We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, lovely staff”

Wallabies Aquaduct Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 102 Restaurants in Selcuk
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely staff”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Food
We had vegetarian mezze food--the staff recommended what was good for us and brought lots of small plates out.

Staff
The staff were really friendly and helped us better understand the area. There's also a lovely outdoor area for you to sit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank guycocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    59
    22
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, extremely friendly staff, great setting”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had an excellent dinner on the outdoor patio at Wallabie's. The location grabbed our attention... the restaurant has outdoor tables, set up on a platform overlooking a quaint street lined with shops and other outdoor restaurants. The platform is next to a fountain, with a view of the ruins of the ancient aqueduct. The aqueduct is topped with several stork's nests, although the birds had already left for the season during our mid-September visit.

The host/server who seated us was very friendly. Three of us were dining, and he explained several dishes to us. I had a glass of the house red wine, which was very good, and reasonably priced. I ordered a traditional chicken kebap (kabob in the U.S.) and it was absolutely delicious. My friends enjoyed their meals also, although I don't remember exactly what they ordered, because we had so many good meals in Turkey. The chef, Chef Jeff, came out to talk to us and told us a little bit about how a restaurant in a small town in Turkey ended up with an Australian name. The restaurant is connected to a small hotel, named Wallabie hotel. Everyone was extremely friendly and made us feel very welcome. There was a small sign on the side of the building that said the restaurant had been rated #2 in Selcuk on "Tirp Adviser." Chef Jeff told us that was a recent improvement, and that he is currently gunning for #1. We ate at the #1 rated place the following night, and although the food may have been a half-notch better, the atmosphere, service and genuine friendliness at Wallabies made it my favorite of the two.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kleetampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice terrace and huge meals”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had diner sitting by the fountain that the mayor refuses to turn on (along with lighting the aquaduct and the castle) but with a nice view of the aquaduct. Food was excellent - we both had the surprise but found the size of the meals daunting. A hungry beast would relish this but I suggest many mght be pleased just to have a starter.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chezz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Satisfying”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The food was really good, fresh, and portion was huge and reasonably price. Recommend chicken crepe, and fresh grill fish, served with fresh salad, mashed potato and rice with corn and butter. Well worth trying! Had a satisfying dinner after a long journey.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cloud E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Location”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The food here was excellent. We ate here once for lunch and once for dinner. I'd recommend the stuffed chicken.

In addition, while we were staying at the hotel, my wife threw out he neck. The staff was nice enough to let us store frozen bags of peas in the restaurant freezer. So oddly enough, I've been behind the curtain and can attest to the fact that the kitchen is clean and organized, and the cook is a very nice guy.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wallabies Aquaduct Restaurant also viewed

Selcuk, Izmir Province
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 

Been to Wallabies Aquaduct Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing