We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mature independant Aussie couple”
Review of Belis Konuk Evi

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Selcuk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Belis Konuk Evi
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Selcuk
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Good value for money with helpful staff. One of the best budget hotels we had stayed in during 4 weeks travelling around Turkey. Great position close to bus/train stations, markets, and lots places to eat.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisparramatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 292 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2011

Our room was very clean, bright and comfortable! Nice king bed, big bathroom, good shower, flat screen tv and free wireless. Adem, Ahmed, Alex and Jimmy were all very, very, very friendly and super helpful throughout our stay! The location is very central with quick walking distance to the museum, St Jean Church, bus station, train station and main shopping/eating area. We walked to the ruins of St John's Basilica, then to the isa bey mosque and over to the Temple of Artemis and back to the hotel. All very walkable from Jimmy's Place!

While in Selcuk you should stop by Halil Usta for the best quality baklava we had in Turkey, Ejder Restaurant for the best quality kebabs and Julia's Moon Light souvenier shop for well priced items. Julia is a riot to deal with... it is a fun souvenier shopping experience. It is the shop with the (real) cat sleeping in a bowl amid the bowl display out front the store.

But, back to Jimmy's Place.... we highly recommend staying at Jimmy's Place when visiting Selcuk. No, it is not fancy, but none of the other options are fancy either. The hotel is very clean, the service is great and the outdoor cafe is a nice place to relax.

Three full days in Selcuk is a must to see the local sites and fit in a day trip.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Good cheap hotel with good location.
Not very new furniture but very good bed.

It is perfect for one night staying.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yulia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We were surprised to find such a nice place so close to the otogar (bus station). Jimmy's Place was comfortable and attractively decorated. The staff were all friendly, and they could provide great information on any local attractions or travel arrangements. My favourite thing about Jimmy's Place was the all you can eat BBQ they put on one night we were there, there were so many delicious salads, meats and things like yogurt dishes etc, it was the best meal I'd had for a long while, and the price was cheap too. They stock a few Turkish wines, and I was surprised at the quality! They have a pool which is in a nice setting, about 2 minutes walk away. Room was clean and comfortable, with air con and wifi. The bed was good too.

Lots of Aussies and Kiwis about here, often found in the shady porch area enjoying a cold beer.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

The place is centrally located only a block from the bus stop so was convenient since we came in late at night. One of the folks in our group was not able to travel so we ended up changing to a triple room instead of 2 double rooms. The standard triple room is ok (maybe the superior room is better) but there were clean sheets and towels. I don't think that the standard rooms have been upgraded which shows mostly in the bathroom. Hot water was available but the shower door was damaged. The room suited our needs since we were only to spend 2 nights there and the daytime was spent touring Ephesus and nearby places.

The breakfast was ok but not comparable to places in Istanbul (if you are coming after staying in hotels there). Tea, coffee, watermelon, hard boiled eggs, rolls, milk and corn flakes. Since we are vegetarians and dont eat eggs we mostly went with the corn flakes and milk.

The staff is generally helpful and Adem helped us organize tours to Pamakale and make our bookings in Cappadocia which was we found at a reasonable rate.

Regarding sleep quality, the mosque is located right next door so unless you are a very sound sleeper you will likely be up at around 4.30 or 5am. I dont think this would matter much elsewhere in town either.

Overall good value for money and reasonable place in Selcuk.

Room Tip: Go for the superior room not the standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globalotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We booked at Jimmy's because of all the good reviews, however after having stayed there, I don't know why people felt it was so great. The rooms were dirty, run-down, and we had several issues in ours with the TV, a broken toilet and constantly running sink. We reported the issues and they were addressed however they still weren't fixed.

I would call the attitudes and demeanor of the staff, including Jimmy, as civil but not really friendly or particularly welcoming. I get the feeling that Jimmy & his brother are sick of this business. If that is the case, it shows.

We checked out early and went to another hotel in town.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Trockie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed two nights at Jimmy's place in June 2011 in a double room. The room was average and the bathroom was small and moldy. The food at the hotel was okay, but nothing extraordinary. We had a friendly welcome by Jimmy's brother and he was helpful in booking a Priene/Miletos/Didyma tour for us, but that was about it. Laundry service was very expensive and our clothes came back like they had not been rinsed. On top of that, Jimmy's brother wanted us to book a ballon tour with them because he knew we were going to Cappadocia afterwards. He was proposing a tour at an expensive rate, which at first we thought was a good price, but only found out once in Cappadocia that what he was proposing was about 40 euros/person more expensive than if you buy a tour in Cappadocia itself. He was really putting the pressure on us to book the tour with them, saying that there might not be any tour available once we would get there. We declined his offer and we were happy to have done so because tours were readily available in Cappadocia and not as expensive as he was proposing.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BenJess31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.3 mi away
Ephesus Palace
Ephesus Palace
#8 of 34 in Selcuk
33 reviews
5.4 mi away
Aqua Fantasy Aquapark Hotel & SPA
5.2 mi away
Richmond Ephesus Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anz Guesthouse
Anz Guesthouse
#1 of 18 in Selcuk
239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#6 of 34 in Selcuk
530 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cella Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belis Konuk Evi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belis Konuk Evi

Address: Ataturk Mh. 1016 Sok. No: 19, Selcuk 35920, Turkey (Formerly Jimmy's Place)
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Selcuk
Price Range: $11 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belis Hotel moved to a much better building & location in 2015. 2016 saw renovations: specially-designed 'boutique' deluxe rooms through to budget rooms- something for EVERY traveller! Elevator, central heating, A/C, restaurant with experienced chef, Travel Desk with qualified travel agent, & the biggest and best travel library on Turkey you will find anywhere! Get the most from your visit to Selcuk ! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jimmy`s Place Hotel Selcuk
Jimmys Place Selcuk
Jimmys Place Hotel Selcuk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing