We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as well preserved” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Temple of Hadrian

Temple of Hadrian
Book In Advance
More Info
$108.75*
and up
Private Tour: Ephesus and St. Mary's House
Ranked #11 of 55 things to do in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This well preserved building is located in the city center on Curettes Road. The elegant workmanship and carvings on the front walls of the building make it one of the most attractive in the city.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
195 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Not as well preserved”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is one of the attractions where you need to know something about it for it to be meaningful. Be sure to have a look at your guidebook or listen to a guide for this one.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    91
    17
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
157 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Go to Ephesus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Temple to Hadrian is well worth seeing. It is a small part of the overall Ephesus tour. YOu will see all of the major sites as you walk thru the city.

If you have any interest in archaeology and ancient civilization this is the place to go. Only a small part of the original town of 250,000 residents has been excavated but it is magnificent to see.

This is a huge site with lots to see, the grand avenue, the ancient library, and the huge amphitheater. We went with a tour and I was glad because the guide was able to give us a lot of information as we walked thru the site.

I was not sure if we should spend the money to go here ($300 per person from Istanbul) but if you like this sort of thing it is well worth the money. There are a lot of vendors that try to capture you when you leave but you can ignore them if you want.

We booked our tour through dailyistanbultours.com and they did a good job on this tour and the Istanbul City tour I booked through them. The only downside on this tour is when you leave Ephesus they take you to lunch at a place called Sultans ? and it is for tourists only. You don't order anything except your drinks. There is a food bar to pick off of. The food was barley edible but we were so hungry we ate it. The hot food was cold and the cold food was warm. They have you trapped because there is no other place around that can feed the hordes of hungry tourists. This was in March and the place was not even really crowded. I can't imagine what it is like during the high season.

After lunch we also had to endure a stop a rug factory and a leather store on the way back to the airport. Apparently most of the tour companies have deals to take the tourists in these places so if you are on a tour it is something to endure.

There is really nothing else to do anyway if you are going back to the airport to catch a flight so it does kill some time.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthCarolinaPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Arches Telling a Story”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

The Temple of Hadrian is at Ephesus. The friezes of the goddess Fortuna and Medusa are displayed on the wall showing the how Ephesus came to be. It starts with the battle between Hercules and Thesus and Amazon gods. Goes on to show Emperor Theodosius and his family surrounded by Greek gods and other mythological and historical representations.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Inette001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
110 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Historians tell us of how important General Hadrian was to the Roman Empire. Those who know the UK will remember Hadrian's Wall that he caused to be built across the island to keep the Scottish hoards at bay. This temple was built in his honor.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank EasyTravel365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hadrian Archway to Ancient Rome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

One stop on our Royal Caribbean Mediterranean cruise was la Bella Roma. Hadrian's Arch was our tour group's meeting place because it is so large, so well preserved and so distinctive. From one side of the arch, you can look through and see the shopping area for tourists visiting the old city, as well as a giant mountain raising behind the shops. From the shopping side of the Arch you look thru to the ancient ruins of Rome. You must get a photo of yourself standing under this magnificent arch.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank KanikaAfricanArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temple of Hadrian also viewed

 

Been to Temple of Hadrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing