We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Review Highlights
What a wonderful day!

We were a group of friends and Deniz was our private guide for the day. We visited several places... read more

Reviewed yesterday
EmmAdelaide
,
Adelaide
via mobile
Ephesus Day Tour

Denizhan was a super informative and helpful guide. He provided a great historical overview and... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Surbhi G
Read all 605 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Selcuk
from $45.00
More Info
from $5.43
More Info
from $32.00
More Info
from $13.00
More Info
Reviews (605)
Filter reviews
605 results
Traveler rating
567
32
4
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
567
32
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews denizhan pekoz cruise ship ephesus tour turkey his knowledge great tour hour tour detailed information included lunch terrace houses pottery shop mercedes van izmir airport booked a private tour answered all our questions turkish lunch sirince village
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
337 - 342 of 605 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We had a private guide with Mehmet Cibikci and though he was the most knowledgeable guide he had worked with before. His grasp of the Turkish history (not just Izmir/Ephesus) was impressive. We certainly learned a lot on our tour and wish all tour guides would be like Mehmet.

The catch is that we were taken to a leather factory, presumably a kickback place. We were four students with limited budgets but were taken to a leather store with jackets starting at 500+ USD. I don't think anyone could have mistaken us as being rich and affording such items but it was certainly a disappointment and waste of time. That's why only 4 stars.

Date of experience: December 2013
1  Thank Ted C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Denizhan gives a nice tour. He is very knowledgeable about the area and the history. He was able to answer all our questions and overall it was a great experience.

Date of experience: December 2013
Thank Jonah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We book online after reviewing other comments. Denizhan, who is the owner and guide, and the driver were waiting for our family of 5 at the port of Kusadasi. The van was nice and he started to teach us about the culture and geography right away. We took our time visiting ancient Ephesus and the Terrace Houses. After our tour, Denizhan gave us the option to visit three different factories but insisted on the one that make carpets. I was reluctant at first since I really was not interested in buying carpets, but I am glad he took us there. There we saw how they make silk (very interesting process) and how the carpets are made. The lady who explained to us the process of carpet making was very kind and knowledge. I am glad we went there because when we visited the Vatican, it really put into perspective the hard work and the time that it took to make the carpets and tapestries that hang in the Vatican. The big ones took seven years to make! They showed to us beautiful carpets and were very kind even though we were not interested in buying. Denizhan did a great job touring us. I highly recommend him.

Date of experience: November 2013
Thank Hampel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We were very happy with this tour! We ended up with nine people from our ship, and everyone truly had a wonderful time. In talking with other people who signed up for the ship's excursions, we learned that we got both a better tour AND much better pricing! Would highly recommend.

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank Jana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

If I had to pick one favorite day of our one month vacation in September 2013, it would be our day at Ephesus we booked with Denizhan Pekoz TransBalkan Tours. Our group of 4 able adults docked at Izmir Port and only had a 5.5 hours stop. Since Izmir is 1 hour 15min drive to Ephesus, we only had 3 hours to tour. Many ship and private tours could/would not accommodate my request. We wanted to see the Ancient City of Ephesus, INSIDE the Terrace Houses with a very short stop at Mary's house or Temple of Artemis. We did not want the carpet or leather factory tour or lunch since our time was short. Our driver was Samet and guide was Mehmet. They were both very nice.
Mehmet picked us up in a new air conditioned touring van & brought water. He was so knowledgeable on many world and local topics, spoke very good English and passionate about his country, that we almost missed the beautiful countryside out the window! (Rolling green hills with fruit, nuts, olives and agriculture). We had a brief stop at the Temple of Artemis which was excellent. We then went to the Ephesus city ruins which is very large. Be sure to gain entrance to the 'Terrace Houses'. This is an extra fee and well worth it!! The preservation of the frescos, mosaics and indoor plumbing/heating is incredible as is the Celsus Library. We have been to Pompeii and Athens, but Turkey has taken far better care with their historic sites. We were so impressed we would definitely come back to Turkey and do much more exploring with the same guide. This was our hottest day all month so be sure to bring a hat and sunscreen.
Thanks again to Samet and Mehmet for the great day! It was even better than I hoped!

Date of experience: September 2013
Thank MaryamW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews