We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable relaxing stay”
Review of Hotel Kalehan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kalehan
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Selcuk
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We recently spent 5 days and 4 nights in Selchuk, Turkey at the hotel Kalehan. The first night we stayed in a room with 3 beds since our son was with us. The extra bed was took up a lot of space and was nothing more than a cot. We asked to switch rooms and the next 3 nights were much more enjoyable where we had two adjoins rooms and a shared bath. The only complaint we had after the first night was the fact that we could not adjust the room temperature and it was too warm. The lobby area has a nice fireplace seating area that we enjoyed and the hotel restaurant was very good. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: See the room before you accept it as there is considerable variation between rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dandjhelscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hakan O, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear our Valued Guest DANDJHELSCHER,

Thank you very much for sharing your reviews here. We were also glad to accommodate you in our hotel and made feel like your home. In those cold days we have kept the rooms always warm enough so this caused somehow a complaint to you. But as you mentioned here; we provided nice conditions and atmosphere for your family.

We hope to see you later in summer time to experience the nice garden with roses and many more.

Best regards,
Hakan OZDEMIRCI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 452 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

We're stayed here three nights and loved the warm, cozy atmosphere (fires burning in the small lobby and in the dining room) and the friendly, helpful staff. There is a computer available for guest use, and a book case with some novels and travel books. We were so impressed by the kitchen that we ate dinner there every night, trying various lamb, beef, and fish dishes -- all excellently prepared. The hotel is on the edge of Selcuk, but don't let that deter you. It's only a 10-min walk to the bus station, less than that to the train station, and just a couple of blocks from the hamam. The breakfast is substantial, and there is a grocery story just across the street if you want to buy some snack food to picnic on in Ephesus.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beverly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hakan O, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear our Valued Guest,

We thank you very much for your reviews. We have been very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have been still having the same cosy fire in the lobby and restaurant. We wish to welcome you next time in summer and enjoy the rose garden and pool with their refreshing ambiance.

Best regards,
Hakan OZDEMIRCI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Initially, we booked another hotel in Selcuk. I won't name it because the first place wasn't a terrible hotel, but we had an incident that bothered my husband too much to stay there after the first night. So we looked at just about every hotel in Selcuk in person to pick another onebecause we had two more nights to spend there and after a bad experience, my husband was feeling choosy. We came across the Kalehan and were impressed. It was double the price of the first hotel, but it was a serious upgrade. What a fantastic hotel this turned out to be.

The bedroom was large and very comfortable and spotlessly clean with a beautiful view of the back pool area. The grounds were gorgeous -- I can't state this enough, filled with beautiful landscaping and outdoor dining by candlelight on the back lawn patio, the tables far apart enough to offer privacy, so this was quite romantic, along with all of these tiny cats that would come by the tables (this was charming; they weren't a nuisance at all and weren't scrappy cats but all very darling, and yes, they charmed me into feeding them bits of my fish which made for a sweet memory). Dinner was good. The staff was totally professional and very attentive to our every need, going out of their way to accommodate us, assisting us with car rental confirmations that we couldn't tackle over the phone since the agency was Turkish speaking only. I felt it was run with high European standards of courtesy.

In the back is a pool that is small but just perfect since it gets hot in Selcuk. There's a changing room, it's clean, it was not overcrowded, flowers hung everywhere and scented the air. It's not a lap pool, but it was just right. One day, it must have been 110 (F).

The location is right downtown on the main road, a bit away from any hubbub, and walking into town is a matter of minutes only.

There was so much outstanding about the Hotel Kalahan that I could rave about, but the breakfast blew me away. It was included in the price, and it was a Turkish-style kahvalti buffet, but what a buffet! There must have been a hundred choices to select from, including homemade jams, fresh and local pastries and breads, and all of the rest of a good kahvalti done to the hilt, in a breakfast room that looked like it was out of an opulent old film, filled with antiques. Such ambiance.

So we felt that this was a sumptuous experience and would strongly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aqusite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hakan O, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear our Valued Guest,

We appreciate your reviews here a lot. This made us very glad and willingly to work harder for our guests' comfort. We do hope to see you once in winter time to enjoy the fire place in our lobby next time.

Best regards,
Hakan OZDEMIRCI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed a night at Kalahen when visiting Ephesus ruins. Very impressed by the warm hospitality of the staff . They had a cozy fireplace where you can unwind after a long day visiting the ruins and warm tea , coffee and desserts were always available to enjoy as you think about all the sights of the day. The room we stayed in was a little small but had a historical charm that made it very interesting. The towels were artistically folded with rose petals mixed in . The breakfast spread in the owning was good and fulfilling. Overall a great choice for the location which is right off the Main Street in Selcuk and close to the Efes ruins and the warm hospitality of the staff. Rooms are small but quaint and we didn't mind the size for staying in one day while visiting the area. Good job by the staff !!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank asin101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hakan O, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear our valued Guest,

Your comments were nice to share with all of us here. Thank you very much. We would be glad to see you next time in our hotel. We all wish you a very happy new year.

Best regards,
Hakan OZDEMIRCI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Food was real good(especially dinner! Very satisfied. ) and people are kind and friendly. Room was very cozy and nice.
You'll get a surprise gift when leaving the hotel.
But watertap of shower and toilet flushing were not strong enough. And room wifi signal was weak but it depends on the room.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yoonping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hakan O, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear our valued Guest,

We thank you for sharing your comments with us here. We are also delighted to have you in comfort while on your stay. We will fix the issues that you mention. We look forward to seeing you once again in our hotel in future.

Best regards,
Hakan OZDEMIRCI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

What a charming hotel! The service staff is friendly and most helpful. The rooms and public areas are well decorated. The breakfast is absolutely delicious. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here, and would love to return for another visit soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hakan O, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Dear our valued Guest,

It was our happiness to see your appreciation of our hotel. We all send our warmest greetings and Merry Christmas wishes. We do hope to welcome you later in our hotel.

Best regards,
Hakan OZDEMIRCI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We have been to Kalehan Hotel in Selcuk, İzmir, in Fall. The town was warm and sunny, and the hotel was lovely. The rooms have an elegant rustic design and the whole hotel with its garden and architecture is very pleasing. The food is excellent too.

Overall, the visit was a very nice experience for us!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meryem A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hakan O, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear our valued Guest,

We thank you very much for your comments to our hotel. Your sincere comments will provide us to do better in future. We hope to welcome you in our hotel on your next trip to Selcuk.

Best regards,
Hakan OZDEMIRCI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.4 mi away
Ayasoluk Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Livia Hotel Ephesus
Livia Hotel Ephesus
#6 of 34 in Selcuk
58 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ephesus Palace
Ephesus Palace
#13 of 34 in Selcuk
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ephesus Hillside
Ephesus Hillside
#15 of 34 in Selcuk
10 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nea Efessos Hotel
Nea Efessos Hotel
#7 of 34 in Selcuk
54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#8 of 34 in Selcuk
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kalehan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kalehan

Address: Ataturk Cad No: 98, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Selcuk
#8 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range: $57 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kalehan 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 46 rooms, pool & rose garden with a nice restaurant inside our property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Kalehan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalehan Hotel Selcuk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing