We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Review Highlights
Excellent all inclusive tour

We had booked a private tour with Transbalkan Tours to Ephesus, St. John’s Basilica, House of Mary... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Geralds296
,
Coimbatore, India
via mobile
Ephesus private tour

Denizhan was our tour guide for our day in Ephesus. His English is very good and his knowledge of... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
susangJ619QG
via mobile
Read all 587 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Selcuk
from $5.68
More Info
from $13.00
More Info
from $32.00
More Info
from $5.68
More Info
Reviews (587)
Filter reviews
587 results
Traveler rating
549
32
4
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
549
32
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews denizhan pekoz cruise ship ephesus tour turkey his knowledge great tour detailed information hour tour terrace houses included lunch pottery shop mercedes van izmir airport answered all our questions booked a private tour turkish lunch basilica of st john
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 587 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2016

We were a group of 7. We wanted a tour of Ephesus from a Christian perspective. We were picked up at the Cruise Ship dock by Dennis and transported in a brand new looking Mercedes van. Dennis was very knowledgeable of the Biblical text and was careful to differentiate historical truth from speculation or tradition.
We started our tour at St. John's Basilica. Dennis share with us information about the area as well as Christian history. We stopped at a pottery shop on the way to the ruins of Ephesus. While in Ephesus we were wowed by the stories of St. Paul who lived there for 2 1/2 years. Dennis truly knows the Biblical Text. Even for the benefit of non-believers, the ruins are a sight to behold. We also went to the possible home of Mary, mother of Jesus. A somber experience. Then we had a traditional Turkish lunch and a tour of a Turkish carpet facility. The food was wonderful and all part of our tour package price. You will pay for St John's, Ephesus, and Mary's home on your own. Also you will pay for parking. The price for seven of us was around $170 total. Not including tip and admission fees.
Far less than one of those Cruise Ship Excursions would cost. We did far more for far less money than the Cruise ship charges. And we rode in comfort with just our small group and were treated quite well.
One small complaint I would have is that when you stop at the pottery shop and carpet shop, there is a little pressure to purchase something from the shop. Dennis told us not to feel pressured, but I felt pressured. It's just something other travelers should be aware of.
For the record, we felt totally safe on this tour.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2016 via mobile

Our tour of Ephesus and surrounding areas was fantastic. The knowledge our guide Sammy provided was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed his company. The lunch that was provided was delicious and served in a beautiful setting. I highly recommend this tour.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Sicily70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2016

We had a really nice guided tour by Denizhan who picked us up right on time from our hotel, brought us to the Maria chapel and then guided us through the remains of Ephesus and since we had time left (unfortunately, even though for our tour it was good, not a lot of tourists came to Turkey this summer due to the political situation) also to the remains of the St. John Basilica. We enjoyed his knowledge and also that we had all the freedom to see what we wanted, stay where every we liked to spend more time. Would highly recommend him to everybody who prefers a private tour and some freedom to see what one really likes to see.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank mkrAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2016

We were delighted with our guide Denizhan. Not only was he friendly and knowledgeable, he ensured that we had a leisurely schedule that visited the main sights and got us back to the cruise ship on time. He was extremely accommodating with our requests and checked frequently to ensure that we were having a good time. Some of the places we visited included the Temple of Artemis, Isa Bey Mosque and of course the ruins of Ephesus itself. Also enjoyable was Sirince, with its quaint old buildings, fruit wines and local produce.

Turkey is right now going through some instability, but this should not put you off visiting places such as Kusadasi, which is not affected by the turmoil.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank chek_wong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2016

We decided to go with a private tour of Kusadasi instead of the very expensive cruise tours, I researched on tripadvisor and decided to go with Denizhan after reading all the great reviews.
Our experience with him was fantastic, he replied to my email right away and confirmed the tour, he was waiting for us at the port although we were about 20 minutes late getting out of the ship. He first took us to the temple of Armetis, his knowledge of the area was amazing, he also took us to the House of Mary and then we had a fabulous lunch since my kids were hungry, he was very flexible on the tour and he accomodated all our requests, Ephesus was mindblowing and the time and patience he had with us was really appreciated. I recommend Denizhans tour with a 5 star. A very enjoyable and unforgettable port call.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank snarvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews