We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Urkmez Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$527
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kalehan(Selcuk)(Great Value!)
$60
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bella(Selcuk)(Great Value!)
$36
$35
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$83
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Nazar(Selcuk)(Great Value!)
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$470,075
bedfinder
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$132
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (693)
Filter reviews
694 results
Traveler rating
388
237
49
18
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
388
237
49
18
2
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
540 - 545 of 694 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2009

Although it was June, 2008 when we stayed in Urkmez Hotel, our very happy memories of our time there (and the wonderful emailed Christmas greetings from Jimi and Juju) are inspiring me to tell other travelers that this is a very special place. Our American friend who lives in Turkey knew we were going to Selcuk and immediately said we must stay at the Urkmez. My husband and I are are now "middle aged" and have traveled through many countries. We continue to be budget travelers and it's rare to find a budget hotel with staff that make you feel so immediately at home. We certainly didn't expect that, but brothers Jimy and Juju have mastered the art of hospitality in an exceptionally engaging and genuine way (and often with a very funny sense of humor!). The simple accommodations were spotless and our room had a great view off the balcony. Internet access, games of darts on the terrace, and a very good breakfast added to the enjoyment. They also made day trips available and had good advice for other places to travel in Turkey. We were truly sorry to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jefsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2009

The Urkmez Hotel has many things going for it but what really set it apart for us was the incredible hospitality of the Ozkan brothers Jimi and Juju, who bent over backwards to make us feel welcome and appreciated and like part of the family, from the time they picked us up at the ferry in Kusadasi to the last reluctant goodbye. The hotel was the best value for money of any we stayed at in Greece and Turkey. It is very central to all the amenities, and within walking distance of St. John’s Basilica, the Temple of Artemis, the wonderful Museum of Ephesus and even of Ephesus itself if you’re feeling energetic (2.5 km), otherwise Jimi and Juju will arrange free transportation there for you. Although modest, the rooms are very clean, with ensuite bathrooms and balconies, and there is a wonderful view from the rooftop terrace. The buffet breakfasts (free with your room) are served on the rooftop and were generous and delicious, different every morning, and included a great variety of Turkish delights, many fresh from the bakery nearby. Jimi and Juju are very knowledgeable and were ready and willing to answer any questions and accommodate any requests we had. They made us very glad that we decided to add Ephesus and the Urkmez Hotel to our tour of the Greek Islands. This little side trip to Turkey was one of the highlights of our trip, thanks in great part to the warm hospitality of Jimi and Juju and their family.

Hazel and Betty
Vancouver, Canada

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank northvancouvercanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

After five days in Selcuk, I must admit I was a little sad to leave. A big reason for that was the incredible hospitality of brothers Jimy (Cem) and Juju at the Urkmez Hotel. The hotel has a fantastic location on a quiet street, and is an easy walk to the Otogar (bus stop), many shops and restaurants, and most of the city's tourist sites. The price of my stay included a clean and comfortable room, breakfast (very good), free Internet (donations accepted, but not required), very reliable travel advice, and patient answers to my many questions (thanks again, Juju).

So, if you're looking for a great place to stay in Selcuk, at a reasonable price, you really can't go wrong with the Urkmez Hotel. I sincerely hope to return to Selcuk some day, and hope that Jimy and Juju are still there.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank FinalDescent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2008

Stayed for a wk at the urkmez. It was the best part of my trip to turkey. Jimmy and juju took me and if they couldn't showed me the best place to visit in and around selcuk. Very friendly and helping. looking forawrd to my next stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rossaneri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2008

my wife and i booked two nights at urkmez hotel short notice and they were very accommodating. we arrived from istanbul via the midnight Kamil Koc bus. we didn't have a map of how to get to the hotel, but a nice man helped us find it. although we arrived early around 0900, juju, the owner, allowed us to eat breakfast while our room was prepared. breakfast included hard-boiled eggs, olives, cheese, tomatoes, cucumbers, cheese pastries, fluffy white bread, sweet bread, orange juice. the deluxe double room was comfortable and clean. our balcony looked out over the old fort in selcuk. juju and jimmy helped us out all the time. one night while relaxing with others on the comfortable roof-top terrace, jimmy and i got a craving and hit up a bakery at 0030am. that was pretty cool. the smell of people smoking was always present. i would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting selcuk or ephesus. this was the most relaxing time we had in turkey.

as far as attractions go, visit the turkish bath close to the hotel - it's a lot cheaper than the ones in istanbul. walk up to the basilica of st. john and munch on figs and pomagratate growing close by. visit the mosque just below st. john's basilica. also walk to the temple of artimus. the amazing restaurant amazon is ... amazing - and near the temple of artimus. get a free ride to ephesus from the hotel staff, walk through the city ruins, and take a minibus back to selcuk - it's not far and you could walk back. we took a minibus to the beach as well. it took 10 minutes to get there and we had it all to ourselves.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank becooldude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews