We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home in Selcuk”
Review of Hotel Akay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Akay
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Selcuk
Reviewed March 15, 2010

This is an amazing, charming hotel in Selcuk close to Ephesus and all the wonderful historical sites of this region. The hotel was immaculately clean, comfortable and lovely. Ria, one of the owners, speaks perfect English, and is always smiling and courteous and helpful. Other Turkish-speaking staff were very helpful, particularly Mustafa, who carried my heavy luggage up and down the stairs several times, fixed the cable tv when I accidentally unplugged it from the wall, etc. It is located in the historic section of Selcuk, around the corner from Isa Bey mosque and the St. John Basilica ruins. It is a short walk to the town center.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MURFUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 240 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2010

Stayed with a group of 25 and was delighted with Akay. Close to local restaurants, across the street from Mosque and Basilica of St John, and leisurely walk from downtown Selcuk.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

This little family-run hotel was very clean and the proprietors very welcoming and helpful to this family of 4. The rooms were bright and clean and the roof-top terrace was a great spot to sit and soak in the evening (and morning!) air. We enjoyed several meals there on the terrace and the chef made noodles for our two "Turkish-food-leery" children. We all enjoyed the small pool area after a day of hiking the near-by Roman ruins. The staff was so accomodating---they lent us cash on Sunday as we didn't have enough Turkish lira. We weren't gouged with a tariff when we paid it back in our final bill on check out. Their driver drove us all over and even drove us to the airport at Izmir---stopping along the way to buy a small snack for our children!
We would definitely recommend this friendly, comfortable hotel. We thought the price to be quite fair.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kilmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2010

As a member of Mary s ,,I requrie myself to visit Marys house twice a year if not more.. now finding my self staying here due to the staff..arrived at 2 in the morning, given room, left at 6:30 for mass at Marys and upon return was requested to move to new part of Hotel..no problem..will be staying again this April

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dondonox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

We arrived for our reservation for two rooms in late afternoon. The gentleman on duty seemed to have no idea that we had a reservation and we had to show the emails which had been sent back and forth. He then showed us a room in the old section - said we could not stay in the new section. The room which he displayed had its door and window already open to the courtyard as we approached and the bed had an immense spot which appeared to be urine on it. In all, it did not appear to be at all clean. He said that the newer section was not available as there was a water problem.

Since we had a rental car, we then left and drove on to a very nice hotel in Aydin with no reservations. We have traveled throughout Turkey and have had wonderful experiences with all the hotels thusfar. This is the worst hotel room we have been shown throughout all of our travels.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Captain'squarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2009

What a fabulous place this is. We arrived in Selcuk really late having had an exhausting 14 hour trip overland from Istanbul. We called the hotel to say we were going to be late and asked them to keep the doors open! Not only did they keep the doors open for us but they also came to pick us up from the bus station and we arrived after 10pm. Not only did they pick us up from the bus station, they also had laid on a fabulous meal for us on their roof terrace. The hotel staff did not know but at that time I was 4 months pregnant and their generosity (and food!) at such an hour was so so appreciated after such a long journey!

We then enjoyed three days at the Hotel, chilling out by the pool in the heat of the day. We had the pool to ourselves. It was clean and well maintained and so refreshing. The rooms were excellent and the staff couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable including lending us literature on Ephesus and driving us to the bus station early in the morning when we had to depart.

We stubbled across a little oasis in the Hotel Akay and we will return with our little girl when we are next in Turkey.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

We took a room for €45 on the first floor in the original building, however the cheapest rooms of all on the grounf floor for €30 would have been just as good. The pool area was wonderful and the jewel in the crown is the roof with the bar, restaurant and cozy corner complete with hookah. The views of Isa Bey Mosque and St John the Evangelist are wonderful. It's hard to think of better views from a hotel roof! The staff are excellent, they will take you to/from Ephesus (which I found disappointing - Tunisian Roman ruins are far more dramatic and authentic) and pick you up/take you to the bus or train station. The restaurant, run by Diamond, served good fresh food, and ther prices were comparable to elsewhere in Selcuk. All I need to do know is to find a reason, however tenuous, to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kearon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.7 mi away
Ephesus Palace
Ephesus Palace
#13 of 34 in Selcuk
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ayasoluk Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#6 of 34 in Selcuk
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nazar
Hotel Nazar
#5 of 34 in Selcuk
628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Livia Hotel Ephesus
Livia Hotel Ephesus
#8 of 34 in Selcuk
57 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ephesus Hillside
Ephesus Hillside
#16 of 34 in Selcuk
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Akay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Akay

Address: Isabey Mah. 1054 Sokak 3, Selcuk 35927, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Selcuk
Price Range: $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Akay 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a welcoming and friendly hotel located next to Isa Bey Mosque and just a short walk to the town center. Our hotel has 23 rooms, 51 beds. 9 rooms with Satellite system TV, Bathroom , A/C. Wake up service, Internet, Laundry service, parking lot, safety box at reception, book exchange, pick up from bus station, horse ride. This is the place where you can experience the best dishes of the Traditional Turkish Cuisine, while you enjoy the magical views of Isabey Mosque, St. John Church and the Temple of Artemis. We have swimming-pool in our garden, you can sunbathe on free deck chairs. A garden bar that you can have some cold drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Akay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akay Hotel Selcuk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing