We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, welcoming, peaceful, relaxing, friendly -WONDERFUL”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Nilya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Nilya
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Warm, welcoming, peaceful, relaxing, friendly -WONDERFUL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2010

My husband & I stayed there for two nights a few weeks ago. From the moment I emailed for reservation, to the time we checked in, and checked out, we were greeted with warmth, great hospitality and professionalism. Idris & Nilgun are great! The hotel is very centrally located. The rooms are so cutely decorated (with authentic items), elegant and simple & clean. The breakfast, oh my the breakfast... Served at the patio right upfront, comprised of home-made jam, and traditional Turkish breakfast. To top it off, their dog "Badem" is the sweetest loving dog. I would highly recommend this place. We wish we could have stayed more.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IdilYvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    101
    28
    10
    1
See reviews for
91
201
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2010

My daughter and I stayed two nights and fell in love with the hotel. From the moment we walked in through the gates into the courtyard, we knew we had made the right choice. The courtyard is full of flowers, small trees and beautiful comfortable tables and chairs. There was even a little pond in the corner. Our room was spacious, clean and traditionally decorated with a wonderful view from the terrace outside, where we could sit and relax. The room and bathroom contained little personal touches that you dont find in the ordinary hotels. The owners are very friendly and welcoming. The traditional breakfast, which was served in the garden, was delicious with homemade jams and more than enough to set us up for a day of sightseeing. Nilya is a haven of peace. We felt we were staying with a family and sharing their home.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderingrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2010

My family of three stayed at the Hotel Nilya a few weeks ago and just loved it. As others have said, it is a lovely, relaxing spot with excellent hosts. The early morning call to prayer can be loud so bring your earplugs! Breakfast was wonderful. I would return anytime and recommend it highly to others.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

Nilya hotel is at walking distance to St. John Basilica and Isabei Mosque (perfect, otherwise you have to pay for parking). It is in a very quiet neighborhood. The staff is excellent, the facilities are old. The breakfast is good. 2 blocks down the street you will find part of the Roman aqueduct with multiple restaurants for dinner. If you are looking for a place to only sleep and continue your jorney. This is a good spot

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ingapirca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamosa, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2010

We spent two nights at this lovely little hotel. The room was small, but comfortable. The courtyard was a wonderful place to spend downtime between outings. Breakfast was a perfect start to our day. The only challenge was finding this little gem the first time. Cheers.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank medgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2009

We arrived on a bus late at night...I'd recommend taking a taxi to this place if it's dark out because the sign out front is not obvious and you have to ring a bell to be let into the gated courtyard. The courtyard itself is beautiful. Our bedroom was clean and large. The shower in the bathroom was pretty small, even compared with other showers in Turkey, but it was clean and in working order. Shampoo and soap provided. The breakfast in the morning was definitely a highlight, egg soft-boiled to perfection and everything was just delicious.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swimgirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2009

The rooms are very modest and I would think are priced just ok. It smelled a bit of bathroom even with the closed door. The hotel's patio and service is very lovely. It is very conveniently located (just few hundred meters from St. Jean and Isabey) and in a quiet area. Please make sure you call and do not rely on e-mails if you need something last moment (as they didnt see my mail send day before). I was very pleased with hotel service as I needed to leave very early and a little caring breakfast was prepared for me to go. I have visited other places that I found lovelier and with excellent views, but it is only matter of availability and your budget (it was impossible to find much available when I travelled, but you may see my other reviews), so personally if other first choices were not available, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelista2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.0 mi away
Ayasoluk Boutique Hotel&Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#8 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nazar
Hotel Nazar
#3 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#7 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Livia Hotel Ephesus
Livia Hotel Ephesus
#13 of 32 in Selcuk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Akay
Hotel Akay
#19 of 32 in Selcuk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nilya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nilya

Property: Hotel Nilya
Address: Ataturk Mah. 1051 Sok. No:7 | Selcuk Merkez, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#2 Family Hotel in Selcuk
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nilya 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nilya, located in the quiet area of St Johns Basilica. With 12 rooms, some 1st floor balcony level, views through the valley to 13th Cent. Isabey Mosque, Pamucak beach, beautiful sunsets or overlooking the garden courtyard. Other rooms on the ground floor opening to the garden courtyard, outdoor seating amongst trees, flowers, bird song and waterfall. Rooms are decorated in traditional Ottoman style, with hand carved furniture and marbled bathrooms. WI-FI access in each room. Relax in our lounge area with open fire (seasonal), enjoy filtered coffee or a drink from our bar, while relaxing with a book, or talking with other guests. Located within 5-10 mins walking distance of historical sites, museum and town centre. Free shuttle service to Ephesus. A mere 300 mtrs, 2 min walk from our other hotel, Hotel Bella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nilya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nilya Hotel Selcuk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing