We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just good”

Meryemana (The Virgin Mary's House)
Book In Advance
More Info
$80.00*
and up
Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir
More Info
$71.28*
and up
Ephesus Day Trip from Marmaris Including Breakfast and Lunch
More Info
$80.00*
and up
Ephesus Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #6 of 56 things to do in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Several years after the death of Christ, St. John brought the Virgin Mother to this house located on the slopes of Bülbül Mountain. It is believed the Virgin Mary lived in this house until she died at the age of 64.
San Miguel de Tucuman, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
919 reviews
487 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
“Just good”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Photos not allowed. A small chapel. Good but nothing more. I expected something better.
A wall where you can leave a paper with your need written on it. A
The thing I enjoyed the most was the peace at the chapel.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
Thank Betilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,104
    574
    319
    93
    54
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful respite after Ephesus”
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We saw this as part of the day-tour we arranged through InSight travel to see Ephesus. After wading the sea of cruise ship passengers in the hot sun at Ephesus, the Mary house was a breath of fresh air (literally). The house is located high on the mountainside overlooking Ephesus/Selcuk. The entire grounds is wonderfully shady and cool, and we happened to visit when there were relatively few other groups around, so it felt quite relaxed and low key. Even if you're not one to visit because of the religious meaning of this site, you'll find it a great place to enjoy the well-tended garden and forest air.

Helpful?
Thank jbeebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“An absolute must”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

The quality, fresco and mosaic diversity and presentation of these ancient homes is remarkable. I still can't believe it was only an extra 15TIL.
Plan on 45mins here. The covering that protects the ruins makes it a very comfortable place to visit.

Helpful?
3 Thank Red263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“August 15th is a pilgrimmage day here!”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We took a cab to get here; it was quite pricey, and (to be perfectly honest) I'm not sure that it was really worth it. For me, this site really paled in comparison to the other things that Ephesus has to offer.

By random chance, we happened to show up on August 15th, which is the date when many pilgrims come to visit this site every summer. This is something that could either be really fun/exciting to come across or a bit of a drag, depending on your perspective.
I'm not sure what it's usually like there, but it was incredibly crowded on the day we visited with swarms of people everywhere.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“If you happen to go on August 15th, it's a pilgrimmage day”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We took a cab to get here; it was quite pricey, and (to be perfectly honest) I'm not sure that it was really worth it. For me, this site really paled in comparison to the other things that Ephesus has to offer.

By random chance, we happened to show up on August 15th, which is the date when many pilgrims come to visit this site every summer. This is something that could either be really fun/exciting to come across, or a bit of a drag, depending on your perspective.
I'm not sure what it's usually like there, but it was incredibly crowded on the day we visited with swarms of people everywhere.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meryemana (The Virgin Mary's House) also viewed

 
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 

Been to Meryemana (The Virgin Mary's House)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing