We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full day tour with ''No Frills" Ephesus with Oktay as our guide”

No Frills Ephesus Tours
Ranked #4 of 29 Tours in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Staying in Selcuk or Kusadasi? We at 'No Frills Ephesus Tours' offer a no nonsense tour experience without substituting on quality or service. Our aim is to provide the visitor to Ephesus a unique cultural based tour experience with a professional English speaking guide and NO SHOPPING STOPS along the way. If it is the Ancient City of Ephesus and the Ephesus Museum, the Temple of Artemis, St John’s Basilica or the House of the Virgin Mary that you have come to see then that is what we aim to show you. Our half day or full day Ephesus Tours are the perfect way for you to absorb the history of Ephesus without the pressure of carpet, leather or jewellery sales spoiling your day. Tours available every Tuesday, Thursday and Saturdays throughout the winter season (1st Nov - 31st March 2018). Cruise passengers please inquire about our Ephesus shore excursions and private tour options.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Full day tour with ''No Frills" Ephesus with Oktay as our guide”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This was a great tour,with a great guide. He made sure we saw everything and then some. We visited a small interesting museum after Ephesus. The owner of the Company joined us for a cold drink and continued the rest of the tour with us. It was a hot summer day ,so I guess he had the time.We also visited a very nice hill town 12 kilometers away.Allowing us to see some of the groves on the hillsides and a bit of the countryside. They picked up my husband and I at our cruise ship and delivered us directly back to the ship. Our very up scaled ship could not have offered us a tour like this . The price was reasonable for what they gave us in time and attention.
Cecile and Bernie from Los Angeles.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank CeilK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    33
    6
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Tour of Ephesus”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were extremely happy with our No Frills tour of Ephesus. It was exactly what we were looking for. An informative half day tour of the ruins. I was able to book it from our previous stop in Turkey a day or two in advance which was extremely convenient. Our guide was a charming young man with a history and archaeology degree who was able to guide us efficiently through the ruins and explain everything. He cleverly found spots in the shade so that we could discuss each building in comfort. The price was very fair especially for such an intimate tour. My husband and highly recommend this tour and the company.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous half day tour”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Thank you so much Christine, Mehmet and Oktay (Octavia Octavious) for a fantastic day out today! The tour exceeded our expectations as we were desperate to have a tour that avoided the hassle of being unwillingly taken to shops to be hassled by carpet sellers and the like. We were very fortunate to have a small tour so that we could easily hear all the valuable information Oktay had to impart! If your looking for a smaller tour, without the hassle, run by highly reputable and knowledgable staff, look no further! The tour is suitable for small children right through to the relatively fit elderly. Strollers would be difficult.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank Leonie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Visit to Ephesus”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Extremely interesting. We visited the house where it is believed that the Virgin Mary died and saw the amphitheatre where St Paul lectured the people on the evils of placing gold and silver before the Lord. The gold and silver merchants were so incensed that they attempted to capture St Paul to kill him but his friends rescued him and shipped him out of the area by sea. We saw the Temple of Artemis, the museum of Ephesus, the Hall of Tomb Finds, the Seven Sleepers, St John Church burial chamber,

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Brendan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
80 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“The best way to see Ephesus and surrounds”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We arranged a private tour - by email - and it was suggested that we start early to avoid the hottest part of the day. We were picked up at our hotel and the guide (Oktay) was 5 minutes early, but happy to wait as we had a quick breakfast

First stop was the Virgin Mary's house. This was magic, with early mass being conducted outdoors to add to the mystique. A must see.

Ephesus was a few minutes away and we joined literally thousands of others wandering through the ruins.I was very pleased we had a private guide who was happy to go at our pace, rather than racing us down the hill and out the gate. The crowds were amazing. We were told that Wednesday is the quietest day for cruise ships (the major source of tourists) but there were 6 in town that day!

We had a brilliant lunch at a nearby authentic restaurant, followed by Artemis and the Museum. We were done by 2.30pm and thoroughly satisfied.

They are not cheap, but if you are travelling thousands of kilometres to get to a special place like this, it would be a shame to compromise on the tour operator.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank gdpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No Frills Ephesus Tours also viewed

Selcuk, Izmir Province
 

Been to No Frills Ephesus Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing