We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Hotel in the Center of Selcuk” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jimmy's Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jimmy's Place
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Selcuk
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Best Hotel in the Center of Selcuk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Jimmy and his business partner Ahmed were very welcoming and helpful. They were willing to spend time, chatting with us and providing tips on where to eat and visit. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, the bathrooms were clean and the WiFi was fast. Jimmy organised our tour to Ephesus with a brilliant tour guide. The breakfast was great every morning. The hotel is conveniently located right next to the Saturday Market. They had a wide range of reasonably priced carpets.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bijoukurien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    89
    36
    24
    20
See reviews for
38
134
45
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Jimmy's hotel is great. Jimmy is a no non-sense kind of guy but super helpful and matter-of-fact about his recommendations, which is great for people like us who like to get the information effectively and then get on with the activity already. We enjoyed everything while staying at the hotel. The room was spacious, the location excellent and minutes walk to bars and restaurants, and this wonderful eatery call Sükrü Baba (food much better than #1 restaurant in selcuk). We had a great view from our window, with a beautiful mosque across the street and the ottoman castle in the far ground, on a warmer day you can sit on the balcony and enjoy a beer. The bed was firm, room was clean, shower has good pressure, really cannot think of a place with better value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJlolius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Jimmy was very helpful with aiding us in planning our trip to Turkey. Would just sit and chat, offered us free cay while we planned. He also suggested and helped us book a blue cruise with Alaturka, which was far and beyond the best thing we did while in Turkey! He set us up with a very good guide to Ephesus. He even assured us if we didn't enjoy his recommendations, he would repay us out of his own pocket! Thankfully, that was not necessary. All staff were very sweet and helpful, eager to please. Rooms were satisfactory and clean. Breakfast was good, a typical turkish breaky, with one important exception, drip coffee!! Very close to both bus and train station. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fac767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adana, turkey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We booked two rooms at Jimmy's Place based on the reviews found here. We weren't disappointed. The lobby is quaint and the staff helpful. The rooms are very clean. The more expensive rooms are definitely nicer, but even the lower priced rooms are adequate. The phone in our room didn't work, and one of the wall sconces was hanging down, but everything we really needed worked, and I feel certain that had we complained, it would have been handled quickly. The breakfast is traditional Turkish fare. One of the best features of Jimmy's Place is its central location in downtown Selcuk. It's an easy walk to many restaurants and shopping areas. The staff is very helpful in assisting their guests with travel advice and arrangements.

Room Tip: Unless you're on a very tight budget, go for the deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TurkeyTrotter12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed in this hotel during my trip to Turkey last year. I was lucky to manage to secure the one last room in this hotel. Location is very close to the bus station, just 5 minutes walk, and it's at the city centre area. The hotel owner is Jimmy himself and a very friendly guy, as well as very helpful. He help us to book a day trip in Selcuk although it's already almost late night. Our room was spacious as well as the bathroom. breakfast may not be the best but it is very good for the kind of budget. Swimming pool is on another building, and have to walk for about 10 minutes to reach the location. All in all it is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KDH1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

You can find more picturesque b-and-bs in Selcuk. But for convenience, if your main object is getting there quick without having to take a taxi with baggage, getting out to see the sights, and getting away quick, you can't beat Jimmy's place. It is a short walk from the bus station. It is a great value, very comfortable even in the non-deluxe rooms, and with a fantastic breakfast. The staff is very helpful, and we, like others, enjoyed our very interesting conversation with Jimmy, a very remarkable person, racer of horses in addition to his success as a hotelier.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

I have to agree with many of the previous posters-Jimmy is a great guy and a pleasure to speak with. We have good memories of warming up by the fire in the common area on cold January nights and getting to know him. He is very traveled and full of life and always welcoming to new friendships. The hotel itself is just an absolutely perfect location. It was probably my friend and I's favorite hotel on our trip through Turkey. I know you don't read these reviews, Jimmy, but if you happen to catch this one, thank you for a lovely stay!

-Girls from Chicago

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nazar
Hotel Nazar
#3 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nur Pension
Nur Pension
#16 of 32 in Selcuk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#7 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ayasoluk Hotel
Ayasoluk Hotel
#2 of 32 in Selcuk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Artemis Hotel
Artemis Hotel
#9 of 32 in Selcuk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cenka Hotel
Cenka Hotel
#14 of 32 in Selcuk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jimmy's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jimmy's Place

Property: Jimmy's Place
Address: Ataturk Mah., 1016 Sok., No. 19, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Jimmy's Place" (formerly "Artemis Guest House - Jimmy's Place") moved to a much better building & location in 2005. 2006 saw renovations: specially-designed 'boutique' deluxe rooms through to budget rooms- something for EVERY traveller! Elevator, central heating, A/C, PRIVATE swimming pool, restaurant with experienced chef, Travel Desk with qualified travel agent, & the biggest and best travel library on Turkey you will find anywhere! Get the most from your visit to Selcuk ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Jimmy's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jimmy`s Place Hotel Selcuk
Jimmys Place Selcuk
Jimmys Place Hotel Selcuk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing