We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful carpets-Oh no not another carpet shop!!”

Turkmen Art and Rug
Ranked #5 of 23 Shopping in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful carpets-Oh no not another carpet shop!!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We went there by taxi from Kusadsi as we did not do a tour from the cruise ship. Very interesting and informative. Have purchased a carpet from them and it arrived today! Much less than 6-8 weeks time as we we informed.
I would recommend them as they are reputable and you will be buying a beautiful piece of art

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Dana032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    15
    5
    1
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
192 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Wonderful concept, then pressure to buy”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

During our tour of Turkey with Neon we visited a carpet factory. I intended to sit outside as I detest tours where we end up visiting a factory or such and become a captive audience for high pressure salesmen. First we were met by the 'manager' of the complex - a very amiable fellow who had grown up in Australia. He explained the concept that they are a skill training centre where girls are trained in the art of carpet making. It was wonderful to watch them make the silk threads and weave the carpet and we learnt a lot. BUT we were then taken into the showroom to view carpets and there appeared to be a salesman assigned to small groups of people. All of us later commented that we had been subject to high pressure to buy. One woman was insulted when the salesman commented that she must be quite poor to not be able to buy a carpet on her credit card. Most of us felt very uncomfortable at the end. My recommendation is to visit the education centre but stay outside when they move to the showroom. There is undercover seating and a shop between the centre and the showroom where you can sit and wait for the others to return from the hard sell.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were introduced to the Turkmen Carpet Center by our Meander Travel guide. We saw the demonstration of carpet knotting and the silk spinning then were taken into the large carpet sales area. Lots of carpets were rolled out but there was no pressure to purchase them. As DW and I have two large Persian rugs we had wanted to purchase a couple of smaller mats to go by our front and patio doors. This is something we had been planning to do for 9 years so did end up purchasing 2 small mats from Turkmen. After a lot of negotiation we settled on a price of $600 with them paying all shipping, taxes and duties. Needless to say we were suspicious so we used Visa just in case. We made the purchase on Sept. 13th and told them that we need the mats by late October....they arrived on Sept. 30 and we are very pleased with them.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank putterdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleming Island, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

First, I have read the other negative reviews and while we did not have a negative experience, I can see how some folks could feel that way. It is true that this shop is a final stop on a shore excursion, so if you are just tired and ready to get back to the ship, then this would definitely have a negative impact and feel like a high pressure sales pitch. But we avoided the shore excursion to Ephesus specifically so that we could walk to the bazaar and spend as much time as we needed to find a Turkish carpet for our home. Our shopping in this store took us about two and a half hours, to find the just the right carpet at the price we could afford.

In the bazaar there are many people trying to sell you EVERYTHING, including carpets. Turkmen is very close to the cruise terminal, not really in the high pressure bazaar, and was recommended by our cruise line, Royal Caribbean. We went there immediately after walking off the ship and found the people very welcoming. We met Ashley, a gentleman from Turkey who spoke very good english. He greeted us and put us in contact with a salesman. We were shown how the silk is harvested, how the weaving is done, and offered unlimited Turkish sweets and drink. We were escorted to a large room and not only shown carpets, but had things explained to us in detail such as thread counts, the weaving process, and the differences in materials, which equates to differences in prices.

There was an attempt to get us to buy a silk carpet, but the 3000.00 price tag was just more than we could spend. But the folks did not look down upon us because we were not spending thousands. They brought carpet after carpet after carpet to us until we found the right material, right colors, and right size to fit our budget. We left with an 800.00 cotton and wool blend carpet that we are extremely happy with and that we have already established is worth much more in the U.S. than we paid for it.

Additionally, we asked our salesman to point us in the direction of a reputable store where we could purchase a gift for our daughter and a local restaurant where we could find GREAT Turkish food. They sent the sales assistant with us, who carried our rug for us, to a store and he helped us avoid the high pressure bazaar folks and then he took us to a local restaurant a short walk from the carpet store where we had the GREAT Turkish food at a reasonable price.

As a side note, be aware that the shopkeepers in the bazaar are very pushy as you walk through. Don't try to explain why you don't want to or can't stop, it doesn't work, just wave your hand "no" ignore them and keep walking. Oh, and all of the shopkeepers have figured out that Americans ALWAYS respond when someone says "excuse me", so ignore that too and keep walking if you are not interested.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank zeesmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis Royal, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid them”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We visited as part of an excursion booked on Royal Caribbeam's Navigator of the Seas. This was supposed to be a 'cultural demonstration' at the end of a tour to Ephesus. It was, instead,a high-powered sales pitch, designed to prey on vacationers, particularly those unused to the Turkish way of doing business. We were even pressured by the tour guide who claimed to work exclusively for Royal Caribbean. When we went to leave, he magically appeared, took us behind closed doors, and tried to seal the deal. RC should never sanction such a tour. Stay away from this business unless you enjoy sparring to keep your money.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turkmen Art and Rug also viewed

Selcuk, Izmir Province
 
Selcuk, Izmir Province
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 

Been to Turkmen Art and Rug? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing