We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible food, bad service”

Tat Cafe Restaurant
Reserve with
Tat Cafe Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 102 Restaurants in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our company works together as a family restaurant Kurdish brothers 4 boys and 2 girls was established in March 1994 continues today is over 20 years of great service in our kitchen Mr. and Mrs.shef which continued until late in groups of fish vegetarian mezze, kebabs Adun warm bread in the oven cooks in particular foreign language, there is no problem, . dutch english french95% of our customers come back to us this is our guarantee thank you
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Horrible food, bad service”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We went to Tat after reading positive reviews on tripadviser. However we found the food mediocre at best. My partner's pistachio kebab was nothing more than your standard Adana (spicy minced beef) kebab with a few pistachios mixed in, which is something you don't normally see on Turkish menus for a reason- its not great. The sides that came with the kebab were also quite poor, plain white rice rather than the delicious pilaf that normally comes with kebabs and a very small salad rather than roasted tomatoes.

My moussaka casserole was very oily, with about half a centimetre of oil lining the pan at the end, and it was also quite plain tasting.

Service was slow with the owner quite nice but seemed more content eating his own dinner at a neighbouring table or chatting to friends than serving customers. Serving sizes were also small compared to most other places we ate at in Turkey. We won't be coming back. The decor was also quite dated. We were also particularly disappointed as we had a great meal at Edjer restaurant the previous night for a similar price.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank HungryLioness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    77
    15
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kusadasi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious food,great atmosphere,super value for money”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have been visiting TAT restaurant for several years now but this was our first visit for several months.The exterior has been revamped since our last visit and the owner Resul has added a top floor terrace to accommodate more customers.
I ordered spagbol and my husband had the lamb and beef stir-fry.Resul and his family who own and operate the restaurant were there usual attentive and friendly selves and the food and wine were as usual of the highest quality.We dined around 6pm and by 7.30pm the restaurant was very busy.The atmosphere is very cosmopolitan and with a large mixture of different nationalities combined with the relaxing atmosphere make this restaurant unique.
We left thoroughly satisfied and after a meal comprising mezes,main courses and drinks with change from 50TL.
Well done keep up the good work you started in 1994.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
13 Thank Madamlazonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant in Selcuk”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Enjoyed our dinner here with some meze and then kebabs to share. Lots of options, similar menu to most Turkish restaurants. Favourite was the pistachio kebab. Good service too!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Elly85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Solid food, nice cafe ambiance”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We had a nice meal at Tat after a full morning of exploring Efes. It's a quaint sidewalk cafe w/ friendly service and decent, affordable local/international cuisine.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best speciality dinner in Turkey!”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This was a great dining experience from start to finish! They are located in the plaza right next to the large arch aqueduct ruins in Selcuk which is very picturesque. The manager Murat, enticed us to dine there while we were staying in the city on tour of Ephesus. The homemade meals (recipes from his mother) were what we all ordered and they were fabulous tasting. One was a crepe with chicken and vegetables and a delicious sauce and the other was a stuffed chicken with spinach and cheese, also in a very good sauce. We had excellent service and nice local red wine. Would highly recommend !

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tat Cafe Restaurant also viewed

Selcuk, Izmir Province
 
Selcuk, Izmir Province
Selcuk, Izmir Province
 

Been to Tat Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing