you have. Just one column is left. This is a short walk from the Basilica of St. John.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank emis100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
342 reviews
169 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
“Look beyond...”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Go with a knowledgeable guide who can explain this site well and allow you to look beyond the single surviving pillar. Our guide used a book that had a depiction of what the Artemision looked like in its heyday.

We were on a private tour and when we arrived at the site, there were no tour buses around; only four other tourists who left shortly after. I walked down the embankment and stood next to the pillar and enjoyed a few moments of peace and quiet, imagining what this place was like millenia ago. A tour bus pulled up as I was walking back up the hill, and so ended my moments of reflection.

Our guide pointed out that on this one area, you can see and take a photo of structures from three major religions: Temple of Artemis (pagan), Isabey Camii (Islam), and St. John's Basilica (Christianity).

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CCC_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Keep Moving! Nothing to see here folks”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Our tour stopped her; thankfully for just 5 minutes. It's a ruin with just a few fallen pillars. If on your own, I recommend avoiding.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TandemCyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Temple of Artemis (Artemision) also viewed

Selcuk, Izmir Province
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 

Been to The Temple of Artemis (Artemision)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing