We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Ephesus Tours tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Ephesus Tours
from $85.00
More Info
from $109.00
More Info
from $64.00
More Info
Reviews (757)
Filter reviews
702 results
Traveler rating
645
41
11
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
645
41
11
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private tour ephesus tour virgin mary turkey wonderful guide highly recommend this tour company turkish rugs fashion show sirince village izmir airport own pace driver carpet knowledge sites ruins highlights
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 702 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The guide was great you had to listen carefully as his English pronunciation was hard to follow sometimes but he was very knowledgeable.
BUT
We spent the afternoon visiting a carpet sales warehouse and a noisy leather warehouse complete with fashion show!
We spent $50 each and expected an Historical tour it would have been much better to spend the afternoon seeing the Basilica and castle.
It has been posted by I believe Ian that he did a straight comparison as both a self guided and a guided tour. Great Post!
So either insist on a guided tour without the leather and carpet OR do your own for less money and include all sites as you can hire a driver for way less for the whole day.
That is the only way to stop this charade!

Thank Vancouverborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2018 via mobile

Got picked up by Mrs Phyliss ( licensed tour guide) and the driver from Izmir Airport ( after a bit of waiting because our flight had some few minutes delays). She spoke good English. As we drove from the airport to Selcuk/Ephesus she led us in the discussions that covered work, culture, politics, religion as well as family. In about an hour it was as if we have been in Turkey before due her explanations. We went to the house of Virgin Mary (detailed explanation enroute as well as onsite given-because it was a Sunday my wife and I attended the mass for about 5 minutes). Moved to Ephesus ancient city( what a blast from the past) and spent about 1.5 hours (being given details of each section of the City including Celsius library and 25000 seater Amphitheatre by our knowledgeable tour guide) from the upper gate to the lower gate. We moved for lunch at carpet weaving facility supported by the Turkish Dept. Of Education- excellent lunch we had and excellent carpets we saw. From there we moved to Selcuk for the Basilica of ST John. It was great touring the supposed tomb of ST Jean/John and the remains of the Church. What an inspiration. Closed off by visiting a leather clothes making outlet - great quality. In summary:

Booking arrangements : excellent
Tour guide and Driver : Excellent
The tour Car/van: Excellent
Places visited : great
Do I recommend the Ounce Travel company : Absolutely
Tour Rates: Very Good

If you you want visit in summer please note that an ambrela is a must. The place is hot.

Im looking at visiting again to tour the 7 churches of Revelation. My first choice should be Ounce Travel.

Thanks to Mrs Phillys and Ounce Travel for the journey we may never forget.

Jeremiah Mudau
From Republic of South Africa

Thank vhophophi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018

We were met at Izmir Airport by Mrs Phyliss and driver(sorry, forgot his name) and taken on a fantastic tour of the area. They were an excellent team and took very good care of us. Mrs Phyliss was very knowledgeable of the sites and the history. I would happily recommend anyone to use their services.

Thank Happiness239902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2018 via mobile

We recently purchase a Ephesus tour from Etstur on August 9th at the Ephesia hotel and our tour guide Cayri did not speak any English during the tour. We did not exist.
Taking a tax or mini bus would have been much better. It was the worst tour on a very hot day. I would not recommend this tour!

1  Thank sabrinarickert789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AboutEphesuscom, General Manager at Ephesus Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2018

Dear Sir/Madam
We are not Etstur which organizes tours generally in Turkish to the locals in Turkey. They do not have good English speaking guides because they serve in Turkish. Also we did not work a guide who named Cayri and we do not know that person. We are AboutEphesus team of Ounce Travel in Turkey. We do organize the tours in all around Turkey and very qualified around Ephesus and all our guides speak very good english as our guests reviewed. You wrote your review to wrong link. Please remove your review from our page because we do get our guests from tripadvisor and we do not deserve this review since you were not our guest. But we hope to assist you in Turkey next time.
Regards,
Managing Director of Ounce Travel
Istemihan Teleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2018

Phyliss was our professional tour guide. She did an amazing job! Her english was excellent as was her knowledge of the area. Our 13 year old son was spellbound by her history lessons. The driver was professional and very safe! We had a wonderful day that included watching Turkish rugs being woven and participating in a fashion show at a leather goods showroom as well as the Biblical highlights!

1  Thank TulsaFlyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2018

Mrs. Phyliss was very professional, knowledgeable, and experienced in touring our private party of two, (my sister and I)!!! Her English was very good and she really took her time to inform and educate us throughout this tour. Because of her relaxed attitude and demeanor this tour was an absolute memorable experience!!! I would highly suggest taking a private and personalized tour with Mrs. Phyliss and this team!!!

1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2018

It was wonderful that I saw people in the past have what a beautiful place to live.I saw Takht-e-Jamshid in Shiraz, Iran, before. And I am very glad to see another historical place from a ancient civilization.

1  Thank Amin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2018 via mobile

We had an wonderfull Day tour in ephesus thanks to our tour guide Banu. She speakes very good English, and she’s very kind. The company is also very organized and they respond very quick WhatsApp .
Perfect!

1  Thank Juliana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2018

We have spent a couple of days in Izmir and we absolutely wanted to see Ephesus, which is something a lot of tour operators do. What they don’t do is to combine Ephesus with Sirince in one day, so we looked at a private tour. Efesus tour company offered the best value for private tours, so we decided to give it a try and it was the best decision ever. We were only 3 in our group of friends, so we had enough flexibility in organizing our day. Our guide, Philiss, was wonderful: knowledgeable, patient, fun and speaking perfect English.
They picked us up at the hotel, we stopped at Virgin Mary church, we visited Ephesus, the museum, Sirince village- where they have a tiny but fun bazar where we found an awesome really authentic coffee shop.
All in all, we were very happy with the tour- highly recommended!

Thank lena201608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2018 via mobile

This was by far the best tour I have ever been on. From start to finish the tour was conducted with complete professionalism while still remaining fun. I was impressed by the organisation and structure of the tour including the organisation of my return flight tickets from Istanbul to Izmir.
Raife, my tour guide was extremely knowledgeable, fun, friendly and a pleasure to be with. She also spoke perfect English which made understanding each part of the tour very simple. I will be recommending Ephesus Tours to anybody planning to visit Turkey. What a great experience and service!

Thank ThomasLatouche1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews