We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly but dated”
Review of Hotel Kalehan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kalehan
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Selcuk
Springfield, VA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Friendly but dated”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel two nights, arriving the first night at almost 1:00 a.m. after our late flight. The desk staff was very courteous and helpful. The room (the Ephesus Room) was clean for the most part, if you didn't look too closely at the shower and bathroom. The pool is a lovely area to sit and relax with a bar right there and another inside. Breakfasts were sub-par compared to other places we stayed in Turkey. Location is good with the main part of town walkable which is where we went to get an excellent meal the second evening. Our stay was arranged through our tour agency and I was surprised to see on the web how expensive these rooms were.

Room Tip: Try for the first floor facing the rose garden and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 700Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hakan O, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear our valued Guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel here. Believing the stay you had in our hotel was nice and enjoyable according what you just expressed made also glad all of us. Any experience made by our guests is priceless and encourage us to do better in time as long as reflect the sincere and right thoughts. We hope to welcome you in our hotel later again.

Best regards,
Hakan Ozdemirci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    157
    55
    21
    7
See reviews for
101
161
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
131 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Short term stay. Very close to Ephesus antic city.
Good breakfast, very good aqua park 15 minutes far from hotel. Sea not far 15 minutes from hotel.
There is big city castle surround the city. Lot of stork house you can see in the city.

Room Tip: Back side of the hotel away from main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orhan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hakan O, Ön Büro Müdürü at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear our valued Guest Orhan A.,

Thank you very much for your sincere reviews of our town and hotel. We wish you had a nice stay with us. We would be glad to see you in our hotel next time.

Best regards,
Hakan Ozdemirci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We spent three nights with Hotel Kalehan- it all began when their driver, the manager and another friend all came along to pick us up from the airport after midnight in Izmir. Three staff for two people! As it turned out my luggage was lost in transit, and the staff were extremely helpful in speaking to airport staff that night, as well as by phone over the next few days at the hotel- they managed to get my bag back to me just in time before leaving for Greece! Even if that hadn't happened though I would still be saying lots of great things about Kalehan- super friendly staff, beautiful grounds, great pool and restaurant, easy walk into town and walkable to Ephesus (3 or 4 kms but mostly shady). Thank you again to everyone at Kalehan!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hakan O, Ön Büro Müdürü at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear our valued Guest Luisa R,

Thank you very much for your kind reviews of our hotel. We were glad for helping to find your lost bag and to reach to you before your departure. We wish you have a hassle free journey on your next trip.

Best regards,
Hakan Ozdemirci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fitzroy, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The good - staff and service generally, which was friendly and helpful; the food, which was very nice, good variety at breakfast; the turtles, which were very cute!

The not so good - our room, which was dark and musty (large family room, immediately after crossing into the back half of the hotel-not part of the two main buildings); the inside dining area, which while characterful, was also rather musty and, at one breakfast, smelly (to the extent we took our food to the outside dining area).

I concede that it is quite possible that rooms in the two main buildings of the hotel are in better repair. Our room, however, seemed old and tired. Hence, our experience may not be representative and this review a bit harsh.

Room Tip: Avoid the stand-alone family room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hakan O, Ön Büro Müdürü at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear our valued Guest Neil M,

The room you have stayed in our hotel have been chosen by most of the families and provided with many positive feedback so far. We are sorry for your disliking.

The smell you mentioned in our breakfast saloon comes from its wooden nature but neither musty nor smelly.

Best regards,
Hakan Ozdemirci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a very enjoyable and memorable time in Selcuk. The staff at Hotel Kalehan were very friendly and helpful and I would like to make a special mention about Abidin, who made us feel very welcome and catered for our requirements. The domestic team created lots of designs with the hotels towels which included an elephant wearing my daughters glasses and my hat which we found very amusing. The rooms were very clean also. The food was excellent, the room was very comfortable and we loved relaxing with the turtle family in the garden.
The elderley lady (Paktrize?)selling her wares in the front garden was delightful, she was so happy and positive and it was lovely chatting to her about her wonderful embroidered designs.
My daughter, Emily and I would recommend this hotel to everyone, it had a lovely relaxing feel to it and we loved all the ornaments and pictures.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the garden which was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indigo388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hakan O, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear our valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice and sincere reviews of our hotel. We believe in your stay ended with very precious memories as you pointed out on your own words as well. We do hope all these will remind you in thinking to visit us again in future.

Best regards,
Hakan Ozdemirci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed at the Kalehan for two nights while on a tour and it was an oasis on our long journey.
The hotel itself is very kitschy, lots of found objects and antiques are interspersed with the furniture giving it a boutique hotel feel. The grounds were beautiful and well manicured. The gardens and pool were very serene and peaceful. The outside sounds did not intrude into the quiet atmosphere of the hotel. I felt like I was in a small B&B instead of a hotel in Turkey beside a main thoroughfare. Our group spent a lot of time in the pool and sipping drinks from the bar. Try the Kalehan drink. it is only 9 TL and very tasty.

The lobby had some comfortable seating areas and game boards to pass the time. The rooms were small but well appointed and modern. The shower was an issue though since it was a raised platform with only about a 2 inch lip above the floor to hold in the water and it often flooded the bathroom.

The staff and food were above and beyond any expectations. All of the staff were extremely friendly and made jokes and small talk with our group. The food was home cooked and extremely tasty. I wish we could have stayed here for a few more days.

Highly recommended....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islndgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hakan O, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear our valued Guest,

We are indeed thankful to your kind reviews here. We all enjoyed your presence here with your friends. We do hope to remain in the same way as you left with nice memories.

Best regards,
Hakan Ozdemirci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
232 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This charming hotel, composed of two old stony buildings separated by a rose garden and a pool, is a surprise oasis considering it is located on a main thouroughfare. The elderly lady selling her lace outside on the front porch gives you a hint of the character of the place.

Everything about the place is appealing: the warmth and care of Hakan, the general manager and his French wife, the whole staff, the mix of antique and old Turkish furniture and collectables, the turtles in the garden, the very welcomed and pleasant pool, the tiny boutique, the view at the back of the castle, etc etc.

Our room facing the garden on the third floor was rather small, modest and quaint but comfortable. The old style bathroom was also small but functional.

We stayed two nights, had two breakfasts, one lunch and two dinners. The dinning room area is very pleasant, breakfast is served buffet style and offers a good and varied choice. This is here that I discovered a Turkish delicacy: rose petal preserve on my toasts. Mmmmm.The lunch and dinner were served and all were excellent samplings of good Turkish specialities like a delicious tomato-lentils soup, the phyllo shaped cigars filled with cheese and spinach, the Turkish pizzas and the beef in tomato sauce on eggplant puree.

Overhall a hotel to remember, to recommand and go back to.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hakan O, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear our valued Guest,

We are indeed thankful for your reviews of our hotel. Such pleasant experiences you have had give us a smile on our face. What excites us also will do the same on people around you, we believe. Hoping to welcome you next time again in our hotel.

Best regards,
Hakan Ozdemirci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.6 mi away
Hitit Hotel
Hitit Hotel
#27 of 33 in Selcuk
3.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ayasoluk Hotel
Ayasoluk Hotel
#2 of 33 in Selcuk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#7 of 33 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nazar
Hotel Nazar
#5 of 33 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#8 of 33 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Akay
Hotel Akay
#19 of 33 in Selcuk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kalehan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kalehan

Property: Hotel Kalehan
Address: Ataturk Cad 57, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Selcuk
#8 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kalehan 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 46 rooms, pool & rose garden with a nice restaurant inside our property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kalehan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalehan Hotel Selcuk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing