We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of frills, should be called "no hassle" tours”

No Frills Ephesus Tours
Ranked #4 of 29 Tours in Selcuk
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Rated Excellent on TripAdvisor & Top Choice on Lonely Planet 2017 - Ephesus Tour Options - Staying in Selcuk or Kusadasi? We at 'No Frills Ephesus Tours' offer a no nonsense tour experience without substituting on quality or service. Our aim is to provide the visitor to Ephesus a unique cultural based tour experience with a professional English speaking guide and NO SHOPPING STOPS along the way. If it is the Ancient City of Ephesus and the Ephesus Museum, the Temple of Artemis, St John’s Basilica or the House of the Virgin Mary that you have come to see then that is what we aim to show you. Our half day or full day Ephesus Tours are the perfect way for you to absorb the history of Ephesus without the pressure of carpet, leather or jewellery sales spoiling your day. Tours available every Tuesday, Thursday and Saturdays throughout the winter season (1st Nov - 31st March 2018). Cruise passengers please inquire about our Ephesus shore excursions and private tour options.
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Plenty of frills, should be called "no hassle" tours”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were on a cruise and went with a group of people on a self-planned excursion with no frills tours -- we got to see the terrace houses, which were amazing, and had a wonderful guide all day in ephesus and at st johns and artemis. The best part was -- as we compared our different tours with others on the cruise later that night-- the biggest complaint from everyone else was the hassle of the rug shops... which we avoided because we used no frills tours! This company has been founded by a husband and wife who know how to treat customers right, and an awesome little authentic lunch spot was a real treat in the middle of the day. They clearly care about their customers rather than just churning people through, and it really shows.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank kevington7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    33
    6
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"No Frills Tours" Should Be Called "Class Act Tours!!!!!!!"”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My wife and I booked for a cruise that would visit Ephesus and also joined a popular cruise blog intended to facilitate subscriptions to "member organized" port tours. Through the blog, three members organized exactly the same "NO FRILLS" tours for 12 to 13 people from port to Historic Ephesus. Each included The Terrace House, Saint John's Basilica (John came here with the Virgin Mary and wrote his Gospel,) and The Temple of Artemis (one of the seven wonders of the ancient world) in nearby Selcuk. All three groups met at a nice authentic Turkish restaurant after touring the sites where we enjoyed an excellent lunch and compared notes. All of us were impressed with the "No Frills" company.

All three tours were picked up on time immediately outside the port facility by new, clean and comfortable minibuses. My guide (Mehmet - not the boss Mehmet,) was excellent. He spoke very clear english, took enough time to assure that we understood what he was telling us had a wealth of knowledge about the area and each site we visited. His pace was considerate of those needing more time to absorb the sites impact and our variations in mobility.

The "No Frills" in this case meant No Forced Shopping Stops, No Carpet Weaving Demonstrations and No Selling. (Most tour companies in the area include "shopping stops" and the tour operators are paid a commission and the stores provide a "subsidized lunch.") This tour didn't waste our time or take us hostage.

The cost included all entry and parking fees. All we had to do was show up and pay for our own excellent and affordable lunch. The Terrace House (that was not yet opened on our previous visit in 2008) was amazing, incredible and yet believable with its tangible insights into the wealth and life in ancient Ephesus.

Our tour was terrific but the highlight for me was the opportunity for all 37 of us to share a great lunch at an authentic Turkish restaurant and compare our excitement at what we had just seen.

No Frills is a negative of saying "Class Act Tours!!!!!!!"

Thank you Christine and Mehmet for delivering a wonderful day for three small but very happy groups.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Captain-Pinball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I think the absolute BEST thing about this company is they don't force you into an awkward, unwanted shopping trip. Most tours in Turkey are notorious for doing this and it is always unpleasant for me. The tour was as they advertise - just the sites and the history. Our guide was excellent. Pointing out unique things, telling us the back-story. Not forcing us to hang around any place for a long time, and got us through in a decent amount of time. All the staff was very friendly. I only have two complaints. First, we should have had a lunch break sooner. We were all really famished by lunch after having spent the past several hours walking around, and were getting cranky. Also, while VERY interesting, our guide took us to another site within Ephesus that cost additional money, and we didn't know until we went back to the office that it wasn't included in our overall price, and we were asked for the additional funds for the side trip. While we probably would have agreed at the time anyway to do it, it would have been nice to have been asked if we wanted to pay additional money to see this special exhibit. Not a huge deal, but I think people generally like being asked.

I highly recommend this company!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank H R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Magic Carpet Ride through Ephesus”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had a private tour May 13, 2013. The day started out with heavy rain and we considered cancelling. How glad we are that we did not. We started late at 10:30am (Mehmet had special connections who guaranteed the rain would clear ... ) and finished at 7:30pm. The rain gradually cleared into a picture perfect day, we went to Mary's house, had almost the whole Ephesus site to ourselves, had pancake lunch at a local place with good company and enlightening conversation, saw the cave of the Seven Sleeps, went to Sirince, Artemis temple and St. Johns tomb.

Our guide Gamze was very knowledgeable and gave us enough time to take photos and often suggested the best photo opportunities (which we REALLY appreciated). She often followed us where our interest took us and gently called her small group of 2 (who tended to go in opposite directions) together.

This was our first day of 7 days in Turkey, and at the time we did not fully appreciate "No Frills" on a "Magic Carpet" which was absolutely "Hassle Free", that we never again experienced on our vacation through Turkey.

We would highly recommend "No Frills" tours as having "All Perks, No Hassel" !!!! They exceeded our expectations.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank MrandMrsDips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Historic Ephesus”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

No Frill's provided a great half-day tour with a guide who knew all about the many layers of history for the main sites and the area generally. The best part is all their local knowledge of the sites and other things to do that helps make the most of your visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No Frills Ephesus Tours also viewed

Selcuk, Izmir Province
 

Been to No Frills Ephesus Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing