We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very close to bus station, and a friendly hangout!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jimmy's Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jimmy's Place
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Selcuk
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very close to bus station, and a friendly hangout!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Jimmy's is 5 minutes walk from bus station, and a real nice stay for budget travelers. Nice breakfast included, and a wonderful streetside terrace to eat and hang out there. I had the opportunity to talk with Jimmy--and you can too! He is very friendly and spends a lot of time on the terrace. He loves to talk, and you will absolutely enjoy him!

Room Tip: Since you are going to Ephesus, it is perfect for location and ease of travel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    89
    36
    24
    20
See reviews for
38
134
45
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Millerton, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We spent two nights at Jimmy's Place while with a tour group. We had found that tour groups don't usually get prime rooms in hotels, but not so at Jimmy's. We had a lovely room on the 4th floor with a king size bed, two comfy sofas, a fireplace, fridge and lovely accent rugs. The bed was the most comfortable we had encountered in Turkey, extra pillows and blankets were available in the room. The location is great, centrally located and next to the mosque, in case you got lost. There was brewed coffee on the breakfast buffet! Definitly a bonus! Jimmy has a carpet shop on the first floor, and I browsed and appreciated the beauty of the rugs without the pressure to buy. The desk staff were friendly and helpful and even came to our room and knocked on the door at 5AM for a wake up call. I would not hesitate to recommend Jimmy's Place.

Room Tip: All the rooms on the 4th floor were large and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveElephants53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We were on a road trip from Gocek on the Mediterranean up the west coast to Istanbul. We decided to stay in Selcuk for one night before going to Ephesus. The first good thing about Jimmy's was that it was very easy to find which is what you want when driving. Jimmy met us and very quickly gave us his opinion about what we should see and do and of course there is his carpet shop behind the hotel reception. The hotel room was very spacious, big bathroom and plenty of room to unpack. I was disapointed that we could not buy alcoholic drinks while sitting out on the nice terrace; Jimmy managed to get me a beer but no gin & tonic or wine. The hotel is directly opposite the mosque so get ready for the 5:00 am call to prayer! Breakfast was good and we were able to park our car right out the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Overall, this was a very good hotel experience. We stayed there 2 nights and it was very clean and comfortable. I liked having someone show you to your room and show you how to turn on the lights, A/C, TV, etc.

PROS:
- Wi-fi access in room
- Jimmy is very helpful and quite a character
- Very close to the main area with lots of restaurants nearby, only 1 block from the bus station
- Elevator
- Above average breakfast spread

CONS:
- Bathroom could be updated

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sung K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Hi all, we were very pleased by our stay at the jimmys place ,
The rooms are clean and big , with a balcony overlooking the castle ;) which was a good place to have a private evening with wine and snacks
We spent two days in the hotel, they have a wonderful pallett of breakfast included in the nominal tarrif for the place.
The staff / owner were very helpful with travel enquiries and even dropped us to the ephesus museum while he wasn't going that way ! !
Would have good memories of the place , needless to say that the placing of the hotel is also nice , next to the bus stop and cafe area in the small town which let's you go to surrounding places easily ;))
Going to jimmys will make you feel easy and comfort with a Turkish hospitality .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archraviprakash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
275 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in Sep 2012. We were very pleasantly surprised with the size of the room as well as the location of the hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful and gave us very good advice in terms of day trips and guiding companies, when we asked them. The breakfast was fresh and more than adequate. I will highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dia_Carstens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornaredo, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We booked this hotel 2 days before and we received confirmation that the room was available, 30euro per night, good price we thought.
We arrived and we had to show the email as our reservation hadn't been registred, we thought nothing bad, it could happen. No information about breakfast and check out time has been given.
As we reminded him the kind of room we booked, Jimmy told us "we have better room", but we didn't care about it even if this is definitely not a good thing to say to your client, we didn't want to spend more money, moreover we felt good as this hotel is suggested on Lonely Planet too.
As we got into the room we understood... the room was small but we didn't care, we just had to sleep there, we didn't care about the old tv (cathode-ray tube) and the bed sheet not ironed and too short to reach the edge of the bed, there wasn't even a chair to lean our clothes but the thing we do really care about is cleanliness.
The bathroom was tiny and dirty: the loo was dirty, in the sink there was toothpaste and hair, the shower had only one door out of two.
We asked to change the room and with 50euro we got a new room much bigger and a bit more clean.
the rest of the hotel wasn't good too.
On the stairs, as the lift doesn't really work properly, there isn't much light, the breakfast, that should be served on the terrace at 5th floor, as written on the filthy paper onthe lift door, was on the ground floor.
In the evening some big saks, with who knows what inside, have been transported into the hotel and a disgusting smell spread into the hall and reached even the 2nd floor and remained into the lift till the morning.
In the morning, after the check out, we asked if we could use the pool and here a new surprise: a man had to come with us with an adjustable wrench, as they couldn't find the key. The pool door was open and what we saw in that garden was awful: the water in the pool was dirty, the sunbed were dirty, nobody else was there of course, and there was a little kiosk all broken. The man tried to switch on the cleaning filter saying it would have taken 3 minutes while it broke after 10 seconds so we couldn't use the pool at all. :(

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LaValeRocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.2 mi away
Ayasoluk Boutique Hotel&Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nazar
Hotel Nazar
#3 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.1 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#7 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#8 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rilican Hotel
Rilican Hotel
#22 of 32 in Selcuk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cenka Hotel
Cenka Hotel
#14 of 32 in Selcuk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jimmy's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jimmy's Place

Property: Jimmy's Place
Address: Ataturk Mah., 1016 Sok., No. 19, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Jimmy's Place" (formerly "Artemis Guest House - Jimmy's Place") moved to a much better building & location in 2005. 2006 saw renovations: specially-designed 'boutique' deluxe rooms through to budget rooms- something for EVERY traveller! Elevator, central heating, A/C, PRIVATE swimming pool, restaurant with experienced chef, Travel Desk with qualified travel agent, & the biggest and best travel library on Turkey you will find anywhere! Get the most from your visit to Selcuk ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Jimmy's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jimmy`s Place Hotel Selcuk
Jimmys Place Selcuk
Jimmys Place Hotel Selcuk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing