We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming hotel with friendly helpful staff”
Review of Hotel Kalehan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kalehan
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Selcuk
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights, sharing a twin room with a travelling friend. The room was spacious with plenty of room for 2 women and had extra wide very comfortable beds, for a good nights sleep after our long days travelling then at Ephesus and Sirince nearby. Shower was great, powerful with plenty of hot water. The breakfast had plenty of variety, buffet style, with filter coffee and tea. We chose to eat at a local restaurant, for local priced Turkish food, in the evening although the hotel also seemed to have a varied menu for those who chose to eat in. The gardens were delightful, with a pool for cooling off, and various areas to sit and relax.

Room Tip: book in advance and specify a room away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Turkuazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hakan O, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear our valued Guest,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We will be adding better conditions in our hotel. Hope to accommodate you later again.

Best regards,
Hakan OZDEMIRCI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 450 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

Selcuk and the Kalehan were perfect choices for Ephesus. It's pretty much the closest town and good for getting a jump on the buses heading into the ruins. The hotel is an easy walk from a charming downtown area complete with a supermarket, restaurants, aqueduct ruins, and lots of friendly cats. It's also an easy walk to St. John's Basilica so you can do it on your own instead of with a tour guide. There's also a medieval looking castle on the hill overlooking the town. Selcuk is relatively quiet and uncrowded which was a pleasant change.

The room we had was a Double Superior and it was spacious, had a desk and 2 chairs, a refrigerator, and a coffee and tea maker. We had a window overlooking a rose garden. The bed was comfortable and both sides had reading lights.

Both breakfast and dinner were included. The breakfast was adequate, but nothing exciting. The dinners were full course and way too much food for us. The soups were consistently good, but the entrees varied. There was a dessert buffet as the final course.

One of the front desk staff men spoke excellent English and was very helpful. He provided a very useful map of Selcuk and helped with phone calls to our tour company. The other person we dealt with was less friendly and had a little bit harder time with English.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for one on the top level. Our floorboards squeaked so much, it would have been awful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyWob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hakan O, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear our valued Guest,

We are delighted to have your reviews here. We understand you both enjoyed your stay in our Hotel and Selcuk. We have been glad to know this. Your reviews also gave us the chance to do for more. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,
Hakan OZDEMIRCI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The hotel, while in a nice area and quaint and having a nice pool, gave us a pokey little room and we had no hot water for 2 days. Only when we threw some serious scenes did they move us to a decent room which had hot water. Generally - food was good ( breakfast) dinner was overpriced. Room was overpriced. Many better and more reasonable pensions in the city.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beemer535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hakan O, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear our valued Guest C L,
We are indeed sorry for what you experienced in our hotel. Although we provided a standard room upon your agency's reservation which has no overpriced at all as you guess the price on that board standing at the door we on the second night upgraded your room to a Superior Room with no extra charge.

We always do the best for our guests' comfort and to let them feel like home.

The room you stayed at and all the other rooms have everytime hot water and good enough pressure. There has never complaint before and after you about hot water in the room you stayed at first night. We were also sad that how you reacted about the room size while the other guests amazed at reception desk.

We do hope to welcome you at another time and provide you a better stay in our hotel.
Best regards,
F.O.M. Hakan OZDEMIRCI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The design and style of the hotel are fitting with the aim to visit Ephesus... a bit antique-y, makes one feel like an archeologist from years ago.
Our room was a bit small but decent. It was in the back building so away from the highway, hence quiet. Bed comfortable and good water pressure. Breakfast was nothing to shout about but staff are friendly and helpful.
Free wifi was available but not in our room. Didn't use the pool but saw some tour group guests enjoying themselves after a day at Ephesus. Hotel seemed to be popular with tour groups.
It is not in the centre of Selcuk town... abt 15mins walk away. Felt safe walking a night after dinner in town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the building away from highway if you want to have some quiet. Not convenient for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kakijalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hakan O, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Dear our valued Guest Kakijalan,

Thank you very much for your reviews to our hotel. We would be glad to assist you regarding wifi issue you have had in your room upon your call or notification. Since these devices needs to be resetted from some time to time, this kind of disconnections might be possible.

We have both individuals staying in our hotel and sometimes agencies book rooms for their guests.

We have also double glazed windows in the front main building and these prevent most of the noise to get into the rooms.

We have our own wheel chair and handles in one of the bathrooms for people having disabilities.

Best regards,
F.O.M. Hakan OZDEMIRCI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed 4 days at Hotel Kalehan and really enjoyed it. As other reviews have said, it is a nice hotel in a good location. It is a good sized hotel with a few different buildings around a grassy courtyard and rose garden. There are lots of nice places to sit after touring all day, and the pool is refreshing and lots of choices of places to sit around the pool. There are some resident cats, tortoises, and doves which are very charming. We ate at the hotel 2 nights and enjoyed the food and talking to the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharonbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hakan O, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear our valued Guest Sharonbar,
We thank you very much for your reviews of our hotel. We will be continuing our service in a better way.
Best regards,
F.O.M. Hakan OZDEMIRCI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We used this hotel as a base to visit Ephesus. It is 5 - 10 mins easy walk from the centre of Selkuk. The rooms were good and the pool area very pleasant. We ate in the hotel one night and walked into the town the next. Although the food in the hotel was good, I would recommend walking into town, as it is so much cheaper and there are lots of places to choose from. We got to the lower gate of Ephesus for 8.00am and had the place more or less to ourselves for an hour even in August, so the close location is good. Staff very friendly in hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hakan O, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear our valued Guest K Jays,
We thank you for your reviews for our hotel. We will keep our service as much as you liked in future as well.

Best regards,
F.O.M. Hakan OZDEMIRCI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had 2 rooms for us and 3 boys. We and enjoyed the convenient location close from Ephesus.
Arriving end of the afternoon we liked the refreshing pool and also decided to get dinner on location and the cook is traditional Turkish and good. We appreciated the nice and warm welcome, in French also.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank family h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hakan O, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kalehan, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear our valued Guest Family H,
We appreciate your reviews here about our hotel. We are glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay in our hotel with your family. We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards,
F.O.M. Hakan OZDEMIRCI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.3 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#6 of 34 in Selcuk
530 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ayasoluk Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Ephesus Palace
Ephesus Palace
#11 of 34 in Selcuk
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Livia Hotel Ephesus
Livia Hotel Ephesus
#8 of 34 in Selcuk
51 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ephesus Hillside
Ephesus Hillside
#16 of 34 in Selcuk
10 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#10 of 34 in Selcuk
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kalehan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kalehan

Address: Ataturk Cad No: 98, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Selcuk
#8 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range: $52 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kalehan 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 46 rooms, pool & rose garden with a nice restaurant inside our property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Kalehan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalehan Hotel Selcuk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing