We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with delicious food”
Review of Hotel Kalehan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kalehan
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Selcuk
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We spent spent 2 nights in this wonderful older hotel in Selcuk when visiting the area with an educational tour. It's close to Ephesus and other sites in this area and is right on the edge of town so it's easy to walk to anywhere in Selcuk. It's clean and affordable with a nice restaurant. We had breakfast and dinner included in our stay and the food was incredible with excellent service. They have a nice pool and outdoor seating area. I highly recommend this place when visiting this part of Turkey.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hakan O, Ön Büro Müdürü at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear our Guest,

Thank you very much for your reviews of our hotel. We were glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Your thoughts will encourage us to do better in our business. This will make us continue for sure on our way of what we have been doing constantly. We do hope to be able to welcome you back in our hotel.

Best regards,
Hakan Ozdemirci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 450 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

We found this hotel by chance. You can walk to the local ruins, St John's basilica and a local wooden mosque. But the greatest feature is the gorgeous rose garden with 10 adult tortoises and 6 babies in the garden. The food in the restaurant was good, especially recommend the spagetti with tomatoe sauce and cheese. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheCanadianGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hakan O, Ön Büro Müdürü at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear our Guest,

Thank you very much for your reviews of our hotel by sharing here. We are glad that we could provide a nice stay for you along with our little cute turtles and their babies. Also the restaurant served you the delicious meals as you pointed out as a recommendation. We would be delighted to welcome you back in our hotel again.

Best regards,
Hakan Ozdemirci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed two nights in this quaint place. The staff were delightful and made us feel comfortable. It was a respite from some of the very big places we'd stayed earlier in the trip. The rooms are small. The shower was absolutely tiny - a part of the coziness I guess. We enjoyed using the common area on our floor for some group games after dinner and for yoga each morning. Speaking of dinner, it was wonderful to have a dinner meal that was not a buffet. The food was terrific and plentiful. It was a little awkward as the vegetarian members of our group had difficulty getting their needs met. The internet is strong and really fast - what a treat after poor internet at other properties. One of the really fun things is that this hotel is located just a few interesting blocks walk from several pedestrian shopping streets. We had a good time here and definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Consultcinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hakan O, Ön Büro Müdürü at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear our Guest,

Thank you very much for your reviews about our hotel. We appreciate your efforts to mention of your experiences here. Since our hotel was built in 1980 the standards have been already changed and we have been carrying a typical look of old times but we do provide the best service for our guests as you also experienced. It was also nice to know that you were able to do Yoga with your friends. And we think there must be some misunderstanding about the vegetarian food because we can cook any kind of food in our kitchen when needed. We would be glad to welcome you back in our hotel again.

Best regards,
Hakan Ozdemirci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Love this place and stay whenever I'm in Selcuk. Great atmosphere and owned and staffed by lovely, lovely people. So much nicer than staying in some soul-less hotel, this hotel is a treat and never fails to please. Don't miss the experience if you want something a bit different.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hakan O, Ön Büro Müdürü at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear our Guest Andy W.,

Thank you very much for your sincere and kind words of our hotel. We appreciate your thoughts and we do hope to keep our service as much as good that you experienced. It would be very nice to welcome you back here again in our hotel.

Best regards,
Hakan Ozdemirci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed int the Kalehan Otel, Selçuk after visiting the impressive antique city of Ephesus. Before dinner we sipped a glass or two of wine in the magnificent rose garden. Our flight from Izmir airport to Hamburg left very early in the morning and staying at the Kalehan made it much easier to reach the airport in time as the distance is only about 50 km and takes approx. 45 minutes. The service in the hotel was excellent. Breakfast was perepared and ready and waiting for us at 3:30 am, served with a smile by a waiter and the night porter. The beds were comfortable and the shower powerful and hot.Only the shower curtain was just a little bit too small for the cubicle so that a wet floor could not be avoided. Definitely would stay there again, perhaps for more than one night!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ameleat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hakan O, Ön Büro Müdürü at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear our Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice reviews of our hotel. Your expressions about your stay show us we are on the right way of serving to our guests. So we look forward to welcoming you in our hotel to let you have the highest service that we have to offer.

Best regards,
Hakan Ozdemirci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Definitely, if I go back to visit Seljuk, I will stay again in Hotel Kalehan!!. With its old world vintage charm yet cozy ambiance, very accommodating and helpful staff : from the Manager Mehmet, to our guide Seda, to everyone who made sure that we will be comfortable and happy, thank you. When we requested something, they immediately acted on it and made our whole stay pleasant. From the time they got us from the airport, we were welcomed warmly and made to feel at home when we arrived. The arranged sight seeing trips from Ephesus, Pammukale, to Priene, to Miletus and Didima, were made with such care and attention that I thoroughly enjoyed everything , and the price is very reasonable and almost a gift from a family friend (they are that friendly :-). The buffet breakfast is very varied and filling and very tasty . Thank you for this home away from home in Seljuk...

Room Tip: Rooms with a garden view are perfect for me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hakan O, Ön Büro Müdürü at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear our Guest,

We are so glad to see your happiness and sincere words after your stay in our hotel. You name our hotel as your home while abroad and this made us very proud of having such complimentary. We would be delighted to welcome you back in our hotel again.

Best regards,
Hakan Ozdemirci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

What a lovely quiet hideaway hotel. Although on the main road this place is an oasis of peace.The rooms are large, pleasant and clean with all one needed for a few days stay.As an older person I found the beds were superbly comfortable. The staff were truly so helpful in every aspect particularly Abidin, Hakan and receptionist Seda.It is easy walking to the town centre where the local buses can take you anywhere.The breakfast foods were plentiful and a varied choice was offered. In warmer weather the swimming pool and gardens would be a pleasant place to spend time.Overall I would stay there again should I ever come this way again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldtarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hakan O, Ön Büro Müdürü at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear our Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind reviews of our hotel. Your sincere thoughts made us very happy and we believe in you completely had the optimum level of comfort and peace during your stay. We all send our warm greetings to you and look forward to be able to welcoming you again.

Best regards,
Hakan Ozdemirci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.3 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#6 of 34 in Selcuk
530 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ayasoluk Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Ephesus Palace
Ephesus Palace
#8 of 34 in Selcuk
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Livia Hotel Ephesus
Livia Hotel Ephesus
#9 of 34 in Selcuk
51 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ephesus Hillside
Ephesus Hillside
#16 of 34 in Selcuk
10 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#11 of 34 in Selcuk
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kalehan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kalehan

Address: Ataturk Cad No: 98, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Selcuk
#8 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range: $52 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kalehan 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 46 rooms, pool & rose garden with a nice restaurant inside our property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Kalehan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalehan Hotel Selcuk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing