We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Day” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ephesus Tours by No Frills

Ephesus Tours by No Frills
Ranked #4 of 28 Tours in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Staying in Selcuk or Kusadasi? We at 'No Frills Ephesus Tours' offer a no nonsense tour experience without substituting on quality or service. Our aim is to provide the visitor to Ephesus a unique cultural based tour experience with a professional English speaking guide and NO SHOPPING STOPS along the way. If it is the Ancient City of Ephesus and the Ephesus Museum, the Temple of Artemis, St John’s Basilica or the House of the Virgin Mary that you have come to see then that is what we aim to show you. Our half day or full day Ephesus Tours are the perfect way for you to absorb the history of Ephesus without the pressure of carpet, leather or jewellery sales spoiling your day. Tours available every Tuesday, Thursday and Saturdays throughout the winter season (1st Nov - 31st March 2017). Cruise passengers please inquire about our Ephesus shore excursions and private tour options.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

My husband and I booked a group tour with No Frills Ephesus Tours last July. We had an amazing time. We were staying in Izmir, but Christine from No Frills arranged for us to be picked up at our hotel in Izmir. When the van arrived on the morning of our tour, we were pleasantly surprised to see that we were going to be the only ones on the tour. It would be just us, our guide, Oktay, and the driver of the van (which was air conditioned). Oktay spent the drive to Selcuk telling us about Turkey and even teaching us some Turkish. When we arrived we visited the Temple of Artemis and then drove up to see the House of the Virgin Mary. Oktay had lots of great information to share and these sites were definitely worth seeing. Then we headed to Ephesus. Oktay walked us through the city and told us all the history of the different sites we were seeing. He had an amazing amount of knowledge about the city and its history. At each building we came to, he had another story to tell us about how it was used by the ancient people that used to live here. We paid extra so that we could see the Terrace Houses as we passed through the city- these are not to be missed. They are totally worth any extra fee to see them. They are the houses of the rich and famous of Ephesus and are in great condition. Oktay walked us through the houses and explained what the daily lives of Ephesians would have been like. It is amazing to imagine the view that these houses would have had of the city and the harbor. From there were able to see the rest of the sites in the city. Oktay made sure that we started our tour at the top of the hill so that we could be walking down to the other entrance as the day got hotter. This was much appreciated! If you do this in the summer, make sure to bring water! After we finished walking through the city, Oktay took us to a small town in the hills outside of Selcuk called Sirince. We were able to eat lunch (Turkish "pancakes") at an authentic restaurant and then wander around the village. There was a small bazaar and lots of places to taste the locally made fruit wine. When we had had our fill, we headed back to Selcuk to the Ephesus museum. This is where many of the artifacts from Ephesus and the Temple of Artemis are held and it was a nice way to end the day and tie everything together. All in all, Oktay was an AMAZING guide. We learned so much and had a wonderful time visiting Ephesus and we were so pleased that there were no sales stops at all during the day. I highly recommend No Frills to anyone planning on visiting Ephesus!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank Ameliad56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    33
    6
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ephesus Tour was highlight not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

I emailed No Frills Ephesus Tours from home and got great response from Christine. This was a small, but wonderfful company! I was booking a large group of 16 and they treated us royally, communicating at every whim of the sites we would see. We were met at the ship at Kusadasi port by the owner & Christine, driver and Octavius, our guide. He was very informative in all respects teaching us about the Ancient City. He took us to a place for lunch that little Turkish ladies made pancakes, and we sat on rugs and sofas close to the floor. He even donned a traditional costume/robe and had one of our people dress up as well. It was so fun! If you don't do Ephesus, you are missing the best tour of all. They accept USD/TLira/Euro's for the tour. Ephesus has so much biblical history and it is like walking in the days of the Ancients with its towering Library (what a site!) and Terrace houses, and the 25,000 seat amphitheatre where St. Paul preached. We visited Virgin Mary House too. At the tours end, we were not dumped. The owner came to greet us at the van, gathered us all up for a drink at a restaurant and gave us gifts. What a surprise is that for a tour company to do?!! You can get this tour with or without carpet sales, - ours was no sales, which gives you even MORE time to explore the ruins. We cannot say enough about this company. They were GREAT. All of our 16 people were VERY happily satisfied!! Book with Ephesus No Frills Tours - YES!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank triphopper_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“We love it..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

First of all ..it is very very easy to communicate with them BEFORE you are even in Turkey. Christine is very very efficient, helpful and persistent with her emails. With this efficient communication just via emails, we ended up booking 3 tours with No Frills Ephesus Tours (NFET) i.e. in Cappadocia, Ephesus and Pammukale...Wow!!! Can you see how impressed I was...anyway I did have some challenges due to some problems with my email account but in between using different the accounts, we managed to clinched a few deals.

In Cappadocia, Christine and Mehmet (owners of NFET) managed to arrange for us a tour via their friendly connections/partners in Cappadocia. The agent had already contacted our hotel BEFORE we arrived and we got a call from them as soon as step in the hotel..impressive!! We were brought to the Whirling Dervish show on the very first night itself, just 5 minutes from our hotel Cappadocia Caves Suite. And the next day straight to hot air balloon and our half day tour. What I really appreciate about the tour was the our cheerful guide Ozge who stayed cheerful until even until late evening.

Then our next tour was in Ephesus. In Ephesus our tour became a private tour because nobody else was booked during the day. It was great especially with Mehmet (the owner) who acted as our driver and with Oktay as our guide of the day.We have included Sirenci Village as part of our day tour, and I do hightly recommend this village as part of the tour. Oktay is also wonderful in explaining the histories and details of each of the sites visited. Later in the afternoon, Mehmet even gave us a choice on whether to eat where the visitors normally eat or to go where he normally eats..and of course we chose the latter..it was great!!

The next day we had set of our half day tour to Pamukalle to visit Hierapolis and the travertine hot springs. Although the tour was short due to our flight schedule, it was very memorable. Oktay was again our tour guide of the day and we really appreciate the excellent schedules set to make our tour both comfortable yet fulfilling within the short timing that we had.

I highly recommend for travellers to discuss with Christine beforehand of your needs because she is full of ideas and very patient in her correspondence..Thank you Christine, Mehmet, Oktay and Ozge for making our tours so exciting ...

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank ImaMohamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Flexible, Friendly, Laid Back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had a great experience with No Frills Ephesus Tours. They met us at Izmir port, we took a private tour with just the three of us - myself, my husband and our 21 month old daughter. The driver and guide (both named Mehmet) were funny, friendly, casual, not pushy at all, and really sincerely seemed to want us to have the most relaxed and informative tour possible. We went to Ephesus, including the Terrace Houses, and then to lunch at a really great, rural-feeling place with handmade stuffed flatbread, which was a perfect venue for our daughter who could run around the tents and did. Both Mehmets were wonderful with her, and patient. We've been on a lot of tours around the world, everywhere from South America to North Africa, and it's rare to find a truly hassle-free tour. This was one. Maybe because it's run by an ex-Aussie?

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank ManyMarvels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tour of Ephesus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

The tour guide was excellent. He provided background and stories making the sites alive. Very knowledgeable, and not just a history lecture. A funny guy too. We were only three people in a van/group.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank Norman T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ephesus Tours by No Frills also viewed

Selcuk, Izmir Province
 

Been to Ephesus Tours by No Frills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing