We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful trip at Ephesus with Nizam n Apasas Travel”
Review of Apasas Tours

Apasas Tours
Ranked #5 of 28 Tours in Selcuk
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are operated travel agency Aegean cost of Turkey. We are operated Ephesus Tours, Pamukkale Tours, Pergamon Tours, Priene Mletus Dydma Tour, Kusadası Tour, Sirince Tour. if you prefer a more economical option than a private tour, our semi-private group tours are just for you. When you take one of our Apasas Regular group tours of Ephesus, you are guaranteed a small intimate group setting.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Coincidentally me and my hubby travelled on Nov 2012) had the same guide with my mom n sis which travelled on Sep 2012, so on behalf of them too, we would like to express our thank you for the wonderful times there specially to Nizamettin Adsiz as our great tour guide and the helpful driver (sorry forgot the name), also to Apasas Travel : keep improving your great service and mostly to True Blue Tour with great service and arrangements for our seven days tour in Turkey.

Nizam is very professional, excellent English and great history knowledges. Warm n funny too. Really impressed with all of them. Thanks, we have a wonderful time at Turkey and love to come back again.

1  Thank Mediyanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 86 of 106 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

My wife and I took this tour from Selcuk, leaving at 9am, with lunch at 1pm and finishing at 3.30pm. It was 45 euros per person including travel in the minibus, all entry, and a buffet lunch (excluding drinks).

The tour guide, Nizamettin Adsiz, was excellent--he was very knowledgeable but also warm, funny and friendly. We got to visit all the major sites around the area, including the house of Virgin Mary and many different ruins around Ephesus.

Nizam made an effort to move us quickly through the attractions and beat the queues, which was really great. The lunch was also excellent--it's a buffet-style meal with plenty of options of vegetables and meats. You just pay extra for drinks.

Nizam was up front about wanting to support the local community with a visit to a local leather and cotton store, with the option of purchasing goods afterwards. We took the trip to the leather store but politely declined the cotton store trip, so be up front with him if these aren't of interest.

Also, be sure to take plenty of water on the trip, as a good portion of it is outdoors in the heat. However, you need to balance this with infrequent toilet breaks, especially during the mid-morning part of the tour! Also bear in mind that these tourist sites get very busy with the cruise ship visitors, so a weekday visit rather than a weekend may be best.

Thank guycocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The bus was unlike our other experiences of buses in Turkey. this one was old, had no seatbelts and was excruciatingly uncomfortable for the 3 1/2 journey. Careering round a corner at top speed which scared the living daylights out of us, the driver realised he had made a mistake and apologiserd. When asked to slow down, the guide saide that he had travelled the road 1000 times. Problem is it could be the 1001st time that something dreadful happens. Funny that the only 2 seatbests were for the driver and guide.
It seems from reading previous posts that this company has one great guide. Our female guide, not quite sure of her name because she was so difficult to understand, was impatient and had little concern for our safety, comfort or enjoyment. Not advising us that there would be a long queue for the loos at the end of our free time at Permukkale, she got very impatient when 2 of our number were still waiting in the line after the appointed meeting time.
We were taken to an onyx factory which I don't think anybody really wanted to go to and then had lunch which was surprisingly good. However, our time at the pools was incredibly short. She spent a long time at the entrance explaining all about Hieropolos (not sure the spelling is correct) whilst we stood in the heat and desperate to see the pools. Why she spent so much time explaining about the city we would never have enough time to visit is an enigma. It would have been really nice to have been able to have a dip in the cotton pools and a dip in the Cleopatra pool (an extra $30TL) or had a fish foot pedicure (also %30TL) and a novelty for us. However, there wasn't time to do more than one.
My advice to future travellers who are staying in Selcuk and want to visit this extraordinary place is to take one of the many normal buses and pay and extra $15TL to take the shuttle up to the pools. The bus couldn't be more uncomfortable, you would get change from the $105TL it cost us for the tour and could spend time enjoying what you want - the cotton pools, the city, the museum, the Cleopatra pools and/or fish pedicure. You could spend 4-5 hours there easily instead of the measly 1hr45mins we did. Then there is that hideous drive back.
A long 8.30-7.30 day for such a short time of pleasure. If you really want to take a day tour to Pamukkale from Selcuk, I suggest you try the other tour company in town.

9  Thank Chezz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Nizam recently took us on a guided tour Ephesus. He was the best guide we had in turkey by far. He was very knowledgable, spoke great English, was entertaining and very organized. At the start of the tour he provided details of the day and timing, toilet locations, meeting points etc. highly recommend

Thank AussieYoungMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We went on a tour today to Pamukkale with Apasas as it was recommended by our hotel. Like a similar reviewer, we too had the older guide who was extremely rude over the course of the tour to us all. He gave very little useful information during the tour, failing to even mention the location of the travetines once we arrived at Pamukkale.

He also made us spend around 30 minutes at an Onyx factory despite us protesting twice that we didn't want to go as we were traveling around a 7 to 7.5 hour round trip to visit Pamukkale and didn't want to waste time at the factory. Only one guest had an itinerary for the tour which did not mention the Onyx factory. To fit this in, we were given 30 mins for lunch instead of an hour.

Pick up was also around 20 min late. However, this was nothing compared to another guest on the tour who was told they would be picked up at 8:30am but were picked up at midday as their hotel was close to Pamukkale ( we travelled from Selcuk).

Despite the rude nature of our guide and the "tour" in general, we still had a great day as Pamukkale is a unique and beautiful place. However, I would not recommend Apasas to anyone for their Pamukkale tour and will also be advising our hotel not to recommend this tour.

9  Thank HungryLioness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apasas Tours also viewed

 
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 

Been to Apasas Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing