We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Little Too Fast”

Meryemana (The Virgin Mary's House)
Book In Advance
More Info
$80.00*
and up
Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir
More Info
$65.23*
and up
Ephesus and House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Marmaris
More Info
$80.00*
and up
Ephesus Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #6 of 55 things to do in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Several years after the death of Christ, St. John brought the Virgin Mother to this house located on the slopes of Bülbül Mountain. It is believed the Virgin Mary lived in this house until she died at the age of 64.
New York, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Too Little Too Fast”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I'm neither Catholic nor religious, so taking the long trapse up to the Virgin Mary's house (?), which was in a lovely location, and then waiting in a long line to spend two minutes walking through a small stone house was not worth the effort or the time. Too crowded.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,089
    566
    317
    93
    54
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Most fascinating activity around Izmir”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a great time visiting the Virgin Mary's house. The way to the top of mt. Koressos is full of beautiful scenery, and the house itself is a piece of heaven, you feel a lot of peace and serenity from the moment you step inside.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JWadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“No historical evidence, just a belief”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Interesting place, but as with most of these types of 'shrines' and the volumes of visitors, you are left with the feeling of being sheep, herded through and milked as quickly as possible. We went as part of a tour to Ephasus, so don't know individual cost of entry here, and we were only allowed 30 minutes in total. You are all however herded through the house, which is just a tiny shrine. You can't stay in there as there are only four chairs. There's a gaurd to make sure you cannot take pictures. You come out after your literally one minute push through, and are allowed two candles to light. As with all religious venues, there is the shop selling medallions etc at exorbitant prices. You can fill up your own bottle at the holy water 'springs'. These are two taps, with a third specifically for Muslims only, as apparently they would be contaminated by sharing!
There is no real evidence that this was Mary's house, except the claims of a nun in 1800 and something. Overall, I felt underwhelmed, and that the experience was one of people trying to cash in on people's faith.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jsutt74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashhad, Iran
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“it was so nice”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

this place was far from our hotel but we enjoy it a lot, we have so many photos here and the road to his place is so nice
you can see a big statue of virgin mary that you can take so nice photos there
try it!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sheema q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fascinating place”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I had no idea the Virgin Mary settled in Turkey and in Ephesus they have this house where she lived with her son St. John. It's been blessed by one of the popes and while the rooms are basic withiut much detail, do stay a minute to make a donation, take a candle to light and say a prayer. People also leave wishes tied up in paper and I didn't have any with me. So please do pre write your wishes and take some ribbon or string to tie your wishes to the wish wall. You can also buy some religious icons, rosaries, Lockets, crosses etc there at the shop attached to it. Massive crowds today due to cruise ships so we had a long wait

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderlust-diva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meryemana (The Virgin Mary's House) also viewed

 
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 

Been to Meryemana (The Virgin Mary's House)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing