We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Hotel Nilya”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Nilya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Nilya
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Loved the Hotel Nilya”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2008

My husband and I just returned from a trip in Turkey. We stayed two nights at Hotel Nilya in Selcuk while we toured around the area. The hotel was absolutely delightful. The rooms surround a lovely flower filled courtyard where breakfast is served. One of the days we were there we needed to be picked up for our tour before the normal hours for breakfast. We assumed that we would have to go without breakfast. However, the staff insisted that we eat and they got up especially early to feed us a delicious breakfast. The town of Selcuk was also very pleasant and we ate at several of the little restaurants. We really enjoyed our meal in a restaurant called Rameli. Our room in the hotel was spotless and comfortable and we walked out of our second floor room and looked out over the countryside.

We would certainly recommend the Hotel Nilya to anyone visiting this area. We are so glad we stayed in this small town as opposed to Kusadasi.

  • Liked — wonderful staff, beautiful courtyard
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cymric94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    101
    28
    10
    1
See reviews for
91
201
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2008

My wife and I stayed in the Nilya in mid-June 2007. The hotel is really a bed-and-breakfast. It is a converted Turkish villa, a three-quarter rectangle with the fourth side closed only by a garden wall. The rooms on the two stories open onto the interior courtyard, which is a delightful garden. The room price includes breakfast, which is served in the garden in good weather. The breakfast is good. Our room was quite small but included a private bath, not luxurious by any means but serviceable enough. The air conditioning worked well. As with most non-luxury Turkish hotels, there was no place to store clothing other than one wardrobe. No dresser or bureau, so we had to live out our suitcases plus the closet-like wardrobe. The hotel thus has a lot of charm but is not at all luxurious. The hotel is very close to the ruins of the St. Jean church (the Basilica of St. John the Evangelist) and the Isa Bey mosque, a short stroll from the main part of Selcuk with its variety of restaurants and shops, and not far from the excellent regional archaeology museum.

  • Liked — Location and charm
  • Disliked — Absence of storage space for clothes
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GranPaladino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2007

Loved this little hotel. I think it's a great idea to stay in Selcuk instead of touristy and resorty Kusadasi!! The hotel is managed personally by the owner so everything had her own little touch. Our room was on the second floor with a lovely view of the graden which had orange trees and charming little tables and chairs. The breakfast we had here was simply the best we had in Turkey. Traditinal turkish breakfast but with homemade bread, muffins and preserves. Absolutley loved it and would recommend in a second to anyone who wants to visit Ephesus!!

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank arya273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2007

After a couple of horrible nights in hotels in Canukkale and Pergamum, it was a real relief to find this pleasant hotel.

We were on the second floor almost at the end. Our room was a larger one with two beds, but it was a little dark with light from only one small window by the door, especially when we had to close the curtain for privacy from the outside walkway. One small complaint: I was allergic in this room, whereas I wasn't in any other hotel in Turkey, even the dumpy ones. This means that maybe the pillows or blankets weren't washed enough or maybe the dog spent time in there.

The view from outside our door was beautiful and the location is perfect, with the Basilica of St. John steps away. The decor in the dining room is amazing, and we had our best breakfast of the trip there. The staff were very friendly.

  • Liked — Breakfast, location
  • Disliked — Dark room
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurfaceTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2007

What an idyllic little spot! We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay in Selcuk and our time at Hotel Nilya. With the heatwave that was sweeping Europe, Hotel Nilya was a delightful oasis to relax in after a hot day of touring.
And the staff were wonderful. On our last day, we had to set off very early in the morning. Rose (?) made us a brown-bag breakfast that we were able to enjoy on our journey north.
I'm so glad we stumbled across this unique little hotel and that we were able to stay a couple of days.

  • Liked — The beautiful courtyard - the opera music added to the atmosphere
  • Disliked — Can't think of a thing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArizonanKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damascus, Syria
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2007

We live in Turkey and spend an enormous amount of time traveling throughout the country. We usually do this in a inexpensive manner, so when we decided to stay at Nilya, which is a bit more expensive than the norm for us, we were very hopeful that it would be worth the extra cost...and it was.

Nilya is in the old village of Selcuk. Selcuk, for those of you who haven't been, is a gem of a city. Beautiful, inexpensive on the whole, and it has a great feel - friendly and so on. To get through Nilya you take a short walk through the absolutely stunning local streets. Nilya is in a very quiet place with a perfect, unimpeded view of the surrounding valley.

You enter the hotel via a wooden gate covered in vines and below a fruit tree. The inner courtyard has a fountain, a huge variety of antique pottery, art, and furniture, and more flowers and fruit trees (including a lemon tree that looks 100 years old).

The management is reserved, kind, and welcoming. The rooms are a little dark as they are situated behind the covered balcony above the garden courtyard. It's all so beautiful that it's completely surreal. Everything is clean and tidy and every surface comes with some unique piece of artwork.

Breakfast was among the best we've ever had in our travels. Homemade baked goods, homemade juices, homemade jams, a huge bowl of fresh, local fruit, cheese, olives, tomatoes....unbelievable.

We thought we'd stay there one night and loved it so much that we actually cancelled the remainder of our trip and stayed for three nights. Exceptional by all standards.

  • Liked — The views and general decor
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2007

I spend 2 days in this Hotel and i found it very clean and nice to stay in for a vacation. Staff are very helpful and freindly... Rooms are quit small but very clean and i rocmmand second floor rooms to enjoy the nice views.

  • Liked — the rooms
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DannyLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.0 mi away
Ayasoluk Boutique Hotel&Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#8 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nazar
Hotel Nazar
#3 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#7 of 32 in Selcuk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Livia Hotel Ephesus
Livia Hotel Ephesus
#13 of 32 in Selcuk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Akay
Hotel Akay
#19 of 32 in Selcuk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nilya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nilya

Property: Hotel Nilya
Address: Ataturk Mah. 1051 Sok. No:7 | Selcuk Merkez, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#2 Family Hotel in Selcuk
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nilya 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nilya, located in the quiet area of St Johns Basilica. With 12 rooms, some 1st floor balcony level, views through the valley to 13th Cent. Isabey Mosque, Pamucak beach, beautiful sunsets or overlooking the garden courtyard. Other rooms on the ground floor opening to the garden courtyard, outdoor seating amongst trees, flowers, bird song and waterfall. Rooms are decorated in traditional Ottoman style, with hand carved furniture and marbled bathrooms. WI-FI access in each room. Relax in our lounge area with open fire (seasonal), enjoy filtered coffee or a drink from our bar, while relaxing with a book, or talking with other guests. Located within 5-10 mins walking distance of historical sites, museum and town centre. Free shuttle service to Ephesus. A mere 300 mtrs, 2 min walk from our other hotel, Hotel Bella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nilya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nilya Hotel Selcuk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing