We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Kalehan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kalehan
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Selcuk
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Lovely courtyard, flowers and trees in bloom. Room was nicely furnished and had windows that opened to the courtyard. The restaurant & breakfast were nice. Location is good if you are driving as it is right off the main road. On the negatives side - Creaky bed, dim bathroom, and a very slow drain.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hakan O, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear our valued Guest Chris N,

We thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We do hope to welcome you in our hotel later again and we will be fixing the issues you mentioned.

Best regards,
Hakan Ozdemirci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 452 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed at the Kalehan for two nights during a Turkeyvision Tour; I understand that this hotel is owned by that tour company (Turkeyvision/Koptur). The Kalehan has a comfortable, relaxed feel; it's far different from the other hotels on my tour. Staff, as already noted, are friendly and accommodating. My room was on the small side, but very clean and well appointed. The restaurant has large windows on three sides that have attractive views to landscaped grounds, and the food served there is quite good. The lobby area is cozy and has interesting artifacts and memorabilia on display.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hakan O, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear our valued Guest Henry D.,

We thank you very much for your reviews of our hotel. Our hotel that owned by family and runs by Koptur Tourism provides the best conditions to our valued guests always. We were all glad to have you and pleased of your accommodation. We wish to welcome you at another time on your next visit in Selcuk.

Best regards,
Hakan Ozdemirci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Kalehan for 2 nights as part of a 2 week Turkey vacation. We arranged transport pickup via the hotel and our car and driver were waiting when we arrived. When we pulled up to the hotel we were greeted by Mehmet, the head waiter who checked us in and showed us our room. We had a family connection room, 533 & 534 which were in the main building. The rooms are small but very clean. We were offered apple tea and juice for our kids ages 5&9 and Mehmet told the kids he had a surprise for them after our snack. Out in the courtyard they have a family of 15 turtles as well as pigeons. One of them is trained to do somersaults mid-flight and he showed our daughter how do to this. She loved it! We left to tour St Johns Basilica and Mehmet (the manager) - there are 2 Mehmets working here! Offered to drive us at no charge. We ate dinner in the restaurant and the food was delicious and the service was terrific. We hired a guide from the hotel, Sadar, to show us Ephesus and she did a great job explaining things to us. They also offered to take us to a pottery factory which we did and bought gorgeous handmade quartz bowls at half price. Mehmet also offered to show us Sirinche again at no cost and we spent an hour looking around and then enjoying apple tea. The service we experienced is the best we have had and we are fortunate to travel a lot. We felt a part of the family here and it really made our stay memorable. Hakan the office manager also booked our onward flights for us. I would recommend this hotel as the service and people are exceptional. Thank you to all the staff!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JLandMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hakan O, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear our valued Guest JLandMike,

We are so glad to have you here even if it was for 2 nights. As you showed your happiness and kindness on your review we are pleasured of our service that has been continuing on a stable and improving way. We will do our best to do more. Hopping to welcome you at another time in our hotel.

Best regards,
Hakan OZDEMIRCI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Not much to add to other reviews except a story - we were leaving this AM via train. Given that it was raining, one of the staff was kind enough to drive us a few blocks to the station to keep us dry at no extra charge. Very kind!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jumpniner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hakan O, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear our valued Guest,

We also thank you for your kind feed back. We do our best for our guests as much as we can. We hope to welcome you in our hotel in future as well.

Best regards,
Hakan OZDEMIRCI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Our fırst vısıt ın Turkey ın the Selçuk. The Hotel ıs very good. Staff ıs good and polıte.The locatıon ıs good nearby the donwtown. The breakfast ıs good wıth tıpıcal foods and many optıons. You have the ınternet free ın saloon ın the rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shellma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hakan O, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear our valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are indeed glad to let you accommodated in comfort and happily. Hope to be able to welcome you at another time in our hotel.

Best regards,
Hakan OZDEMIRCI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I've stayed at the Kalehan three times with my college students; the staff is wonderful--helpful and friendly; the place is funky--if you want Holiday Inn this isn't your place; very clean great beds; very good food (the chef is fairly new); I have never stayed during the summer so I don't know about the AC but the internet is greatly improved in 2013 since my stay in 2011 (when it really worked only in the lobby); lots of atmosphere in a great location with a lovely staff!

Room Tip: I've stayed in the "main house" and the large annex--both were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jejoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hakan O, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear our valued Guest,

We are delighted to have your nice reviews of our hotel. We will be adding new touches every year and every season as you also witnessed. If you visit Selcuk in summer time it will be totally different experience we believe and then you will be enjoying the pool & garden's refreshing atmosphere.

Best regards,
Hakan OZDEMIRCI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We recently spent 5 days and 4 nights in Selchuk, Turkey at the hotel Kalehan. The first night we stayed in a room with 3 beds since our son was with us. The extra bed was took up a lot of space and was nothing more than a cot. We asked to switch rooms and the next 3 nights were much more enjoyable where we had two adjoins rooms and a shared bath. The only complaint we had after the first night was the fact that we could not adjust the room temperature and it was too warm. The lobby area has a nice fireplace seating area that we enjoyed and the hotel restaurant was very good. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: See the room before you accept it as there is considerable variation between rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dandjhelscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hakan O, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear our Valued Guest DANDJHELSCHER,

Thank you very much for sharing your reviews here. We were also glad to accommodate you in our hotel and made feel like your home. In those cold days we have kept the rooms always warm enough so this caused somehow a complaint to you. But as you mentioned here; we provided nice conditions and atmosphere for your family.

We hope to see you later in summer time to experience the nice garden with roses and many more.

Best regards,
Hakan OZDEMIRCI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.4 mi away
Ayasoluk Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Livia Hotel Ephesus
Livia Hotel Ephesus
#6 of 34 in Selcuk
58 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ephesus Palace
Ephesus Palace
#13 of 34 in Selcuk
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ephesus Hillside
Ephesus Hillside
#15 of 34 in Selcuk
10 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nea Efessos Hotel
Nea Efessos Hotel
#7 of 34 in Selcuk
54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#8 of 34 in Selcuk
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kalehan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kalehan

Address: Ataturk Cad No: 98, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Selcuk
#8 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range: $57 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kalehan 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 46 rooms, pool & rose garden with a nice restaurant inside our property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Kalehan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalehan Hotel Selcuk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing